We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. People were very friedly and polite at the reception. My room was small and clean. There was only one minor detail that I did not like: it is the sink in the bath. The sink is too small and the shelf above it leaves very little space to wash yourself. Otherwise, the room was what I have expected it to be.
The location of the hotel is very convinient, right in the old city and the price was fair. They have nice restaurant and cafe in the same building, where servise is also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaSvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    201
    92
    38
    30
See reviews for
74
188
60
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

The main reason why we decided to choose this hotel was its location: actually it is the only thing that matters, when you have only 2 days to see the city. And from this point of view the choice was excellent, because it take only two minutes to get to the heart of old Tallinn.
Speaking about other advantages of the hotel I can mention excellent WiFi (it worked not only in the room, but also in the hotel’s cafe and restaurant) and hearty breakfast. Staff is very helpful, some of them know Russian very well, others speak only English.
The only thing we didn’t like much was the room size. The room was really very little, especially the bathroom with a tiny sink. There was no table or wardrobe in the room, so we had to keep all our things in the suitcase or on the window-sill. There are only two sockets in the room and they are situated near the floor, so it is a problem even to charge mobile phones. But it was rather fun to live in such a place after a big flat.

The hotel has two entrances: in the street Pikk and in the street Lai. The entrance from the Lai street work 24 hours, while the other one entrance works from 8:00 a.m. till 8 p.m., so be careful in case of late arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlyaSPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Meriton Old Town Garden and being 5 minutes walk from the old town square it was ideal for a three day stay in Tallinn. It's also really conveniently located for the 'Pikk Jalg' - the cobbled street hill where you have a short walk up to see some scenic views of the old town and you get to explore a few of the streets on your way through to the hotel.

Our double room was 2 single beds pushed together so not perfect, but they were pretty comfortable. Lots of floor space and we had a sofa too. TV had a few good channels for a bit of browsing. Staff were really friendly and didn't make us feel unwelcome (as I have done in parts of Europe before). The bathroom was fine and the shower was hot and powerful - important factor for me...nothing worse than a dribbly shower before you go walking medieval Eastern european towns for the day!

And breakfast was a decent selection of eggs, bacon, pastries and cold meats.

A memorable stay for me!

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed, not 2 singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Interesting decor and creaky corridors give this place a lot of character. The location of the hotel is ideal for tourists wanting to see the beautiful old streets of Tallinn. Breakfast was decent, room was spacious and clean. I would recommend this hotel. Watchout for the cheaper "economy" rooms which seemed to be rather small indeed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of September. Double room was a good size with some interesting original features (a big tiled fireplace) and there were further features throughout the building. Check out the well in the toilet near the breakfast room! Bathroom was a wet room and quite small but a decent shower. Breakfast was as expected, plenty of everything and replenished regularly. Have to say how impressed we were by how clean everything was. Only downside for us was not enough 'tea and coffee making facilities' in the room - we had to ask each day for supplies and it seemed a struggle for staff to find them. Close to the old town square but far enough away to have a bit of peace and quiet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Booked the economy room on-line, not realizing that it was going to be the tiniest hotel room I’ve ever seen, with bunk beds. It was ok for one night, but had to find something more livable for the second night. The bathroom was minuscule as well, with half a sink that was hard to get to without bumping your head on the shelf above it. The location is good, inside the old town and easy to walk anywhere. Breakfast was good too. The free wi-fi was handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electronicpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

There are 2 Meriton Old Town Hotels and both are Centrally located. This one is very big, the front on one street the back on another. We had a ground floor room facing reception. We did not find it noise as some other reviewers stated. It was a narrow room but was a good size. The hand basin, shower and toilet were in a long narrow wet room, which was OK. Breakfast was fine and served at the other end of the hotel near the bakery. There is also a restaurant in the basement serving local food. The courtyard has a bar and also serves food. This was OK also. The customers toilet is interesting as it has a well in it. There is also one next to the reception desk. The hotel was centrally located and everything was available by walking. There is a little coffee shop next door, which we didn't try. There is also a wine bar that serves pizza, which was good. Further along the road there is another Italian restaurant which is very nice. We enjoyed our stay in Tallin and would recommend this hotel as good value.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms had bunks and looked small, so unless this is what you want be careful in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#57 of 83 in Tallinn
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 83 in Tallinn
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#54 of 83 in Tallinn
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
#43 of 83 in Tallinn
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Property: Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Address: Lai 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel is located in the heart of the old town displaying true architectural wonder by transforming a 16th century merchant house into a stylish hotel. Connecting two of Old town's most famous picturesque boulevards, Lai and Pikk, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel brings the magic and mystery of medieval Tallinn to your doorstep. Offering 50 rooms, each completely unique in size and design, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel gives a perfect balance of historical authenticity and modern comfort. Room prices include breakfast. The hotel is accessible from both Pikk and Lai streets, elegantly connected by a charming garden. All of Old Town's main attractions, shops, galleries and sights are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing