We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Boutique-like hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 2 August 2010

A charming rambling hotel built around an alleyway in the middle of the medieval old town. Included is free wifi and access to the Meriton Grand's spa and saunas a short walk away outside the old town walls, open until 10pm - thoroughly recommended to unwind before dinner.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank planetrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

A charming hotel in the heart of the old town in Tallinn. We found a great deal online which meant we paid a lot less than their going rate - so make sure you search around for good internet deals before booking directly with them. The staff could have been a bit more polite IMHO, it doesn't take much effort to smile and use words like thank you or sorry. We had problems with our key card and when I went down to the reception to get it sorted out, I kinda expected the receptionist to say "sorry about that I will sort it out for you" - no, instead she sighed, took the card from me as if I was troubling her and frowned at me. Goodness me. When she handed the card back to me, I said "thank you" and she didn't even acknowledge that with "you're welcome" or anything equivalent. Maybe she was having a bad day, but don't they train their staff to exercise some basic manners when dealing with guests?

That aside, the hotel is pretty, the rooms are good and the location couldn't be better. Make sure you take advantage of the fact that you can go to their sister hotel down the road to use the sauna, pool and spa facilities which are great. There's not much to do in Tallinn at night, especially in the old town - so relaxing in the spa is a great way to wind down after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GymnastAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This is a nice little hotel ideally located in the Old Town. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast offered a great variety and was well taken care of. We also appreciated the free access to the Meriton Spa in the morning, although the pool is not full-size, meant for those who swim "long-distance" or mainly for fitness. We really enjoyed our stay in the Meriton Garden and would recommend the hotel to people who don't expect any luxury. Because of the minimal size of the room there was no table nor chairs, though if you don't intend to spend lots of time in your room you will have an excellent base from which to explore Tallinn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trhato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The hotel was very quiet. No unnessessary noise what so ever. The room was very romantic (as was the rest of the hotel for that matter). The service was good and the food in the restaurant excellent. A perfect place for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KooVeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The hotel is located in a quiet street in the very heart of Old town. Rooms are very different sizes, some of them very small but we had very spacious ones. The reception is small but the service is friendliest ever. Long corridors are funny and you can get easily lost which is part of the charm. Hotel is not suitable for physically handicapped but perfect if you want to stay in a very clean, well renovated, quiet but close to everything hotel - and with a decent price. Plus the pancakes at breakfast were yummy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skaiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Hotel and cafe staff was friendly, everything went smoothly. A nice, small hotel. The overall furniture, in the room, reception, breakfast room, cafe, were beautiful, well designed, nice colours. Old construction was preserved and linked to modern decorations. A quiet place to relax. Good location, in the old town. Breakfast room was very tidy, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summergrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jusa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#42 of 86 in Tallinn
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Address: Lai 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £46 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel is located in the heart of the old town displaying true architectural wonder by transforming a 16th century merchant house into a stylish hotel. Connecting two of Old town's most famous picturesque boulevards, Lai and Pikk, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel brings the magic and mystery of medieval Tallinn to your doorstep. Offering 50 rooms, each completely unique in size and design, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel gives a perfect balance of historical authenticity and modern comfort. Room prices include breakfast. The hotel is accessible from both Pikk and Lai streets, elegantly connected by a charming garden. All of Old Town's main attractions, shops, galleries and sights are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing