We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Very nice hotel in old town! But not worth 4 stars, I would say 3+. Our room was very small, smallest I have ever been in. And breakfast was not anything special, very average. But still a charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    208
    106
    42
    30
See reviews for
85
200
64
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel at the end of our trip to the Baltics. I had booked in advance, but was presumably a bit tired when doing so. It turned out I had booked a room with bunk beds, called economy room or so. Not very good for a last romantic night of holiday. Upgrade went ok, although the next best room was still rather tiny.
Staff was friendly and the location is very nice and central.

Only downside was the distance to the busstop for the airport connection, about 20 minutes walk. But then again, this problem affects many hotels in old town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

My partner visited Tallin after a few days in Helsinki and are glad we did. The hotel is a beautiful old building in the heart of the medieval Old Town of Tallinn. Of all the hotels we saw in the area as we were walking around, I think this place had the best location of them all.

The hotel is practically brand new, and our street facing room was rather large, albeit narrow. It was room 407 and had a foyer with closet and mini-fridge and a bedroom area with desk and comfortable bedding. There was a large window that we kept open for fresh air (though, drunk tourists do roam around the streets at night and with the narrow streets it can create an echo...we solved this with a white-noise application on my iPod).

The appearance of the room was clean and welcoming, the staff was welcoming, too. The rate (60 euros/night) included free full breakfast on the first floor, plus access to an AMAZING spa (pools, saunas, steam rooms) at their sister hotel just outside the Old Town area. It's a 15 minute walk, and there was confusion about whether were were supposed to have access or not (teld the spa people that you're at the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel and bring the folder that your room keys came in and you should be ok).

One caveat - though this isn't really an issue. Like the streets of this medieval town, the layout of the hotel is quite confusing, too. Since it's an old building that was recently converted, to get to our room we had to walk from the street through the cafe, then down and out a back courtyard to the reception area, then up an elevator 2 floors, then walk down a long hall (and up and down some steps), through some doors, then up another level of stairs. Personally, I love that. I love being able to discover things around every corner. But if you have lots of luggage or mobility issues, you should confirm that your room is easier to get to.

But we loved this hotel, the people working there, the location, and all of its charming quirks.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snarl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberammergau, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This completely renovated hotel around an inner patio combines old town Tallinn style with high comfort. I had a room on the ground floor, and woke up early when the first people walked up and down on the stones of the patio. But rooms on higher levels will not be affected by loud foot steps. I nevertheless strongly recommend this hotel due to quality of rooms, professional services that include the Cafe Mademoiselle and the Tapas Restaurant, and free WLAN / Internet access. Situated in the historic center of Tallinn this hotel links Lai and Pikk, two of the main street in the old town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UliJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Nice hotel, just 2 mins walk from the Old Town Square. The room was small (economy single), but very nicely furnished. Bed was comfy, although narrow. One issue was the cleanliness - generally good, but I found a used condom under the bed. Breakfast is better the earlier you arrive. By 9am, the pastries have all gone (and not replaced), and the ice used to keep the juice cool has all melted and watered the juice down to nothing. It was nice having the 5* sister hotel offering free pool/sauna (rememeber to bring a towel). Fast wifi.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I support what has been written previously - rooms are small, but location, service, breakfast, and charm are excellent. There's an old well on the first floor that was uncovered while renovating this Hanseatic merchant's house. Easy walk to nearly everything, including ferry. We met people who stayed in Vanu Square and heard partyers all night; the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel was quiet. Note that there is also a Meriton Old Town Hotel, so make sure to go to the right hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangerook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

The location of the hotel is excellent - in the very center of Old Town. Also, the concept of a renovated medieval building evokes charm. However, the very tiny room with a mini bed, no AC and sun beating down on large glass windows made for a marginal place of rest. The breakfast was very good. The front desk attendants were "correct", but neither charming nor that knowledgeable or anxious to help. It appeared each time I asked for help, they tried to sell a service by the hotel or in town. I asked for information on a ferry to Helsinki and was given a phone number and told to call from my room, with a charge. She would not call from her station, although there was no one else she needed to help waiting.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousyellow42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
St Olav Hotel
St Olav Hotel
#70 of 86 in Tallinn
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#28 of 86 in Tallinn
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#57 of 86 in Tallinn
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 86 in Tallinn
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel

Property: Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Address: Lai 29, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel is located in the heart of the old town displaying true architectural wonder by transforming a 16th century merchant house into a stylish hotel. Connecting two of Old town's most famous picturesque boulevards, Lai and Pikk, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel brings the magic and mystery of medieval Tallinn to your doorstep. Offering 50 rooms, each completely unique in size and design, the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel gives a perfect balance of historical authenticity and modern comfort. Room prices include breakfast. The hotel is accessible from both Pikk and Lai streets, elegantly connected by a charming garden. All of Old Town's main attractions, shops, galleries and sights are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing