We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Old Town base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
OldHouse Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location for Old Town base”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Two bedroom apartment was ideal base to explore the lovely old town of Tallinn. Great to be able to escape the tourists as we opened our front door ! Apartment has good outlook over a tree fringed square. It was about 50 meters from the reception, but staff helped us with bags and came with us to explain how appliances worked. Very helpful. Good supermarket about 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    114
    30
    12
    15
See reviews for
103
106
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at a 3 bedroom apartment in Vene. The door to the building is a bit tricky at first and the stairs up to the apartment are a little bit spooky(but in a good way). The apartment itself is huge with 3 double bedrooms , a large living area and kitchen and enormous bathroom with Jacuzzi and separate shower. It was stylishly decorated in an art nouveau way. All you could need in the way of utilities(washing machine , dishwasher, iron etc).The only slight disappointment is that it could do with an extra bathroom /toilet with a potential 6 guests. Great location just minutes from the town square and all the bars , restaurants etc. Oldhouse run everything very smoothly and all our transfers etc went without a hitch and we were greeted at reception with a very nice glass of wine as well.

All in all, have complete confidence in this company they will look after you and you will be better off than in any hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank yossarian69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We chose this delux three bedroom apartment for our traditional yearly come -to- gether of the group of 7 old friends, all previous East African expatriates.

Location just facing the central Town Hall Square was excellent. Apartment spacious well equipped, even sauna and spa, just what we expected. We had kitchen, one bedroom and living room for our joint gathering, two bedrooms and sauna upstairs. Everything was just at the doorsteps. Good restaurant down in the same building where we had the dinner.

Service at reception was polite and very kind. Only the check in was a bit slow. Reaching the apartment in the area not right accessable by car due to the driving restrictions of The Old Town took it's time, too. Even if there is a tiny lift in the stairs just enough for the luggage, the stairs up to the 4th floor and in the apartment to the upper floor require good feet and physics.

Breakfast was excellent, served in the same building with reception, just above. One of the historic buildings of the town. Joonas received us there with plentifull good breakfast at very reasonable discounted price but also many interestinf stories about the building and it's history.

Great experience, with a bit faster Access to the room and faster check in it had been full XXXXX!!
Highly recommended with the above provisions.

Room Tip: Be prepared to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekuvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We had apartment 4 at Rataskaevu 16 - very nice indeed.

I only have one issue - we were there over the weekend and on Saturday evening there are many people smoking outside and since it is an old house the smoke comes in to the extent that one can smell it the whole evening.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacofouries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had found Old House Apartments when we visited Tallinn last year on a cruise and as we loved the old city so much decided to spend a week there with friends. The apartment we were given was in Viri, right at the top of the building. We are four fairly able 60ish people but the stairs and final [almost] ladder to the apartment was daunting. The two bedrooms were up a spiral staircase down which we had to come during the night for the toilet, and two of us had to come through the bedroom of the others as well, which obviously disturbed them. The friendly helpful staff moved us after the first night to an apartment on the first floor, which was smaller but beautifully decorated, with two bedrooms not interconnected and a bathroom on the same level. The staff also recommened places to eat - Leib and Rataskaevu 16 and being right in the old town was wonderful as we could come back to the apartment for lunch before setting off again to explore. There was a large supermarked 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: The bedroom at the front was noisier due to the traffic, If you find stairs a problem ask for an ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the apartment right next to reception and it was lovely, very we'll equipped with a nice kitchen, nice decor and a sauna. The location is great for the old town , but, a couple of points to be aware of - stairs are not for people as limited mobility as spiral and narrow in parts and the car park is a long way at the other end of time of the old town and about 15mins walk away.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debs4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This Apartment hotel is absolutely great. We rented the flat consisting on two levels on the very top of the house with a great outdoor patio overlooking the roof tops of Tallinn. The interior is nice, but getting a little bit tired, but that can be excused by the very nice and careful renovation of the property, with exposed beams and wooden floors throughout the flat. A minus is the climbing of all the stairs to get to the flat, but that is also ok as the staircase in wood that must be at least 200 years old is super cool. We are having a small kid, so the staircase in the flat was a constant worry, but if you have older kids or traveling with adults, rent this flat. YOu will not regret your choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#22 of 85 in Tallinn
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,265 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldHouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldHouse Apartments

Property: OldHouse Apartments
Address: Rataskaevu 16, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — OldHouse Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"OldHouse Apartments“ provides serviced guest apartments for short-term rent in the heart of Tallinn Old Town. We have a wide selection of 29 individually designed standard and luxury apartments, all located in the Medieval Old Town with saunas, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, balconies and views to Town Hall Square. All the "OldHouse Apartments“ are covered with free Wi-Fi internet. Our apartments are a great alternative to a hotel, offering you more privacy, independence and space. Extras: Free parking and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your OldHouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing