We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad scam. Rip-off. Avoid.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Revalia

Revalia
Ranked #701 of 905 Restaurants in Tallinn
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sad scam. Rip-off. Avoid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

sad place with only one goal- to steal your tourist euros. Food is bad and totally overpriced. One of the worst restaurants i've been to. Do not be fooled by flyers etc., go somewhere else, Tallinn is packed with nice restaurants with better food and affordable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus01280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    33
    23
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A terrible experience...Stay away from this restaurant!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

On our first night in Tallinn we were disappointed that the restaurant that our hotel had recommended was fully booked, so we walked the streets looking for somewhere else. My husband was handed a brochure advertising Revalia grill. The brochure had colourful pictures of the food with prices, so we thought we would try it. After we sat down and enquired about the dishes advertised in the brochure , we were told they were only pictures and not available and the waiter suggested other dishes in the menu. The beef fillet was tasteless with no sauce and lettuce as the accompanying salad. The lasagne was full of tasteless cheese and pasta. The grill prawns were dry and tasteless. The chicken wings are better at KFC! When we got the bill a 21% tax was added. A very disappointing first night dinner! The next day for lunch, we choose another restaurant in the main square as the menu stated a 7 euro pizza but after we sat down to order it, the waitress said only the restaurant next door sells it for that price and when I asked why is it advertised at your restaurant she then pretended she didn't understand but pointed to the pizzas that were a min 14 euros! Service was slow and the couple next to us who had arrived before us were so unhappy with how long they had to wait for food that the husband went to the kitchen to complain! We think the restaurants in the main square are all the same owner, but with slightly different menus, but all have the same aim of falsely advertising to tourists and charging far higher prices than restaurants in streets away from square.( pizzas close to our hotel were 9 euros). The lesson we learnt is never eat at restaurants in the main town hall square!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen1964Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieto, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Overpriced and just OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Restaurant with a great location in Tallinn's Old Town.

A little disorganized activity, but in the end we got our food. Tasted ok.

The prices were a little high but the location is great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KuHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

My 12-year-old insisted upon having dinner in this perfectly located in the very heart of the Old town restaurant, and I will never let her choose again :). Food was really inedible, meat overcooked and impossible to chew, salads completely tasteless. On the other hand, this awful food was quite expensive, so that we felt completely fooled. The service is was ok, though some people in street clothes were constantly entering the kitchen and coming back, talking to the waiters and distracting them from clients. Well, keep away from this place, there are loads of others in the Old town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“There are better out there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

The service in this restaurant was very slow. The food is overpriced and I noticed the other restaurants nearby filling up with people while around me it was empty. They must have know something I didn't.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Revalia also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Revalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing