We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dining Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karme Kuulik - CLOSED

Karme Kuulik
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Kärme Küülik, or Swift Rabbit, is a great Italian restaurant. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the food was all good, starting with delicious bread baked in a brick wood fire oven through to the mains. They have a variety of options on the menu from pasta and risotto to more substantial meaty mains to pizza and calzones (again from the wood fire oven, yum!). Our group ordered several different things and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Their rabbit dishes are especially good, which makes sense given the name of the restaurant, and they've got a great wine list. The restaurant is easy to find even for those not familiar with the city. It is right across the street from the icerink and easy to spot because of the rabbit statue hanging outside. It is by far better than Controvento, another popular Italian restaurant in Tallinn, so if you're craving Italian visit the Rabbit! And if you've got a moment, have a look at the gallery section of their website, it's hilarious!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyEllaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
186 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Had an excellent meal at KK. Its right opposite the ice rink, there's a hare figure above the door. Great pizza as good as in Italy and very reasonable prices, I think mine was 6 euro. Lovely decor and excellent service. the menu is more that pizza. There are lots of good eateries in Tallinn and this is among them.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced traditional Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We ended up here after walking out of Spice due to poor service, so it was last minute & we didn't know what to expect.

The service was excellent and the rosemary flatbread was lovely. The bruscetta I ordered was ok and wine was nice and reasonably priced.

I ordered lamb chops which were tender but the meat wasn't overly tasty (except for a char-grilled flavour). I've found this with other restaurants in Tallinn though and think we're just used to the stronger flavours of meat in the UK. My husband had duck which was also tender but tasted nothing like duck.

The tiramisu to follow was beautiful & the coffees were good. In all the meal was 58 euros for one starter, two mains, one dessert, a bottle of wine & two coffees. In all an average price for an enjoyable meal. If I returned I'd have pizza as they looked great.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riceburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cannelloni and duck appreciated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Went there with a big group. Some waiting times were long and one wine was not ok, but generally we were happy and enjoyed listening to the Italian staff chatter away. The name refers to a rabbit, I think, but none of us tasted that.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kenguru62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No presentation, no soul”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have to disagree with some of the reviewers here: the food is VERY basic, nothing special. It is not expensive, yes, but this is one of the places where you can open state: you get what you pay for.

Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karme Kuulik also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing