We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dangerous bus driver”

City Sightseeing Tallinn
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.84*
and up
Tallinn Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tallinn Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #25 of 65 Tours in Tallinn
Attraction details
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dangerous bus driver”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Although the tour around was fair enough, a near disaster happened when we got to the drop off at the old town entrance nearest the cathedral. As the 3 of us disembarked, the driver shut the centre doors right across my wife. Shes was mostly trapped in the bus with just her arm and hand bag DANGLING through the very shut doors. There was a large line of tourists waiting to get onto the bus who saw all this and were trying to get the driver to re-open the centre doors. But he was then too busy talking on his mobile 'phone! (while seated in the drivers position). Luckily the door edges were rubber. So i took the hand bag off my wifes hand and she dragged her arm back through the closed doors. then fought her way back to the front doors against the protesting (American) tourists. (The driver didn't seem to understand English and was still talking away on his mobile, trying best to ignore the passengers in front of him). My wife's arm was luckily only bruised and not lacerated. With a cruise ship to catch in a bit we just head off back to the port with no time to lodge a complaint. We were in Tallinn on Weds. 28/08/13 And the incident would have been around 13:00 i think.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CedricPanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I find that the soviets seem to have done a better job of keeping historic city's in good order than we have ever managed in the west, if you are boys going for fun the weekend is where its at but if your a couple wanting a nice time go on a week day, I spent 2 days here and walked almost non-stop, if you like old architecture and history you will be spoiled for choice, at every turn there is something new to see, in my mind its up there with Prague Rome and Havana but not as expensive. A+

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Old, smelly (of diesel fumes) bus, infrequent service...”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

City Tours are usually from where we take our first look at a city. in Tallinn, there are 3 distinct tours Red, Blue and Green. We took the red one. The bus was old and the diesel fumes actually made a fellow-passenger physicall ill. The tour was OK. The staff were friendly. We used our Tallinn Cards to pay. Other than walking or a taxi, these buses are the only way to get to the Seaplane Museum (Lennusadam).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
339 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“A Good Way to Spend the Afternoon”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The City Sightseeing buses travel on three distinct routes, but are only on the outer edges of the Old Town, (the main attraction in Tallin). At least in the spring, the hop on/hop off does not work so well, because there are less buses. The staff was friendly, but because I wanted to see Old Town, I just rode only one of the buses and explored on my own.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good overview”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Tallinn is quite spread out, so taking a bus tour was a very good way to see sights on the outskirts of town...like the famous location of the song festival. The history of this little country...and it's resistance to the Soviets is fascinating.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mslamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing Tallinn also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to City Sightseeing Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing