We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easier to walk”

City Sightseeing Tallinn
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.88*
and up
Tallinn Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tallinn Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #24 of 66 Tours in Tallinn
Attraction details
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
405 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Easier to walk”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We took the bus tour from the cruise terminal but found it would have been easier to walk to the city center. We got off at the cathedral which was very nice but shortly afterward discovered my wife's purse had been stolen from her backpack in the city square. Clever pickpocket did not get much, no credit cards or passport just a small amount of cash. Use caution in this area. Soured our visit and we walked back to the cruise ship.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank james628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza Town, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Easier to walk to old town from Cruise Terminal”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We spent about an hour on bus stuck in traffic before we got to any point of interest. From the cruise terminal it would only be a 10-15 minute walk to the old town which is a must see. I enjoy the hop on hop off buses in a city but this was the poorest I have done.

Helpful?
3 Thank simonlin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dangerous bus driver”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Although the tour around was fair enough, a near disaster happened when we got to the drop off at the old town entrance nearest the cathedral. As the 3 of us disembarked, the driver shut the centre doors right across my wife. Shes was mostly trapped in the bus with just her arm and hand bag DANGLING through the very shut doors. There was a large line of tourists waiting to get onto the bus who saw all this and were trying to get the driver to re-open the centre doors. But he was then too busy talking on his mobile 'phone! (while seated in the drivers position). Luckily the door edges were rubber. So i took the hand bag off my wifes hand and she dragged her arm back through the closed doors. then fought her way back to the front doors against the protesting (American) tourists. (The driver didn't seem to understand English and was still talking away on his mobile, trying best to ignore the passengers in front of him). My wife's arm was luckily only bruised and not lacerated. With a cruise ship to catch in a bit we just head off back to the port with no time to lodge a complaint. We were in Tallinn on Weds. 28/08/13 And the incident would have been around 13:00 i think.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CedricPanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I find that the soviets seem to have done a better job of keeping historic city's in good order than we have ever managed in the west, if you are boys going for fun the weekend is where its at but if your a couple wanting a nice time go on a week day, I spent 2 days here and walked almost non-stop, if you like old architecture and history you will be spoiled for choice, at every turn there is something new to see, in my mind its up there with Prague Rome and Havana but not as expensive. A+

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Old, smelly (of diesel fumes) bus, infrequent service...”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

City Tours are usually from where we take our first look at a city. in Tallinn, there are 3 distinct tours Red, Blue and Green. We took the red one. The bus was old and the diesel fumes actually made a fellow-passenger physicall ill. The tour was OK. The staff were friendly. We used our Tallinn Cards to pay. Other than walking or a taxi, these buses are the only way to get to the Seaplane Museum (Lennusadam).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Sightseeing Tallinn also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to City Sightseeing Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing