We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its fun.”

Bayern & Bohmen Keller
Ranked #260 of 928 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Its fun.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Its the restaurant of the St. Barbara Hotel. The place is a cellar. They serve nice food and have German draft beer.
The service is very good and done with a smile by charming waitresses.
At the background German music is being played.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
1 review
“Raw onion salad. Gross food.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I ordered the potato salad with pastrami. I got a chunk of smokey pig fat, and a pile of raw onions with a few bits of potato thrown in. Funny enough, next to the pickles were more chopped and raw onion... Just in case I wanted more onions.

I typically finish my meal, even if I don't particularly enjoy it, but I left the plate mostly full.

Waste of 5 euro. If you're actually hungry, I suggest going to Taco Express right next to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great value, outside service very patchy...”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Nicely situated away from tourist traps, but still (just) in the old city, the BB Keller (with free WiFi), is great value, with draught beer eg Czech Budweiser and Paulaner Weißbeer at €2.50 for half a litre. Really good value food. The first couple of times we came here it was busy but good. Service today has been appalling. Misunderstood orders, forgotten orders, and general disorganisation led to unacceptable delays eg 50 minute wait for a beer. We were going to come back here for our last lunch, but I doubt it.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little piece of home in Tallinn”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were quite surprised, when we found this restaurant by accident. As we are from the Czech republic, it was quite funny finding a pub which had Czech beer in the center of Tallinn.

Unfortunately, we weren´t hungry so we just tried some sausages which were quite nice. Therefore we cannot judge the Czech dishes on the list.

The beer was good, though. And the restaurant looks quite authentic. We would recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marek_Martina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Best value in the Old Town and great food”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

A welcome island of value in the ocean of pretentious overpriced ripoff joints that is Tallinn old town - if you like simple but excellent food, great beer and good service, you shouldn't miss this.

First of all it's shown in the wrong place on the map. It's in the cellars directly below the Dubliner, which is much easier to spot. It's huge and not wildly atmospheric - random music, bright lights and big-screen sport aren't necessarily the first things I look for in a pub, but they are often the way in Tallinn. The service is friendly and excellent. The beer's excellent too, with Budweiser, not the American rubbish but Czech Budvar, one of the world's great beers, for less than the price of a local pint.

Food's great and portions enormous. The typical Estonian broad bean starter comes with mounds of fried onions and bacon - delicious and enough to feed three. My only criticism, food arrived warm rather than piping hot - Estonians don't seem to have the concept of pre-warming plates yet. In some places I'd have marked them down a star for this, but in this location they're so much better than the competition, they're well worth their five.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayern & Bohmen Keller also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Bayern & Bohmen Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing