We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, with an option for customized rides”
Review of City Bike

City Bike
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.16*
and up
Good Morning Tallinn Running Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Central location, Old town, close to bicycle roads. Bicycle and nature tours in Tallinn and Estonia. Over 180 bicycles. Popular cycling tours in Tallinn and nearby. The original Welcome to Tallinn bike tour. Office open every day
1 review
“Fantastic, with an option for customized rides”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We came for a scheduled ride that didn't happen but instead make up a custom tour with just the two of us and the guide. He gave us a great tour and was extremely knowledgeable about both Estonia and all sorts of topics generally (culture, politics, etc.). It was both a very satisfying ride and the most informative tour we had on the trip. The bikes were also in good shape, and everything you need was provided.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    25
    9
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worst service ever...”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I went in with three other people and said i would like four bikes. The guy was "too busy" to look at me and said "pick your bikes outside"… so we went outside but most of the bikes were in really bad condition (all of them dirty, worn out grips, some twisted chains… ) and some were assembled in "funny ways" (a small sized women bike with a gigantic bar stem). That said i was struggling to find four good bikes for our sizes. When i asked for help i got this answer: "look… if you want bikes take the bikes… if you want to be picky just leave because i have more people waiting" After i said that was no way to treat a costumer and asked for the complaint book he said they did not have one and "suggested" we got going… As i did not want to spoil my last day in Tallin i turned my back on him but i will tell everyone who asks what a jerk the guy is, the crappy condition the bikes were in and wonder how such thing is possible nowadays…

P.S.: Try "Hostel 16eur" instead… they don´t have nearly as much bikes available but the service is way better...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citybike, Manager at City Bike, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
On management side I'm glad to answer to those three reviews at the same time (Renato F, IsabelFerrao and Pedro P). Here is service provider point of view and remarks to things stressed out by 4 people, standing 10 minutes next to our rental bicycles and refusing to rent them and also refusing to leave.
On busy summer days we have around 50-60 bicycles in the morning to rent and 2-3 people give them out (in total we have around 180 bicycles but the rest are rented out for long rentals and pre-booked tours).
By noon there will be around 10-15 left and then we change our tactics. First tell people to choose the bicycles, they are all outside and people can choose them. Yes the choice is not very big and different frame sizes and we can't change the situation. It is either take it or don't.
On this very day we had a queue of 10 people. We told to everybody, please choose first bicycle, if you can find suitable bicycles for you we will make papers and you can start riding.
If there are 10 people waiting and 4 people choosing or correct to say standing next to 4 bicycles for 10 minutes it will be a bit strange. I asked them 3 times are you happy with the bicycles because they are the only ones we have but every time I got answer NO.
Finally I asked do they want to rent the bicycles or just standing next to them. Yes it was perhaps a bit too straight forward question but I felt this is not fair to other people waiting inside if somebody standing next to bike and have not much intention to rent it.
We have other people waiting and really would like to give them bicycles.
They were not happy with bicycles, just told one is too big and can I change the handlebar height. This was mountain bicycle and there are normally rigid stems, so the position is fixed. This was not good enough answer and customers started to say we have not good service, we need book of complaint and they will call the police.
We asked them to leave and all the rest of the clients looked happy, they could get the bikes.
Day continued as usual. And know we have got already 3 those "great" reviews from them, all stressing out how rude we were asking them to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Guides were nice, but clueless, bikes were poorly maintained”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a very large group, with an 8 year old, so we had two guides. They were both very nice, but really made a couple of mistakes of judgement. A 65 year old in our group had a bike that just would not shift gear, and "Christian" was unable to fix it on road, so our 65 year old just had to live with it for a few hours. 3 of the bells were too broken to work, one was missing, and you need bells on the mixed use trails and roads in Tallinn. My bike worked, but the gear shifter was loose and a piece fell off of it as I rode.

3/4 of the way through the hike we were at the Soviet monument on the beach, and we were up against a hard deadline to get back to the ship. I talked to both of the guides, and each of them said "no problem, it is only 7k away". I had to override them to make them leave immediately. On the way back "Christian" in the lead, irresponsibly took off with my twin 13 year old sons, who ride 20 miles a weekend, and raced back with them. The 8 year old was going very slow, so I rode with her and the other guide, then left her to catch up with the 65 and 80 year olds. At that point we were in 3 groups, and out of visual contact (Our US and UK cell phones worked erratically in Estonia). The return path branched, so we waited for the trailing guide who never showed up (they had left their bikes and taken a cab to the boat). Eventually we hired a cab to lead us back to the boat, and were very late and only a minute or two from being left behind. Nice ride, but bad judgement on the part of the guides, and the bikes were poorly maintained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fab few hours on wheels”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a great way to see around Tallinn and we found the company (contrary to other reviews) professional and the guide Kristian was amazing.
Yes, the bikes are average, no carbon fibre here, but when I mentioned there was no bell, one was promptly affixed. The company provided fluoro safely strips and also water and there was a back carrier for your backpack if need be, plus a helmet.
The tour itself really gave you an insight into Tallinn and was 2 1/2 hours which I think was just right. There are good cycle paths and it's pretty flat.
Kristian really filled us in on local knowledge and was responsive to our questions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank misspopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Never pre-book , they won't refund you in a stormy day”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This business only cares to make the maximum money , not the customer .

We booked months ago after reading positive trip advisor reviews. We were supposed to join them on a cruise port day in Tallinn. Two days before we were scheduled to arrive the weather forecasted a regional large storm and being on a ship, I still got on paid wifi to email them and saying we will probably have to miss it if it rains that day given we have a child in our party of three .

On the very same day when the tour we booked was at 11am, we tried to get off the ship at 9:45 given the port is a good 20-30 minutes away . But it was so stormy at that time my daughter and I could NOT walk farther than 20 yards without being soaking wet and had difficulty breathing. We went back to ship after a failed attempt to move forward . We decided this isn't the day anybody would enjoy any sites and were sure the tour will be cancelled

Surprise surprise ! The owner insisted on not refunding the deposit we paid (20 or 30%) because "the deposit hopefully can pay the food for the employees waited for us that day "...

The weather did improved by 11am to a less stormy but still raining day but they clearly knew we had to come off the ship earlier and the weather then didn't allow us to.


I'm totally surprised at the attitude this business is run and would never recommend anybody book w them .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citybike, Manager at City Bike, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Had long correspondence with customer and explained several times booking rules and conditions.
Cruise port operations are special for us, we deliver inside cruise territory zone bicycles and transport guides.
Yes we have 48 hours cancellation period (if tour is cancelled later the prepayment will not be refunded).
We asked 20% advance payment to be sure our guides get the work we have promised them.
Client tried to cancel around 36 hours before and we explained again.
Client said she will come, OK.
And on that day it was a bit windy but we had other customers and we do provide rain gear and our tour departed, just one guide was left behind to wait customers who didn't bothered to show up and after an hour she was going back to office and later we transported delivered bicycles away.
I feel sorry for customers do have cold, rainy and windy weather but it was'n storm as customers tries to explain.
We plan to practice the same cancellation policy and find it is normal to ask 20% advance payment to bookings for what we have to:
- provide bicycles (transport them to cruise port area)
- provide guides (to pay them good money they deserve and to secure their work)

As we have every day several private tours we continue to offer our services and hope to see cycle minded people to explore Tallinn and it's surroundings as bicycle gives the best possibilities to see the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Bike also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to City Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing