We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Center Hotel
Ranked #78 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had actually booked a room from Center Hotel which is a hostel and was supposed to be located in the same place as City Hotel. Reception asked us if we wanted to pay 10EUR more to get an own bathroom, and it was a good choice.

Hotel room was very simple, but not dirty. Bed sheets and towels were not totally spotless. The bathroom looked pretty new and was the best part of the room.

Breakfirst was suprisingly good and the location of the hotel is very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

This was my first trip to Tallinn and Estonia. It proved easy to catch the No 2 bus from the airport into town and it was a mere 10 min walk from bus stop to hotel (with convenient supermarket right beside bus stop), I had a really comfortable room with 2 single beds and mini-bar fridge. I had to share bathroom facilities, but in March, there, luckily was no-one else on floor to share facilities with. First night had been hectic with school party and so I would not recommend sharing in peak seasons. Staff aways helpful and breakfast adequate though uninspired. Walk into town was quick and easy and Tallinn in just such an accessible and fascinating city to visit. I also caught a bus to Riga for the day (bus station within easy reach of City Hotel) and bus to Haapsalu - well worth visits. Pavements still very icy and slippy in Tallinn, but scenery just stunning. Pirita and Kadriog Park are well worth visit (Baltic Sea still frozen at this point and hard to imagine Pirita as summer resort). Open Air Museum also great (21 bus from railway station). Occupation Museum another "must"

Room Tip: As I said, my room had shared toilet/bathroom facilities. As I was there in March, I was lucky that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edinburgh_UKFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Travel with baby and looking only for good relax before fly.
Big bed, big room and very big flat screen TV.
Toilet and shower clean and shiny.
Don`t have extras- witch I never expect for so small price. Take some shampoo and conditioner in nearest Supermarket.
Room din`t smell, are fresh. Hall quiet- every where are carpets. Walls thick.
Good sleep and refreshing morning with nice breakfast.
Staff very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Just check room before entering and pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ilze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

To short - not bad....
But I've seen much better for same price :)

Good:
Location - few minutes by walk and you are in the heart of the city.
Not far from Central Bus Station (about 20 min by walk)
Big room. Very big bed!
Flat TV.

Bad:
Not very clean. Very small bathroom.
No air condition!

Staff was not very friendly, but ok... Not Russian speaking. Only English.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander_StPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We were booked into an Old Town hotel, (Old Maestro) but they had double booked & sent us here. We hoped it would be OK even tho it wasn't in the Old Town as we wanted. It was awful. On getting out the lift we were hit with a sickly sweet smell. Nauseating! The windows did not open to ventilate the smell. The room had no wardrobe to hang clothes, just a rail in one corner with 4 coathangers. There were no drawers for our clothes, or bedside lockers. Our belongings had to be laid out on the settee, or floor or left screwed up in our luggage. The mattress was hard and I didn't have much rest. The bathroom was like a small cupboard, and non too clean; same for the loo. However the shower was very powerful & loads of hot water.(The only positive comment I can make) The room was not serviced during our stay - so no clean / dry towels. We did our own cleaning & bedmaking. The breakfast was only just adequate. Cold meats that were curling up at the edges, same with the cheese. Hot food was tepid. So was water for hot drinks.The young woman attending service was useless, seemed to resent being there. As for being asked to clear a table so we could eat our breakfast - well! In the snow it is much longer than 10 minutes to Old Town, more like 25. And it invoilves crossing several busy roads. We were so fed up that despite being told by reception at Old Maestro that there were no rooms left in Tallin, we found somewhere else and paid again for some comfort. Be wary of your chosen hotel giving you this line about oiverbooking. Over 2 days we discovered that at least 10 bookings had been treated this way at Old Maestro & moved to City Hotel. Is there a scam going on? City H certainly wasn't worth the money we paid to stay at the Old Maestro. The whole experience spoiled our trip to Tallin

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today
Google Translation

Room Tip: Можно взять самый дешевый номер и за 7 евро улучшить его категорию.Это надо делать сразу при заселен...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eketerina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank logares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
1.0 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#45 of 86 in Tallinn
83 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dzingel
Dzingel
#76 of 86 in Tallinn
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lillekula Hotel
Lillekula Hotel
#69 of 86 in Tallinn
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dorell Hotel
Dorell Hotel
#54 of 86 in Tallinn
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#43 of 86 in Tallinn
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Hotel

Address: Fr. R. Kreutzwaldi 2, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £15 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Center Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing