We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alter Ego

Alter Ego
Ranked #165 of 902 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great food, excellent service and tasty wine. We started with tapas (chicken livers, calamari in tempura and absolutely delicious "jamon"). For mains we had a tropical fish - I can't remember the name and lamb. Both excellent. We shared a dessert - profiteroles - as we were quite full. Very nice as well. Service was prompt and wine selection is vast and you can find many wines for under 20 EUR, something not common in Tallinn. We went for a rioja crianza which we truly enjoyed. Can't really fault anything. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina_K1980_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    67
    27
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok food, good wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Good wine but the main courses were quite bad to be honest. Especially the lamb was awful. If you want good tapas and really nice wine with nice atmosphere, choose Alter ego, but if you want good main courses and your belly full, choose some other restaurant, and don't choose the lamb.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoonasKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Went here with a friend for dinner. The waitress was very helpful and nice, and she spoke very good english. She helped us pick a good wine with our food.

The food was great, but the portions were a little small for the price we payed. But I enjoyed the wine so much that I would recommend this place to anyone!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HildeOla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic, fresh tapas but excellent service and wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I ordered some tapas and glasses of wine from the extensive wine list. Tapas was fresh but quite basic, but wines were excellent. Also the service was VERY good so I would recommend going there just because of the atmosphere. Nothing to comlaint about the food, but I wouldn't expect anything mind-blowing :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere, great stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you want to get excellent Spanish food in a very nice atmosphere then this is the place to go! Good selection of wines (caves) as well! Go there and check it out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wag74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alter Ego also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Alter Ego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing