We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strangely brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patarei Sea Fortress Prison

Patarei Sea Fortress Prison
Book In Advance
More Info
US$164.65*
and up
Walking Tour of Tallinn Old Town and Kalamaja
Ranked #23 of 287 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Patarei fortress-prison is a culture park with rich history, providing various opportunities to spend your leisure time. Discover Patarei on a guided tour or organise your own event in Patarei with an option to order prison-catering for your event! Make your reservations via e-mail or over phone or register through our webpage. Check for more information under attractions! Culture Park Patarei presents the history of Patarei sea fortress-prison and also carries out various events throughout the year. Scheduled tours are available almost daily. Please sign up for a tour at our homepage. Please note: we regret to inform you that as per decision made by the Estonian State Real Estate Ltd., the Patarei fortress has been closed to public access.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,084 reviews
568 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,211 helpful votes
“Strangely brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

What a strange tourist attraction but it was brilliant and I really enjoyed seeing it. It was about a 15 minute walk from the old town and well worth going to. The entrance has a woman sitting in a caravan and you pay her €3 to get in. I can understand why she spends her day in a caravan considering the disrepair and dampness of the prison.. but that was part of the appeal when visiting. It feels like you are intruding and shouldn't be there. Everything is left as it was when it closed. It's extremely creepy especially the hospital ward area where all of the equipment is just there as it was when everyone packed up and left. I would imagine that this prison won't stay like this for long- they are bound to pump some money into it and turn it into another mainstream prison for tourists to visit. Go now when it is still left as it was. However, if you have children I wouldn't recommend it as it's extremely dangerous!!.. barbed wire, dodgy equipment in the hospital area... I really wouldn't bring children here. I really enjoyed the visit and recommend you to go when in Tallinn. They even have a cafe out the back and a little beach! You wouldn't make it up!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    129
    46
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not Sure What to Think”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've read some of the earlier reviews and agree with all of them. I just don't know what to think about this place. It is absolutely disgusting. It is as if everyone left, trash piled everywhere, and someone thought 'Let's Charge People Money To See this'. There is no information about anything. No tour guide. Most of the rooms are piled with debris. You can pretty much go anywhere you want, but be careful, floors and stairs are rickety, railings are rusty. I can guarantee you wouldn't have access to a building in this condition in the US. You can see that the prison is being used as a hang out for local teens, as there are remnants of camp fires, beer cans, etc. It even appeared that someone was possibly using one of the rooms/cots - as disturbing as that thought is. If you have a teenager that needs an attitude adjustment, this just might be the place to give them a reality check. I wouldn't take a young child here. To be honest, I just don't know if I should tell you to see it or not.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajamäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just follo the marked walking path and you will reach the patarei prison...the beach is also lovely!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mustikkainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“See this while you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The best €3 I've spent in years. Pointless trying to describe this surreal experience - just do it. 15 mins walk from Tallinn old town centre. Half a dozen people there on hottest day of the year. Very moving. Photo opportunities are unbelievable. No restrictions on where you can go and what you can touch. Looks like a film set from Silent Hill but sadly it's a bit more sinister than this. Brilliant cafe on beach side of prison but within complex. Finished visit sitting on sun loungers looking out to sea drinking local cider behind razor wire. This will not be here forever. Redevelopment already being spoken of. One of the most impressive and thought provoking places I've ever been to!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A disappointing place to visit.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I am not usually disappointed but this place managed to rise to the occasion. The prison is rundown (fair enough) but one would expect some signs giving information about the rooms/chambers etc in the place. There are none and there is no information about the place ie when it was in use, who was imprisoned etc, so why you are charged at all is beyond me.
Take a tip and avoid this place, as a bonus save 3 Euros.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patarei Sea Fortress Prison also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Patarei Sea Fortress Prison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing