We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking tour of Tallinn - An unexpected treat”
Review of Tallinn City Tour

Tallinn City Tour
Ranked #13 of 66 Tours in Tallinn
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Did you know that every city has something that makes it special and unique? Especially a city with a long and impressive history like Tallinn. Tallinn City Tour Hop-On-Hop-Off London-style double-decker buses take tourists to several different routes through Tallinn. There is a Red Line covering the town center, Kadriorg and the Seaplane Harbour, a Greed Line connecting Pirita, the TV Tower and the Botanic Gardens, and a Blue Line that takes you to the Estonian Open Air Museum and to the Zoo. All three lines start from Viru Square, in the centre of the capital city, in front of the Viru souvenir market. Information for each location provided in 10 languages by Audio guide and rides can hop on and hop off at any stop. In high season from May to September our buses goes to ride every 20 minutes. If you're in Tallinn for the first time or you simply don't know where the museums are and how to get there, Tallinn City Tour Bus & Museum packages are an excellent solution. The Bus & Museum package gives you the opportunity to enjoy the sights of Tallinn from our comfortable double-decker buses. You can also visit the most memorable and interesting museums in Tallinn, which have something for everyone. The bus will take you close to the museums and sights, and pick you up from the same spot afterwards – your ticket is valid for a whole day! Bus & Museums package includes: * 24 or 48 hour Tallinn City Tour ticket, can be used on all three lines. * 2 museum tickets of your own choice (Seaplane Harbour, Open Air Museum, TV-Tover, Art Museum of Estonia Kumu). All our buses have free WiFi! • 1 ticket valid all day and for all 3 different lines • Every line takes 1 hour • Bus rotation is every 20 minutes • Tickets are valid for 1 or 2 days. • Beginning every day from the Tallinn Cruise Pier BOOK ONLINE, SAVE 10%!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Walking tour of Tallinn - An unexpected treat”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We arrived in Tallinn by cruise ship and opted not to take an excursion to tour the old city as we heard it was an easy walk. Just off the main plaza (across from the information office) we saw a small booth offering a free 2hr walking tour of the city. We signed up and enjoyed it thoroughly. Our tour guide was a college student Mairi (hope I spelled it correctly) whose English was excellent. Mairi walked us around the old city for the entire two hours providing us a short history of the city and insights you might not read in a book. At the end, tips are welcome and we happily left a $20 bill to share our appreciation. It might be of interest that the tour had about 25 participants (a good number) and included several small hills and one large set of stairs, but as you walk around, there are several opportunities to sit down and rest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank RCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityTourTallinn, Manager at Tallinn City Tour, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi RCoe! Thank you for your feedback.
Best wishes, Tallinn City Tour team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    24
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tallinn Old Town Estonia”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Tallinn's Medieval city is a delight with lots of interesting things to see, we were on a guided tour and part of it was a guitar recital and a visit to a 15th century pharmacy. The buildings were beautiful and well looked after. Everywhere was so clean and tidy and the people were extremely friendly to visitors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anamat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityTourTallinn, Manager at Tallinn City Tour, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Anamat2013! Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed visiting our Medieval city.
Best wishes, Tallinn City Tour team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bus with no sound”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Big mistake getting this Red Bus City Tour. Should have gone for the HOP ON HOP OFF BUS instead. The Red City Tour Bus had very poor condition earpieces, lots broken and No Sound, so no information, which basically you pay for. At one stop near Tallin Old Town the bus pulled away leaving passengers waiting at the stop. No impressed at all! No one to talk to to even try to get money back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityTourTallinn, Manager at Tallinn City Tour, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Judith L! Thank you for your feedback.
We have concidered your comments and next season we will try to make our sounds better.
Best wishes, Tallinn City Tour team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tallinn at top speed”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hop on hop off bus tour is a total waste of time, we purchased a ticket for the first bus tour that came along, it turned out to be the Green Line. It took some time to find the English speaking channel and had to change seats to find an audio that worked. We took off at speed and found out later that part of the route used to be used for car racing, I think our driver used to race cars and now races buses. The journey was uncomfortable as we were thrown around and hit every low hanging branch. The audio gave limited information but we sped passed all the highlights and as no-one chose to get off there were no photograph opportunities.

Later we decided we had probably taken the wrong tour and chose to try the blue route, but three quarters of the route was the same as the other tour, still no photo opportunities. When we did change to the city route we went to limited areas. A total waste of money, time and effort, a total con>

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank horwood_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityTourTallinn, Manager at Tallinn City Tour, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi horwood_20! Thank you for your feedback.
We have concidered your comments.
Best wishes, Tallinn City Tour team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A surprising city”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are very happy with our tour of Tallinn. Our guide Marget was superb and went out of her way to show us the delights of Tallinn, even pausing to allow us to purchase souvenirs, as we were the only ones on the tour. She was able to suggest good places to eat, and fun things to do at the end of the tour. We also visited the Museum of the Resistance and we found this to be very worth while.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityTourTallinn, Manager at Tallinn City Tour, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Heather S!
Thank you for your feedback. We are also glad that you are very happy with your tour of Tallinn.
Best wishes, Tallinn City Tour team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tallinn City Tour also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Tallinn City Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing