We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of better choices”
Review of Restaurant Kaljas - CLOSED

Restaurant Kaljas
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Restaurant Kaljas lies on two floors in a gorgeous medieval stone house near the Viru Gates in Tallinn, just in front of the historic Bastion Gardens. The basis of restaurant Kaljas menu is French kitchen and the gastronomic lessons of the European center.Welcome!
South Glos. England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Plenty of better choices”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Went as a party of six having booked the night before. Were sat at table and then ignored. Eventually got served. In a place with so much good beer we were served extremely flat beer. Menu was ok. Food was mixed. Some enjoyed - some served cold. Plenty of better places to eat - best avoided

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Colle sur Loup, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Misrepresentation!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

For the Steak Tartare, the menu indicated that pommes frites were included; they weren't. The waitress apologised and said the menu had changed recently and pommes frites were no longer included (a vague offer was made to produce some now if we really wanted them - presumably to be served with the dessert, so the offer was declined).
For the cheese platter, the menu indicated "parmesan, Estonian cheese, brie, blue cheese, flaky grissinis and cloudberry jam .." There was no Parmesan, no Brie, no grissiniis and no cloudberry jam!!!" There was simply a nondescript selction of mediocre cheeses which MAY have been Estonian.
VERY UNSATISFACTORY - best avoided.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonIngrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A long wait for a terrible pizza”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had to wait for 35 minutes for a pizza that tasted like it was bought in store and microwaved and there was a crazy amount of flour on it. Price 9,60 €. Would not recommend the place, at least not if you want a pizza.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outdoor Seating”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We finished our tour with SPB Tours and our guide Madli led us out of the Old Town and there was Kaljas, a restaurant right next to the flower market. So we found a place to sit in the shade and enjoyed a nice salad. It was not inexpensive, but what is in Europe ? 31 Euros for two of us. The view of the flowers was lovely and we took our time enjoying lunch with friends.
Then we needed to meet our bus to get back to the cruise ship, so next to the restaurant was a shop featuring high end Estonian goods, so we went in and spent some money there on some very fine quality items.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well-located. Quite tasty.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This restaurant is situated at the very border of the Old Town, so it's very convenient to have lunch there either before you explore the Old Town or before you go to some other place.

There are not very many courses in the menu, but they are good. The service is a bit slow, but not irritatingly so, and free Wi-Fi helps to deal with this quite nicely. :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasselanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Kaljas also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing