We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar - Informative staff - Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great bar - Informative staff - Central location”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here end of October whilst in Tallinn for business and really liked the atmosphere, interior and bar. Can see this would be a good place to spend more time, showers all new, clean, spacious rooms and staff were quick to answer questions and give good advice. I have stayed many places over the years but really like the slight madness to the interior elements and details. Nice to see a skate ramp in the bar!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    66
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
20
97
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

One of the nicest youth hostel I've been in. Rooms are clean, blankets warm, bathroom and showers clean as well. The staff is amazingly friendly and fun. If you want to party, there's the bar (enve in the middle of the week ) if you want to sleep quietly, well the door separating the bar from the hostel is highly soundproof I guess because I slept like a baby.
I highly recommand that place ! Have fun in the middle of Tallin !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I made the decision to switch to the Red Emperor per a recommendation from the Naughty Squirrel hostel staff in Riga, and I couldn't be more happy with this decision. The location is great, rooms and facilities are comfortable and the bar provides much entertainment for any type of traveler. There is a gentleman that frequents this hostel from Russia (a 70's something ex-pat living there with his "young" Russian bride) that I would say to avoid if possible. His close-mindedness, conspiracy theory centered, and frankly racist and anti-semitic ways of thinking were too much for me to handle, and the staff at the RE were quick to respond and help me change rooms. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Tallinn!

Room Tip: Ask to not be placed with the "creepy old guy" that frequents Tallinn to upgrade his Russi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Badly stained duvet (with I don't want to know what) and balled up tissues on the floor. Pretty average experience, good bar next door with some live music the night we arrived. Difficult to find the entrance, cold dormitories and poorly constructed bunks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BindiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed in this hostel for 3 nights while in Tallinn...while it is a little confusing to find (yes you do enter through the bar entrance, the door will be closed so make sure you knock!), and was weird that you had to always ask to be let in but was not really an issue except the one time when no one was around! Other than that the hostel is very clean and sociable, kitchen is minimum but fine for a small meal. The crowd here was very relaxed and great conversation, the guys on the desk can help with any questions. Oh and the bar here is pretty famous for its nightlife, but is separated from the hostel so that if you don't want to drink, you can sleep without any interruption (I had the bed on the wall adjoining the bar and still didn't hear anything so yeah!) ... Would stay here again on future trips!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed there 2 nights.

The location is good; the hostel is located in the Old Town, very close to the main attractions. It is also located at a walking distance to ferry terminal, for example.

In general the hostel is clean and very safe. Doors are always locked, and only guests are allowed to enter.

There is a kitchen, with stove, oven, fridge, etc. and a large table. There is a supermarket in front of the hostel, if you want to cook or just buy breakfast.

Wi-fi works fine in the kitchen/common room, but not so well in the rooms. There is also one (or two) computers available, and some board games.

Staff was always very nice.

Would certainly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Location:
In the old town, very close to the bus station to go to the airport, close to the malls, department store right opposite the hostel, McD and other restaurants are 2 to 3 mins walking distance. 5/5 for the location.

Directions:
The directions form hostelworld over email are misleading. The way to get to this hostel is to get off at the bus stop for bus 2 from the airport, walk into the Viru mall and come out form the exit towards the old town. You will see a Hesburger on your right. Take the right at the end of the Hesburger (Need not walk past the flower market or the Viru gates, as mentioned by hostel world). Keep walking and you will find the Rimi super market on your left right opposite it there is hotel Bern walk into the courtyard and on the right side you will find the hostel emperor door , go to the first floor and they will let you in.

People:
The people at the reception are friendly and they give you all the information to travel around where to eat etc. The map at the hostel is really good

Rooms:
The rooms were spacious . I Stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm there was plenty of space to keep bags and the beds were comfortable. I was in Emily room and the door kept banging due to the breeze and since it opens to the road there was lot of noise at night. There are no lockers in the room, which is very inconvenient.

Bathrooms:
Most days there is a queue to get into the shower in the mornings. Also to go to the showers and toilet you need to walk past the reception and the kitchen area. There were only 2 showers for all the rooms. The showers and toilet weren't the cleanest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_desi_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Emperor Bar and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Emperor Bar and Hostel

Property: Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
Address: Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Red Emperor Bar and Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine experiencing Tallinn with an Aussie who wants something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there; who wants excitement, an experience and a unique atmosphere. Imagine a spacious bar with Triple J on which offers the chance to drink on the cheaply while meeting fellow travellers, enrolling yourself in drinking competitions like giant jenga for beginners, pool for intermediates and beer pong for experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Emperor Bar and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing