We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel! Got heaps drunk and shitloads of fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This is most definitely the best hostel I have EVER stayed! The rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Every time I went for a shower the bathroom was spotless. Awesome staff - extremely fun and helpful. And most definitely have to mention the bar. Every night there is something going on- tequila night and the karaoke night were my favourite. But the best thing about red emperor is when you want to have a quiet one and stay in you won't here the music in your room. Only bad thing about the hostel and the bar is that you never want to leave that place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Nedinatieppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed at Red Emperor a while ago when my flat was being renovated.
The hostel is very clean and tidy and the atmosphere relaxed. The showers are great, beds comfier than my own at home and I felt really secure there, too. All the staff members were friendly and we ended up going out together.
I really appreciated the central location and everything was a short walk away. The super market was just across the street and the kitchen fully equipped so I was able to save a lot of money and cook my own meals.
I had been to the bar next door before, but it was even more awesome to party there as a hostel guest as I didn’t have to worry about getting a cab, haha. Great bar, cheap drinks!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizsp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Bathrooms were really clean, well equipped kitchen. I really liked the fact that they have a bar linked to the hostel. Had a blast at the bar and later a good nights sleep in the hostel. Cool staff, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Awesome easy going staff, nice rooms and easy access to the old town of Tallinn. The bar is only a door away and the hostel side both clean and quiet. Would suggest to anyone who is on a budget and wants the true hostel experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Peter_Chestnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hostel is nice and tidy, rooms are nice and the beds are one of the most comfortable i have ever slept in (When you check in, make sure you get the orthopedic pillows - it will blow your mind!). There is free Wifi and you can get your belly full of awesome spot on cooked stuff. If you are backpacking, this is one of the best spots to relax and get a good idea of the Estonian folk.

Room Tip: The rooms that are facing the inner courtyard are better because there is less city noise coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

2nd time Ive been to Tallinn and Emperor's is always reliable. Cheap clean rooms, good common area to chill and Staff are awesome with great tips on where to head out, crazy stuff to see and can point you in the right direction if you're looking for a totally unique experience. What sets this place apart though is the Bar, Every night theres something going on, cheap drinks, pool, skate the bowl, open mic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97ScottG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

As the location, in the beginning of Old Town where you could easily find even you are drunk. Young and open-minded personel are always ready to help, talk. Rooms are clean and spacious. Also the pub of thehostel is so unique.

I strongly recommend for young people and backpackers. Businessmen and families, it is not for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turna Ezgi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 123 in Tallinn
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Old Town Alur
Hostel Old Town Alur
#2 of 123 in Tallinn
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kohver
Kohver
#21 of 123 in Tallinn
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Hostel
Welcome Hostel
#23 of 123 in Tallinn
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knight House
Knight House
#5 of 123 in Tallinn
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Emperor Bar and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Emperor Bar and Hostel

Address: Aia 10, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range: £13 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Red Emperor Bar and Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine experiencing Tallinn with an Aussie who wants something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there; who wants excitement, an experience and a unique atmosphere. Imagine a spacious bar with Triple J on which offers the chance to drink on the cheaply while meeting fellow travellers, enrolling yourself in drinking competitions like giant jenga for beginners, pool for intermediates and beer pong for experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Emperor Bar and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing