We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Epic spot!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Randomly stumbled upon Red Emperor and I was not disappointed! Cool people, even cooler people behind the bar, didn't see one crouch at the bar. A lot to do: play pool, beer bong, jenga ..., Epic time, shout out to Rosie and Liz !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    72
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
20
99
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from a four day trip to Tallinn, stayed at the red emperor and found it a great place to stay, its clean tidy and very well priced, I would stay here again even if I wasn't on a budget, don't look anywhere else just book here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank johner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The red emperor is easily one of the best hostels I have stayed in. The staff were friendly and knowledgable. The rooms clean and the beds comfortable. Ask about the tours / events as there is usually something entertaining to do.
The location is great being just on the edge of the old town so most sights are just a short walk away. The big highlight is the bar. A very laid back atmosphere complete with pool tables, table football and even a skate ramp. A great place to enjoy a few hours or a long night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I've chosen this hostel because of the position which is perfect in the old city center. Rooms are clean, the common area very comfortable, the staff is very friendly and nice, the bar very good! And a beer costs 2 euro! In general I can suggest this hostel if you are traveling alone because you can meet a lot of new people. They provide for your bed sheets and towels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Arrived early on a monday morning to be greeted by cheery staff in this colourful unique looking hostel, got some rest and relaxed in the common room with loads of friendly staff and other travellers, got some excellent advice from the knowledgeable staff of good places to check out around tallinn before eventually being invited out for a "blindfolded" pub crawl which was just amazing and an excellent way to make friends if you're feeling a little shy.
Went to some great bars before coming back to the hostels own bar which is just brilliant, live music. pool tables. beer pong. foosball, even a skateboard quarter pipe/bowl and some grind rails were set up in the bar, this place is just incredible, i could go on a describe the next 3 days of amazing parties/music but i hope it's already come across how special this place is.
Just go, get a booking and go for a few days, this place is something else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Secondfossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This place is fantastic, the attached bar is cheap and rammed with friendly people. There is live music, and Djs.

The staff in the Hostel couldn't be more friendly. The beards make me jealous!!....

The bathroom is mixed with showers (6) have a with doors with shower curtains also and there is 2 toilets.

Thanks guys and gals!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Sunlight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a great place to stay for a party group. Went 3 nights with group of 18 on sons stag party. Staff helpful & work hard to keep rooms & bathroom clean, rooms spacious, beds comfy. Hostels bar was busy every night found it hard to drag ourselves away to other bars as location is great for bars restaraunts clubs but we always finished off there in the early hours. Would recomend this hostel for any party group.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Emperor Bar and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Emperor Bar and Hostel

Property: Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
Address: Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Red Emperor Bar and Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine experiencing Tallinn with an Aussie who wants something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there; who wants excitement, an experience and a unique atmosphere. Imagine a spacious bar with Triple J on which offers the chance to drink on the cheaply while meeting fellow travellers, enrolling yourself in drinking competitions like giant jenga for beginners, pool for intermediates and beer pong for experts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Emperor Bar and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing