We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable but............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meriton Grand Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Paris
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“comfortable but............”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Old & average hotel but rooms are comfortable though bad smell in the corridor & food is not so good. Free Internet which works well. I was given twin beds for a single person and front desk got housekeeping to put them together only after a long chat.
I stayed here as part of a tour group, otherwise I would not have choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    41
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
25
31
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is not a fancy hotel. It is very average and for me good enough. The lobby WC:s was very dirty but the rest is ok! Hotel food is average too. Personel is helpfull and I would stay there again. Location is good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
253 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just spent a couple of nights at this hotel, the rooms were clean and fairly good size, the beds and pillows were comfortable. The Staff was nice and helpful when asked about Taxis and dining. They have few places to eat at the hotel, The Russian resturant was fine. They are looking near the old town. One draw back is because it is a spa you have to pay to use the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This room and bath were comfy. Even though it was near the elevator, it was quiet the first night. My window was a ceiling to floor glass wall, which was impressive but I only looked into a construction site. The second night guests were partying (music, drinking, and a dancing bimbo)in the large area in front of the elevator. Several people in our group opened their doors to glare at the drunks and dancing bimbo, but to no avail. We all called the front desk, but no answer. Finally at 4am someone did answer and the hotel sent someone up to disperse the party. Just 15 minutes later the bimbo had a huge argument with one of the men in front of the elevator. The other men returned and the party resumed. Breakfast was fine. Good location.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the elevators.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Seein'_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Overall very good hotel

Breakfast: Breakfast was excellent. A very varied buffet. Porridge, yoghurt, fruit (tinned variety), drinking yoghurt, blini/pancakes, bacon, meatballs, eggs, juice, coffee, tea, cold meats and cheeses, cereals and more.
Room: The room was clean and had all the essentials. Strange paintings in the corridors but I guess that is a matter of taste!
Location: Just outside the old City walls but only a short walk in to town. Well located for access to the old town. The only drawback is that there are no kiosks/shops where you can buy water or basic things and the hotel charges an extortionate 6 euros for a litre bottle of water. To avoid this make sure to visit the kiosks or supermarkets in town. (e.g Viru keskus or Solaris)
Swimming Pool: Not a pool for serious swimming designed more for relaxing. There are several pools but are more for lazing in as are very small, not very deep and oddly shaped. So don't expect to be able to swim lengths.
Gym: Well equipped gym
Amenities: We didn't eat or drink in any of the hotel restaurants or bars as they seemed quite pricey. The CUban bar charged 10 euros a cocktail
Staff: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewildoneforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakobstad
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Nice hotel with great location. The rooms was large but outdated. It seems that the hotel has two different sides: the Spa hotel and this Grand Hotel. Spa hotel has clean and confortable rooms and it seems to be new. Grand is old and needs updating. The spa is great!

Room Tip: Please select your room from Meriton Spa hotel which is in the same building. Spa rooms are much nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Meriton Spa is a fine 4-star hotel , conveniently located close to the central railway station and the old town.

The easiest way to reach the hotel is by taxi, but do be careful when boarding one as the prices tend to fluctuate (depending on the mood of the driver?). The prices are listed on the window shield and range from 0.33-1.90 per km and around 3-4 Euro as the starting price.
If You want to walk to the old-town, it will take You about 15 minutes. When leaving the hotel, turn left.
Rooms are nicely furnished and represent a modern-Estonian style. The best ones are on the 7th floor, overlooking the city-walls. The view is particularly nice in the evening, when all the lights are lit.
WLAN is free of charge, but at times the signal is very weak. When it works, the connection is pretty slow.
The hotel has a few restaurants (Russian, Asian ) and a café serving delicious salads and cakes. Prices are mid-range/high. The service is pretty slow.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Basic set of foods (cheese, ham, eggs), but nothing that would make me remember the place. The bread was hard and the tomatoes have seen their best days (a few days back). No fruits served, only fruit salad (definitely from a can). There’s only one coffee-machine, so there were queues at times… Even though the serving time during the weekend ends only at 11, they seem to run out of lots of things already around 10:30. Also, the staff in the restaurant is not trying to make You feel welcome – a smile at times would be nice.

The Fitness department consists of a spa and a spacious gym. The gym (located upstairs, 2nd floor) is well-equipped (there are 4 treadmills, a few bikes and cross-trainers) and seems to be really popular with the hotel guests (for which usage is free-of-charge) and also people from outside. Remember however to bring Your own towel and a bottle of water along.
The Spa is famous for it’s saunas – there’s a Finnish one (inside the changing room), a steam-sauna (common), an aroma-sauna with lights of different colour and some light music and so called salt-sauna.
All in all, the stay was a nice experience, but I am missing this “certain something” which would make me definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn
0.7 mi away
Hotel Braavo
Hotel Braavo
#49 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Grand Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Grand Hotel Tallinn

Property: Meriton Grand Hotel Tallinn
Address: Toompuiestee 27, Tallinn 10149, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Meriton Grand Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing