We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place on our Baltic cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tallinn Old Town

Tallinn Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$175.64*
and up
Tallinn City Private Tour
Ranked #1 of 287 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This jumble of 14th- and 15th-century architecture with its medieval walls, needling spires and twisting, cobblestone streets is also the site of many of the city's important historic attractions and museums including the House of the Brotherhood of the Blackheads, St. Catherine's Guild and the 15th-century Guildhall that now houses the History Museum.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best place on our Baltic cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Tallinn is by far the best place we visited on our 14 day cruise of the Baltic. My Mum and I walked from the ship to the town and spent 4 hours just wandering around. It is amazing that so many of the beautiful buildings have survived and the views from Toompea are incredible. We folllowed the walk described in the Thomas Cook Balitc Cruise book and it took us to all the best bits.
One of the other passengers did say that the shopkeepers were a bit zealous and it was expensive but if you are going to shop then you are not there for the right reasons!
Watch out for the pickpockets and the cobbles, sensible shoes are a must. The public toilets need 20 cents to open best idea is to join a queue that way it's free !

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank snorkellinglinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,863
    1,940
    253
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Old Town - great place for new discoveries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Old Town is a great place for new discoveries of different facets of what Estonian life in the capital has to offer.

Coming from Malta, one can easily feel comfortable and very much at home within the city fortifications. The cobbled stone streets make the walking slightly strenuous, but you feel great after. The views from within the city fortifications of the main town below were breathtaking.

The main town square was also full of life this weekend, when the cultural Old Town festival had all sorts of musical and other performances going on. The square is also perfect to unwind with friends, but especially over a great meal accompanied by good quality wines and beers. Prices in the main square are a tad expensive with a meal for 2 with just a main course and a decent bottle of wine and water, setting us back a good part of Euro 80…. perhaps a small price to pay for a little luxury.

Overall it was a pleasant experience in Tallinn’s Old Town.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexAbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A smaller Prague with fewer tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The well preserved Old Town of Tallinn provides a sense of a medieval time with the cobblestone streets, tall spires, narrow alleys. It is best to explore the various winding side streets. You can't get lost - St. Olaf's church is in sight from everywhere! Speaking of which - climb to the top of St. Olaf's and have a wonderful view of the city - Old Town, Song Festival, communist built apartments surrounding the city, the harbor filled with cruise ships, the Castle and Alex Nevsky cathedral - just hope it isn't too windy or rainy.

The Old Town section of the city is very walkable if you a comfortable pair of shoes and are willing to walk up a few hills. The center of town, Raekoja Plats if very central to all the attractions - Toompea Castle, Alex Nevsky Cathedral, museums, Fat Margaret, St Olaf's,etc. If you are hungry or thirsty, there are a number of cafes, coffeehouses and restaurants some that are very good.

It reminds me of Prague, but smaller, fewer tourists and more personable. The photo opportunities are endless. It is truly a gem of a city!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very beatiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Tallinn's old town is tiny, but very cozy. Most of the buildings are authentic and have their own history, which is described in the stands on the buildings walls. But beware of pickpockets - during three days i spent in Tallinn's old town, i've seen two attempts on Viru street to steal wallet from tourists. However, Tallinn's old town is worth to visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of the best Old Towns in the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The historic buildings, narrow streets, and the dining establishments are worth a visit. Most of the old town is in excellent condition, and should be explored independently or with a guided walking tour. We did both. There is a wide range of excellent restaurants in the Old Town. We visited the Old Hansa Restaurant, and the Spice Restaurant, and both were excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tallinn Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Tallinn Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing