We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and cozy”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classy and cozy”
Reviewed 26 October 2007

The Schlossle is a very comfortable and cozy hotel, well placed for the old town sights and good value for money. It may not have the facilities of more modern hotels, but if you're looking for somewhere that is relaxed and welcoming, this fits the bill nicely.

We ordered a hotel transfer after reading that taxis could be a bit hit and miss, and were happy to pay the 16 euros to know that we didn't have any hassle on arrival. However, having seen others get to the hotel by taxi without any problem, I'd say that you can save 11 euros by taking a taxi.

Check in was efficient, with a welcoming glass of juice. All staff speak excellent English, and are very attentive without being in your face. For example, take a seat by the open fire in reception and someone will immediately come to make sure there are enough logs on it.

Our room was up a circular flight of stone stairs which wasn't the easiest to navigate, so ask for a ground floor room if you have weak knees.

The only slight negative for me is that we found the restaurant a little pretentious - high prices and an attempt at haute cuisine which seemed somewhat out of place. Accordingly, we didn't eat there, preferring instead to sample the abundance of good quality restaurants in the old town. If you like Italian food, take a tip and find Controvento in Katariina kaik (St Katherine's passage, off Vene), conveniently a stone's throw from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Glebetrotter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    66
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
71
277
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

We have just returned from a three-night stay in Tallinn. There appear to be four hotels vying to be the 'best': best located (without being noisy), most professional (without being stuffy), most comfortable, friendly and welcoming, etc. The Schlossle is competing with its sister hotel the St Petersbourg, the Three Sisters and the Merchant House. We visited all four and there is no contest, certainly not for the friendliness of the reception. The Schlossle has a crackling log fire that greets you immediately you open the front door (or, if the staff hear the sound of luggage wheels on the pavement, it is opened for you!) We were made most welcome throughout our stay, and the staff are very friendly, despite their formal attire (wing collars, tailcoats etc).

The Schlossle has an excellent location: close to the main square but in a quiet street. If you want trendy or minimalist this is not the place for you; instead there are plenty of comfy chairs to collapse into when you've walked your legs off round the Old Town. It doesn't have a bar, instead the staff will bring whatever you need to your armchair. And this is decidely NOT the place if, like an earlier correspondent, you are in Tallinn to go clubbing and/or get wasted.

Our room was well-appointed and very comfortable, and well worth what we paid easyjetHotels to stay there. Breakfast in the cellar (Stenhus) restaurant was excellent, but we did not eat dinner there, the choice of alternatives being very wide indeed. Places we ate at were:

Gloria Weinikelder (linked to the Gloria Restaurant) is one of Tallinn's secrets: you walk down into what appears to be a wine shop, but once it has been established that you have a reservation they radio ahead and you are allowed to proceed to the simple restaurant (sort of "Knock three times and ask for Kadri"). Wines are served only by the glass, which is ideal. On 2/12/06 there was a Fino sherry (6cl 40kr), 6 whites and 8 reds (12cl 50-70kr), and 8cl of LBV port (80kr) or Beerenauslese (60kr). Limited food selection, but our choices were all good, especially the desserts.

Vanaema Juures (Grandma's Place) is very good for an Estonian lunch or dinner, but it's tiny and you MUST pre-book.

Kuldse Notsu Korts (Little Piggy Inn)(next to and part of the Hotel St Petersbourg) is also good for an informal lunch or dinner, serving Estonian specialities such as blood pudding.

Olde Hansa (corner of Raekoja Plats ie. Town Hall Square) sounds totally corny but provided you pre-book for dinner and are seated upstairs then it is an experience not to be missed (unless of course you're a vegetarian!). The food and portions redefine the word 'hearty' and include elk, wild boar etc, all served to you by staff in medieval costume who have a brilliant line in Middle Ages banter (eg. on being handed the menu we were asked if we could read, and this carried on for the entire meal). Minstrels play on period instruments in a gallery above the dining area, which just adds to the medieval ambience. Take your camera!

Nevski (the restaurant of the St Petersbourg Hotel) is where we ate our Russian dinner of the trip. Not cheap, but an experience, including having our ice-cold vodka poured from a great height (think venenciadors in Jerez).

Finally a plug (not that it needs it; it was packed most afternoons) for the Cafe Chocolatiere, where the locals go for a 'real' hot chocolate and a cake.

Would we go back? Well, we're already investigating a repeat trip in June, when the sun is up virtually 24 hours a day.

  • Liked — Comfort and warm welcome
  • Disliked — Schmaltzy American Christmas muzak
  • Tips/Secrets — make all restaurant bookings BEFORE you leave home
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank bullshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

We have returned today from two nights at the Schlossle in Tallinn. What a gorgeous hotel! It is small, friendly and very cosy. The log fire in the reception area is very welcoming and the restaurant with it's medieval stone walls and candlelight is stunning. The hotel customer service is impeccable, professional and unassuming. Dinner at the restaurant is to be recommended, even if you are not a resident it is well worth dining there. We also had dinner at the Egoiste restaurant but much preferred the hotel restaurant. We found Egoiste a bit stuffy and overpriced. Our room at the Schlossle was charming, well furnished and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Tallinn Old Town itself is absolutely charming as are the people. Beautiful medieval buildings, cobbled streets and courtyards, Go to Tallinn!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank AppletreeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2005

This hotel is a very nice place and it has superb service. I was in Tallinn visiting a friend so I was staying there by myself for two weeks. I was there on pleasure, and the mission was to do a lot of partying. Now I never made any disturbance but the staff always looked at me funny when I would come back from one of the clubs at 8AM and then sleep during the day. This place is for people who have lots of extra money, who are not there to do what I did, and who may be on the older side of life.

The room was nice but you have to request a shower, otherwise you may just get a tub. Internet access when I was there was only available in the lounge and it was wireless. I did end up switching rooms and I was right above the lobby so I had a weak signal but sometimes it would get through the floor. Room service food was excellent but the menu becomes very limited late at night. I was hardly ever awake in time for the free breakfast and when I was it was nothing special.

This is supposed to be the nicest hotel in Tallinn. If you are into that old medevil look and you want to drop $200 a night on a room then you will love this place. But I've been in much nicer hotels in Chicago for the same money. Their four star system over there does not equal four here, actually I'd say closer to two & 1/2 to three.

If you are there to have fun and don't want uppity guests to look at you stay someplace else. In fact even if you are there for longer than a week I'd suggest one of the many apartments that are available for rent across Old Town and just outside of it. You will save much more money for more important things as you really won't be spending much time in a hotel at all anyway.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank unsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2005

Enjoyed a four night break here in a suite on an upper floor. Lift would have helped my old muscles but without one I felt fitter at the end of our stay.

Breakfast was excellent but we didn't have any other meals there as there were plenty of other choices of places to dine in the immediate vicinity.

Slight musty smell in the bathroom but this was compensated for by the heated floor tiles - a luxury I'd love at home.

We didn't watch much TV but were surprised to find two - one in the sitting room area and another in the bedroom. There was a broadband computer available to use in the residents lounge.

Turn left just down the road outside the hotel and there was a museum that provided an excellent insight into the history of Tallin. We visited when one of our mornings was cold with a bighting wind off the Baltic. On another day we bought all day tram/bus tickets and enjoyed trips along three of the arms of the cross shaped tram route system. At the end of one of the routes we walked up the hill beyond the terminus and found a Hilton Hotel where we lunched but it had none of the warmth and intimacy of the Schlossle or the central reastaurants.

An interesting feature in the Hotel Schlossle was an "Honours Board" of VIP's who had stayed at the hotel including Prince Charles and Sting.

Would love to visit and stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Caspiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2005

A wondeful hotel in the old town of Tallinn. Staff were fantastic and very helpful and the food was superb - breakfast was never ending and dinner was simply delicious - have never eaten so much in one weekend!
We arranged for a car to collect from the airport which was well worth the 16€. Used the sauna as well which was lovely after a day out exploring the town in the snow. You can book the sauna just for yourselves but is only complimentary in the morning, in the afternoon and evening you have to pay a small charge.
As it was coming up for Christmas the hotel was beautifully decorated and the log fire in reception made it all very warm and cosy. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank elsbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 October 2005

Charming little hotel. Well furnished bedrooms and cosy public areas, although our suite (20)had definite sewage problems. We did complain about the smell and were told that they had not had any complaints before. We kept the scented candle provided, lit most of the time.
The hotel was spotlessly clean with very helpful and pleasant staff, particularly the reception staff, who spoke good english. The restuarant staff were a bit too officious.
We had a delicious meal on our second evening...having disregarded the advice from reception, on arrival, to book early if we wished to dine that evening. We were disappointed to find it was fully booked. After several attempts to find us another restuarant, (the popular ones fill up early, so be warned), we were recommended to The Bonaparte. Do not go there...we started off with stale bread,the room was freezing and things just got progressively worse.
Breakfast at The Schloessle was abundent. Little bit of noise in the evening from revellers, but that seem to come with 'Tallinn'.

Overall very pleasant...but then it should be, considering the cost.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#9 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Property: Hotel Schlossle
Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing