We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property in the old town”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We booked this hotel online with very little info except that it was in the old town near the square. We were impressed with our welcome (and the inexpensive transfer provided by the hotel from the airport). Tallinn is a charming city with a horde of tourists at this time of the year. The hotel was in a quiet area and we were upgraded to a suite on the third floor which was quite nice. There are no elevators since this is a historic building, also no air conditioning except for a floor standing machine which didn't work very well. We could open the windows at night and were comfortable enough. The breakfast provided is a buffet in the basement which is an old stone series of rooms and reminds one of a castle dungeon. Food was adequate but not outstanding. We would probably return there if we went again because it is within walking distance of all the interesting places and also a major shopping center in the newer part of town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Winkelreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Schloessle. It is located right in the old city in a lovely restored building. The decor is lovely, although one of the aristocratic portaits in the lobby is looking a little green around the gills from light exposure.

Some of the rooms can be very small, and in the summer, the street-facing rooms get very warm. We were traveling with an elderly person, and the stairs were a bit much for her. The staff kindly relocated her. Note in your reservations if accessibility is a factor.

Breakfast is served in the lovely lower level, where you can really appreciate the medieval architecture. We had an early morning flight out, and the staff packed our breakfast to take away, which was another unexpected and very appreciated service.

Room Tip: Rooms can be small, so look at a few, if choices are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We must begin by saying the staff were attentive and very pleasant going out of their way to be helpful.
Attention to a few key points would however enhance the overall experience.
Light levels: - curtaining etc. not adequate to block out early morning light, seepage of light from corridors annoying; artificial lighting somewhat too subdued for ease of reading and in bathrooms
Noise: extractor fans, especially from kitchens etc disturbing during night - in our experience they are not turned off as stated:
other guests could be requested to consider others - especially when coming in late or leaving early - ditto with those dining in courtyard area
Comfort: the beds were of good quality - however one easy chair in a supposedly 'superior' double room does not fit in with the hotel star rating
Facilities: hairdryer hopeless for women; iron/ironing board had to be asked for - not in room as stated
Eating: contents of breakfast were fine, except that dishes were not replenished frequently enough, and the number of tables was inadequate at busier times. The staff were very willing and charming but apparently lacked adequate supervision/training support; resulting their in forgetting items and repeated journeys on their part with e.g. a single spoon or plate.
Overall: it seems churlish to complain of too much deference and attention, but is it really necessary to stand up or greet EVERY time you pass? In the end it became overwhelming.

Room Tip: upstairs in annexe probably larger and quieter except in lot of people eating in courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB02-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel is in a quiet street and yet only a short walk away from many attractions of the Old Town. Breakfasts and room service are superb and assistance was always given with a smile. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This quaint hotel in the heart of old town offers exquisite service, with comfortable rooms that are both modern and rustic at the same time. Perhaps the highlight of the hotel is its staff. Upon arrival we realized that we had left my girlfriend's bag on the ferry's bus shuttle. The hotel staff immediately called the bus company, and then drove/ran down to the station to retrieve it, at no cost to us! Our relentless questions about what to do/see in the city did not seem to phase the front desk concierge team. In fact, every time you walk into the tiny lobby of the hotel, the staff at the front desk stand up to greet you! Completely unnecessary, but nice nonetheless. Bottom line: if you are looking for a safe, centrally located hotel with clean rooms and immaculate service, Schloessle is it.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank splater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The staff is absolutely wonderful - smiling faces all around and very helpful. They even remembered on the second day my husbands preference for Earl Grey tea with lemon and no sugar. Cleaning ladies are very sufficient but the receptionists standing out - we have never had a feeling of being guests as much more we were treated like friends.

We will definitely return to this gem perhaps already for the Christmas market season in snow. We were told that this is a must when we departed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiiriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel for the quality and attention to detail in every aspect of what they do and how they ensured our experience was exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £122 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing