We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Schlossle”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
kildare
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Schlossle”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We are back from a wounderful weekend in Tallinn , we stayed in the fantastic Schlossle Hotel with its fantastic staff ,many thanks to Ivan in reception he could not have been more helpful, we booked a delux room but on arrival they gave us a free ugrade to a suit which was beautiful so warm and cosy you would not want to leave it, the bathroom had underfloor heating and was so clean, the only small issues we had was there is no lift but at only three storys high this did not cause us a problem but with someone with mobility issues you should ask for a groundfloor bedroom,also the bar was closed for renovation,but in saying that they served whatever we wanted in the dining room with its big open fire or in recpetion ,this is a small hotel that knows how to look after people and i would recomend to hotel to anyone looking for quality and service.

Room Tip: book a delux room best chance of getting upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saleenkildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Front Office Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are very happy to hear that your stay in one of our suites was very pleasant to you. Ivan will be very glad to hear that you have particularly appreciated his service. We hope that we could welcome you back very soon, once the renovation of the bar is completed, so you can enjoy very nice evening in our new Suite Lounge.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    68
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
283
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Absolutely loved staying at this Hotel located in the Old Town of Tallin for 2 nights just prior to Christmas.. Can not imagine staying anywhere else! Service was fabulous, rooms large, in character with the 800 year old building and furnishings definitely contributed to the old world atmosphere with all modern amenities. Had an extra bed put in our room which was no problem for the staff to do.
Ate dinner the first night in the restaurant by the fire which was delightful! Breakfast complete with complimentary champagne was delicious the first day (husband even tried the Estonian breakfast) but disappointing on the 2nd morning when no milk available. I did find this amazing that a 5 star hotel could run out of milk and not make a plan for getting some - obviously did not enter their mind to go to a nearby restaurant and buy some for their guests.
Really not good enough. Tried a nearby restaurant for dinner, literally 2 doors down the road the second evening and it was fantastic - Restaurant Ulvi Kook.
Despite "milk issue" still give them excellent rating due to location, quality of rooms and overall attention from polite and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imfundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Restaurant Manager M.C Grill at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We are more than happy to hear, that you have enjoyed the stay in our Schlössle Hotel.

Feedback from customers is always very much appreciated so thank you very much for taking the time for that.

Regarding the fact having no milk on the second day at breakfast is really sad to hear. Being a member of The Leading Hotels of The World it is not acceptable to have any mistakes. We will take this kind mentioning for consideration for future and try to do our outmost to pay special attention to all the details.

We like to say for entire staff thank you again and hope to see you back soon!


Best regards,

Maksim Ryndin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the Schloessle for several nights in October 2011. We were very pleased with our lovely large and beautiful room which was well appointed and very comfortable. The hotel was well located close to everything yet quiet, a blessing as the town can get very busy on weekends. We had a lovely meal at the restaurant though I wouldn't describe this as an absolute must-do if you are staying at the hotel. Breakfasts were lovely and the staff were incredibly friendly, courteous and helpful. One minor issue when we visited was that it was obvious staff were under intense scrutiny by management during service - unecessary in our view as the staff were amazingly good and wonderfully friendly - however it was clear there was incredible pressure on them to perform, which created an air of tension and anxiety for all present, including us. We would urge the hotel management to let their wonderful staff carry on doing the fantastic job they were diligently doing when we were guests at this lovely hotel. Watching someone standing one step behind the dining room staff reprimanding them for an "incorrectly" angled serving spoon at breakfast does not make for a relaxing start to the day - though we thoroughly applaud the hotel's service aspirations (and achievements!) Otherwise we could not fault this lovely, cosy, welcoming hotel and would recommend it highly. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the Schlossle Hotel. Thank for taking time to write us about your experience. It is the best way to see if service delivered to our guests is at their satisfaction.
We are very happy to hear that you found our staff incredibly professional and well mannered in terms of service provided to you. Although, I am sadden to hear you feel our management might be little too persistent to our employees in regards to perfection of service they deliver. We have learn among the ways, that for one of a kind experience and our guest true satisfaction, there is always ongoing training and development involved to be the best of what hospitality industry is to offer.

We truly hope to serve you soon and I will forward your warm greetings to our friendly staff!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My new husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel on our honeymoon, after reading positive reviews on trip advisor. We called in advance to discuss our stay and staff were very helpful and spoke perfect English. On arrival we were greated by helpful, friendly and efficient staff who were very smartly dressed. Our bags were taken to our room for us and we were offered a tour of our room and to have drinks delivered to us. Our room was beautifully decorated and was quite large, we had a nice bathroom with a bath and shower and were very happy with the supply of molten brown toiliteries and robes. The icing on the cake was that the hotel had left rose petals on our bed and long stem red roses, champagne, fruit and chocolates for us- which was the perfect start to our honeymoon! We were made to feel very welcome by everyone and were asked if we would like private use of the sauna, which was lovely! The lady at the front desk gave us a map of the city and gave good advice on what to see and do during our stay. The hotel is in the perfect location in the old town and walking distance to all of the attractions. Tallinn is a beautiful place and very romantic, with lots to see.
We had breakfast and an evening meal in the hotel restaurant, which is downstairs. The restaurant had medieval decor in keeping with old Tallinn and the staff again were very polite and efficient. The food was also excellent.
Overall, this hotel was the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I would love to return (perhaps on our wedding anniversary) for a spot of luxury and to experience such excellent service again.

Room Tip: If you are wanting any advice, do not hesitate to phone the hotel as the staff are very helpful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_DW_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Honeymooners!

With such excitement I was reading your comment you have left for us. Thank you for taking time to tell us about it. It is a real joy to the entire team to learn that your romantic gateway at Schlossle hotel has been a wonderful experience. Our staff loves the most providing excellent service to any guest staying at the hotel; however they are especially pleased to hear that their efforts have been highly appreciated. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to be part of your special occasion and we certainly hope to welcome you back for a spot of luxury, as you would say, in your awaiting wedding anniversary. Have a wonderful year ahead of you!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Spent three days over New Year in Tallinn, which (within the city walls) is a beautifully restored medieval city. The staff at the Schloessle were unfailingly helpful and thoughtful - nothing was too much effort for us. They were happy to help with tickets to a local concert, information celebrations and phone calls to try and find a restaurant for New Year's Eve. Finding a restaurant proved difficult since half of Tallin's restaurants closed early so staf could celebrate and the others were fully booked. In the end, though the hotel restaurant was already fully booked, the staff rearranged things to add an extra table for us.

The hotel is set just inside the city walls, and the lobby and restaurant are beautifully restored, the bare stone walls of this former warehouse creating a modern and luxurious feel. The bedrooms were less impressive - a little cookie-cutter - but very comfortable, with excellent bathrooms and immaculate service.

The Schloessle is within easy walking distance of everything in Tallinn and a wonderful base from which to explore; the restaurant is good, breakfast is exceptionally good by hotels standards. Only the slightly expensive price tag stops me giving it a fifth star.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terribleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience staying at Schlossle hotel for a lovely New Year period. I definitely have to agree with you that last minute bookings for restaurants over New Year’s can get quite expensive. This is the time of the year where we recommend our guests to secure their bookings quite in advance. Unfortunately the same applies also for room accommodations anywhere in town during this period of time. However I am very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and you find our staff helpful and thoughtful in every way.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel was kind of unique... a very friendly staff always ready to help and to serve you as comfortable as possible. The place is perfectly located in the old town and the whole hotel small but cozy with love for the detail. The rooms are not very big but very comfortable, the restaurant is excellent in every means. See you soon again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and appreciation of service you have received while staying with us. Thank you for noticing that Schlossle hotel is all about love to detail. See you soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We visited Tallinn with friends to experience the Christmas Market there and chose this hotel on the basis of its good reviews and location in the Old Town, just round the corner from Town Hall Square where the Christmas market was located. The hotel was excellent. It looks just like a house from the outside but inside is spacious and beautifully decorated, and when we visited even more so with tasteful Christmas decorations. The staff on reception were amazing throughout our stay - immaculately dressed (the men were in tailcoats with pale pink silk waistcoats) - and incredibly pleasant and helpful. They provided us with a complimentary hot drink whilst we waited for our room which was ready early and they also allowed us a late check out on our date of departure as our room was not booked. We had booked a deluxe room which was in a separate building dating from the 14th century at the back of the hotel. The room was well furnished in keeping with the building and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was modern with good quality complimentary toiletries. The breakfasts were very good - wide choice (including the ubiquitous English breakfast!) and cooked to order - and there was also a cold buffet of meats, cheese, fruits, cereal etc We didn't eat in the Stenhus restaurant although it looked very nice. It had just been moved up from the cellar where it was previously located, something not mentioned on the hotel website. This did mean there was no open fire which was the only disappointment for me. In fact if the hotel management read this then they should consider putting a fire in somewhere upstairs. All in all a wonderful stay. I should add that the Christmas market was very interesting. It was much quieter than the German markets and mostly sold local hand made goods including woollens and sheepskins. We even had some snow on several evenings which made it very Christmassy.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems make sure you inform the hotel as two of the deluxe rooms are up a ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Guest,

It is so great to read what a wonderful stay you had at the Schlossle Hotel! Please accept our big thank you, for taking time to share your experience with us. I am so happy that you found every detail pleasant, including amazing reception staff with immaculately dressed uniforms and nicely furnished and comfortable rooms to wide choice of breakfast adding great service on top.

Although, we are sorry to hear you couldn’t take the opportunity to dine in our restaurant but we hope that next time we can reserve you table right next to fireplace, located in main restaurant area, to make your stay even more perfect. I will share each comment you took a moment to post on tripadvisor with hotel staff. They love to be recognized for their good work, especially if guest has taken a moment to describe their stay in such detail. I and the entire hotel team thank you for staying with us and we certainly hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#8 of 85 in Tallinn
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Property: Hotel Schlossle
Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing