We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury i Tallinn”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed with five friends of mine for one night in quiet, spacious and beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived, all the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the MC Grill restaurant and almost everything was really good. We had to return our overcooked tunas back to kitchen and in addition to new portions that were fine we got a whole bottle of house red wine. All the other food was really tasty and the wine recommended was almost perfect.
Breakfast was five star quality with the warm breakfast menu and prosecco and fruits.
Unfortunately we didn*t have time to try the spa treatments but the spa menu seemed tempting.
From now on this is the hotel we are going to stay in Tallinn!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments you have taken your time to spear with us. It's wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the Schlossle Hotel very much. We certainly are more then glad to have such wonderful opportunity to welcome you back in near future as well. It has been real pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us.
Considering the fact that most of service provided during your stay has been very satisfying, I am saddened to hear that tuna you ordered while dining in M.C. Grill didn’t turn out to be cooked at perfection as it should be. Please except my apologies for this matter. However I am glad to hear that concern brought up was settled efficiently. I would like to forward big thank you from all the Schlossle team for shearing your experience with us. Have a great spring and we hope to see you soon!


Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Both Tallinn and the hotel are seriously pretty, historical and the people/staff are really welcoming. I really liked the historical decor, making the most of the features with antiques dotted around. We were upgraded and the room was very good size, well equipped and with Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom. We slept really well, the bed was very comfortable. The staff certainly try to be extremely helpful were very really knowledgeable about Tallinn and gave good recommendations on the sights to visit. The location is excellent - in the old town but just outside of the really touristy stuff.

Couple of niggling very minor things - more of a feedback to the hotel
The service tries very very hard to the point when it's a touch over formal. That may be just a culture difference and it is certainly nice to feel welcomed.
Breakfast - on the second day was relatively slow and items weren't getting refilled - this applied to basics like bread and butter which I found quite odd and was pleased to snatch the last roll whilst my partner got hold of the last piece of butter (this was before 10am with b/fast running up to 11am). If this was a cost saving measure - I would recommend taking Prosecco of the menu as it was warm and just getting wasted. Coffee and the cooked food was absolutely excellent.
Housekeeping - we started off with plentiful almost oversupply of towels which was constantly reducing via turndowns and room clean-ups to the point where we shared a towel on the second morning. That was a mystery to me.

That said - we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and the hotel is excellent standard.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such sincerely detailed feedback. With great pleasure I received your comment and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We highly appreciate your thoughts on every single aspect and all of it will be taken into account.
I am sorry that we failed to meet up with your expectations in regards to courtesy refilling buffet on time and lack of towels supplies in appropriate amounts. Never less such matters should not have occurred in first place, we are glad to find out were we failed to meet your expectations. We highly appreciate your feedback and would like you to rest sure that your comments have been followed up in detail. It has been great pleasure to welcome you to the Schlossle hotel and sure hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Having never traveled to Estonia, I spent a lot of time researching hotels within the Old Town. I do not regret the choice to stay at Hotel Schlossle. My husband and I traveled from Helsinki via ferry, and we were greeted promptly by our driver that we prearranged with the hotel. We were welcomed to the hotel by Martin and check-in was swift. The weather wasn't great, so we opted to stay and have lunch at the M.C. Grill. We sat in front of the fireplace and our server, Jana, provided us with tons of information about the hotel and Tallinn. She served us at breakfast the next morning and during our dinner that night. She was amazing! We would chat with her every time we walked through the restaurant, and she always asked what we had seen so far.

We decided to brave the rain and headed out on foot after getting an umbrella, very detailed map and many suggestions from the front desk staff. We just left a hotel in Helsinki that every bit of information they provided was incorrect, so it was wonderful to receive detailed and accurate tourist information.

Our Junior Suite was spacious, clean and had every comfort we could possibly need. We ate at the M.C. Grill at some point for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was delicious and there was a great variety. Meals were never rushed, and we always felt welcome to sit and talk as long as we wanted. It was a very relaxing weekend stop, and the perfect end to our travels.

This is a great small hotel in the heart of Old Town. If you're looking for a hotel that is responsive to your needs, has comfortable rooms, delicious food and on the doorstep of Old Town, you've found it!

Room Tip: Junior Suite, Room 11; Faced a back courtyard and was very quiet; Right off the restaurant up a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We simply can’t thank you enough for taking the time to shear your latest travel experience with us. We are so glad that research you did before booking hotel in Estonia justified your hopes for a wonderful stay in Tallinn.
Martin and Jana were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay to the last detail. They are great asset to our company and they defiantly know what hospitality industry is all about.
We hope to see you back soon. As beautiful as Tallinn can be in a rainy day, it sure has to offer much more to explore and see in a beautiful sunny days as well. We all are looking forward to welcome you to Schlossle hotel soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Nice small hotel with a family caring for guests.

Room

We were lucky and got an upgrade of suite No. 30. The attic room is furnished with antique furniture, spacious bathrooms with floor heating provides all the comfort. The bed was too soft my taste, because at home I sleep on the bed really hard. The first of three days that I stayed at the hotel, I took advantage of the weather and DVD in room, pleasant was in room coffee maker too.

Service

They are excellent. Care of the young staff is unobtrusive, they are helpful and their recommendations for restaurants in Tallinn are excellent.

Food

Breakfast is quite different from other hotel offers. Tables do not bow useless dishes. There are juices from fresh fruit, homemade yogurt and crunchy bread, salmon, dried fruits, sweets. A daily menu offering classic English breakfast, local specialties and ordinary omelet. Everything is plentiful and tastes fine.

Location

Near the old town, the sights and restaurants are minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience staying in Schlossle hotel. It is great to hear you have appreciated our kind gesture to upgrade you to one of our suites to make your stay even more enjoyable!

I have to agree that restaurant recommendations provided from our staff or top level. There are many times we have taken their suggestions ourselves and it has always justified our expectations in every single way. Tallinn has lots to offer in top class gastronomy.

We look forward so welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Encouraged by the hotel staff to write a review on TripAdvisor when I checked out, I'm doing just that. Lots of good things to say about the hotel, including:
- Good location not far from Old Town Square (on a quiet no-traffic cobblestone street)
- Quaint hotel in a very old building with modern updates
- Good size room with many conveniences (satellite TV, wardrobe, comfortable bed, heated bathroom floor, nice & reasonably spacious bathroom, etc.)
- Very attentive service

The hotel staff bend over backwards to help you out at this hotel. However, for my taste, the level of service is maybe a little too much for me. When a customer enters the room, the staff always stands and greets you, they open doors for you, wish you a good day, etc. While I greatly appreciate that the staff pays attention to its customers (so many hotels ignore you completely), it's just a little much for me. There are times when I want to go in/out & around the hotel without much fanfare. Some times it just feels a little stiff & formal in this hotel.

With these small nits, you won't go wrong with this hotel! It really is quite nice!

And, Tallinn is such a nice city! Small & manageable-- full of steeples & history. It can get a little touristy in the Old Town Square-- people dressed in costume outside restaurants to draw you in, over-priced Amber jewelry (imported from Lithuania, Poland, etc.), etc. But, if you look past this at this immaculate city you'll find a rather special place to visit.

Go. Enjoy. And, stay at the Schlossle. You won't go wrong!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Schlössle. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially when it’s as detailed as yours. Many of our guests appreciate to learn other guest’s comments before choosing Schlossle hotel to be their home away from home when traveling to this beautiful city.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel exceeded all our expectations we had concerning standard of 5 star hotel. We have travelled a lot and seen different kind of hotels with stars and without stars. We will cherish our visit here for the rest of our life, it was so exceptional for us. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and nothing could have been better as we had. A restaurant is perfect with a fireplace and I think we got the best table. Food was excelent, too. We got a feeling that we were VIP and we enjoyed it so much! Thank you, after our experience we don't even dream any another hotel in Tallinn, we will always come back to Schlossle.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelsinkiAlanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I just got notification of feedback you left for us on tripadvisor.com. It made my day! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to me and the staff that you took the time to shear it with us.

On behalf of entire staff I would like to thank you for your kind words. It is our pleasure to make you feel exceptional in every single way, so you could remember this warm feeling, as you would say for many years to come.

You couldn’t make use happier knowing that Schlossle is definitely your dream place to be! Please tell your friends about our hotel and come back soon to see us again.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We booked Schlössle's romantic getaway package for our wedding night. The package included one night in a suite, 4 course dinner in the suite or in hotel's restaurant Stenhus, a bottle of wine and transportation from and to to the harbour.
We are familiar with Schlössle's lovely restaurant Stenhus, but this was our first night at the hotel. We loved it!
The suite was beautiful and luxurious in a cosy way. Service was excellent. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kata35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so leased to hear you have enjoyed your romantic gateway in our beautiful surrounding of Schlossle hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you loved the luxurious rooms, dinner in our restaurant MC Grill and service to exceed your expectation. We very much look forward to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
940 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £125 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing