We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweating it out!”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Nyc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sweating it out!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a magical hotel, in a magical city.
You just can't stay here in the summer.
The heat is oppressive and although the staff is very kind, there is no way to solve no air conditioning.
Some of the 15th century windows won't open, creating an extremely uncomfortable situation.
There are many cooler choices in town!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tique60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindvest, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Schlössle. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Not having an air conditioning in rooms has been a problem from some time. As we have been looking to solve this for already more than a year I can see now, that hopefully this will be settled for next year spring. As you mentioned also in the review, that we have a unique historical building which in every mean is true and due to that some things are more complicated to change, but as I always thing, that nothing is impossible.

I am once again terrible sorry and hope to see you back in future at Schlössle!

Best regards,

Tendo Lindvest
Hotel Manager
E-mail: Tendo@schlossle-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    68
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
77
285
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

When we arrived at the Schlossel hotel it was rated number 1 and we could not figure out why. We booked 3 nights and left as early as we could the next day and moved to the still number 2 hotel, Telegraff.
Needless to say we felt we had lost and wasted a day in the hot and cramped 4th floor walk up room without air con and a bad odor of the plumbing.
The staff, although they ended up trying to be accommodating after our initial disappointment, still lacked a real understanding of what it means to be number 1 (or 2 or 3)
But it was really the place itself that was overrated and the food was marginal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norvel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindvest, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Schlössle. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

After more than one year working as Hotel Manager in Schlössle Hotel I can fully agree, that air condition is something which is needed and for the past year we have been working on that. Despite of cultural heritage injunctions we truly hope, that this problem will be solved for the beginning of next year Spring.
A problem, which was mentioned regarding the bad smell has been identified in the room you stayed and all old pipes will be changed to avoid it in future.

To be a top hotel in the city is never easy and guest reviews are always one of the major things which will help us all to improve.

I am once again terrible sorry and hope to see you back in future to get a chance to prove ourselves in different.

Best regards,

Tendo Lindvest
Hotel Manager
E-mail: Tendo@schlossle-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riihimäki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is situated in a best location you can think. Officers were all the time very friendly and helpfull. Your luggage were carried to your room and you get all help and advice you need.
Breakfast restaurant served very good and delicious breakfast and service was so friendly. Time to time you had to wait some missing things on puffet table.
I felt my self very relaxed after stayin in this hotel.
But if it's hot day, the rooms might be hot...

Room Tip: Room 13 quite small, room 14 bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pekka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

June 22nd, the temperature is 27 Celsius and there is no air conditioning (no elevator but we can deal with that), we are in a tiny so called junior suite (everything about 30sqmeters) with a tiny bathroom with no separate shower stall nor separate toilet, small closet too), it is part of the leading hotels, we did not expect this. Others talk about spacious rooms, the other ones I could visit were even smaller. Windows opening is difficult and gets you more street noise than ventilation. Very few electrical outlets but good wi-fi.
On the plus side, great charm, medieval house, tasteful period furniture, great staff with charming attitude too. You are told that air conditioning cannot be installed but another old city hotel, three sisters, has it. Also individual units do exist, right ?
Dinner in the courtyard was served by again charming and attentive staff. The very small menu has a mix of slow food movement cuisine ("perfect" egg slow cooked for hours a 65 degrees) and comfort food like burgers and club sandwiches. A few medium range wines selection to accompany it (or beer of course).
You can do better in this city. The service is indeed very good but you expect more from a hotel belonging to the leading hotels association
we moved the next day to three sisters hotel. btw staff in telegraaf hotels and three sisters all know about the problems: small to very small rooms, no ac, no improvement since opening.
Go if you must in a cool season.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, get a suite, everything is very small and do not come in warm months, no ac W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I will tell you exactly what happened to us at the Hotel Schlossle, and you can judge for yourself if it lives up to its hype:

We arrived at the hotel at 11:00 a.m. (check in time is 2:00 p.m.), were told that our room was ready and that they would let us use it 3 hours early if we were willing to pay an extra 75 Lats ($140.00). Think about this. Have you ever, ever been to a hotel which, rather than doing you the courtesy of letting into your room early if it was ready, charged you extra? We were shocked. I refused absolutely out of principle. At that, they said, "We could give you a discounted rate of 50 Lats ($93.00)...." We are talking a 5 star hotel here! We killed the 3 hours walking around Tallinn and returned to the hotel at 1:45. We sat looking at the people behind the desk. They sat looking at us. At 2:05 we asked when would we be "allowed" to go to our room? They replied that they were sorry but had made a mistake and that the room was not ready. We finally got into the room at 2:15.

Point #2: There is a garden with tables set up as a dining area right below the rooms in the back and one side of the hotel and which our room (and many others) overlooked. That night, a wedding reception was given in the garden. Ready for this? A very loud band played starting at 5:00 until 10:30. We called twice to complain (as, it turns out, did many other guests) Nothing was done. The next day the manager profusely apologized, said it was a mistake. The hotel has been there for years. Tell me that this has never happened before? Besides, a bistro is located in the hotel which uses the garden area, according to their literature, "In good weather," that would mean all summer long. No compensation of any kind was offered to us.

Points 3-10:
--We were not greeted at the door when we arrived and had to carry our own bags in
-- the desk clerks were so unfamiliar with the town that twice, when we asked for directions to two different places, they sent us blocks the wrong way (once the place we were looking for was 10 doors up the street!)
-- the hotel has no elevator
--you cross through the dining room to get to the hotel rooms
--the furniture in the rooms was somewhat worn
--there is no air-conditioning
--the bathroom sink had a distinct sewer smell.

Judge for yourself if this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel has the best service I have experieced in my travels both within Europe and the US. The staff is both friendly and very helpful! While we were there I got some work related papers which needed my signature and they helped with getting the papers with my signature where needed. Also if we wanted something they did not have on the menu they did their best to help us out.

Room Tip: Room 14 is slightly larger than room 13 and has a bathtub instead of a shower :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our fairy tale stay at the Hotel Schlossle, perfectly situated in the magical town of Tallinn. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised by an upgrade to a suite. The room was beautifully appointed, spacious, and immaculate. Breakfast was included and served in a dining room, which looked like it belonged in Camelot. The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to all who appreciate old world charm. This facility is definitely more suitable for couples on a romantic getaway rather than families.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PomMom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Property: Hotel Schlossle
Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing