We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and would stand up whenever we entered the lobby. They offered us a drink and small snack while we checked in. The room was very clean and quiet. We had plenty of space. It did get a little warm at night but nothing to keep one from sleeping. The food was very good and we had dinner here one evening and breakfast every day. The location is nice and most sites are a short walk away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great comment! Thank you very much for such nice feedback. Our team was very happy to hear how much you have appreciated your stay with us and that you certainly would come back again. There is no better reward to anyone working in hospitality industry then happy and satisfied guest. Have a nice upcoming holiday season and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    68
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
283
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel service is excellent, staff really friendly, very clean, and beautiful atmosphere. Right In the middle of the city center, excellent location. Very comfortable rooms. You can go to the sauna in the mornings, that has lovely location underneath the ground, like in a cave. Breakfast really nice. If you go to Tallinn, do not doubt to stay at this hotel. We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely comment in regards to your recent stay at Hotel Schlössle. It is our pleasure to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your greetings to our staff who will be certainly encouraged by your remarks. We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Service, location, furniture, atmosphere belongs to the best standards in Tallinn. I have stayed there twice and always in the garden house room no 19, which is topic for potential ghost activity. Indeed this room is very, very cosy, but the feeling inside is different then in another hotel rooms I have been. Cant explane, but this absolutely nothing bad. This room I can recomend for persons who believe in paranormal things. Something happens there sometimes...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great comment! Room 19 indeed is a special room and many of our guests love to stay there. For many years now Hotel Schlössle, frequently referred as medieval mansion, has a tail of haunted room where ghost at times moves the furniture. Only rests to say, that sometimes mystery indeed can have it's ways that no one can explain...

Thank you very much for the lovely greeting and compliments in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to room 19 very soon.

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Definitely a 5* hotell in a hundreds years old building with beautiful interiors and nice atmosphere. The staff was welcoming, polite and very friendly. We had a superior room, and the room service was excellent with morning and evening cleaning. Breakfast was a beautiful moment with good food partly serviced to a table. The hotel was full of perfect details: flowers on tables at halls and stairways, fresh-pressed juices and delicious cheeses and fruits for breakfast, ipad in a room, welcoming tee or coffee, chockolate and bottle of mineral water waiting on the bed table in the evening etc. The bed was nice to sleep, no any noise during nights. The location is great in the old town of Tallinn. I warmly recommend this hotell for romantic, relaxing and high quality overnights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was great pleasure to have you stay with us. We can not thank you enough for such generous comments in regards to your recent stay at Hotel Schlossle. Your eye for the detail is truly exceptional. I will forward your warm greetings to all of our team as they love to hear how much our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolle, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff! A very comfortable hotel with lovely rooms in an historic building in the centre of the Tallinn old town. During the cold seasons the open fire in the restaurant is lovely. I am a regular visitor and find the central location in the old town perfect for sightseeing as well as business meetings. Hotel car plus driver is also a great service for arranging a pick-up/drop-off to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the nice comments and pointing out highlights of your stay. Have to agree that open fire in the restaurant is very lovely indeed. Many of our guests feel the same way and we are certainly looking forward to see you soon!

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Planned romantic trip to Tallinn and decide to go 5 star hotel where we have been years ago, probably most expensive and situated at old town.
Booked throw internet Junior suite to have room and pre-booked also sparkling wine and transport included from harbour.

I arrived to harbour, driver waiting with sign and had nice drive with limousine to hotel, there had friendly welcome by doorman, or what could call Anthony who also fixed problems at room, took orders, showed sauna and carry luggages, Anthony was excellent and made us feel welcome. Also receptionist Diana step up from staff and restaurant waitress, overall young staff did their job, expect second morning workload was probably too much, forgot our order for warm plate and very tight feeling made morning breakfast not so pleasant, felt like disturb them when asked where is our food or third time asked can get bread, butter runout, wasnt make anymore problems so we manage without, Sunday breakfast was bad start for morning, reception when chekout felt strange, have to stand front of desk and staff tried to stand and sametime tried to work with computer, also when arrived its clomsy way to do all check-in, have to speak loud from far, okey got coffee when arrived but check-out when we waited this process and taxi half hour sitting there it made sunday after bad breakfast even more unpleasant.

Room was ok, nothing to see outside, backyard, Friday Anthony fixed broken lamp, Saturday Anthony was there too when came electricity problem, coffee machine, tv, dvd, minbar where too much for 1 socket, minibar burned and broked, when I told this at chekout, they didnt understand or cared, didnt even apolizige problem, this could expect when its 5 star hotel.

Had sauna Friday, its outside, difficult stairs, there shower didnt stayed on place, but Anthony fixed that too....

overall comfortable bed, nice dinner area with old building feeling, expensive but good food, but breakfast, sunday morning egg benedict were joke, never saw that kind thing, salad and bacon slice on side of plate, then bread piece and top egg, just white egg, sauce didnt taste... Saturday totally different and tasty egg benedict made correct way also saturday morning totally different service, friendly and made you special as these prices should... but all kind small stuff, broken minibar, bad breakfast, halfhour just waiting taxi... average feeling, shame we looked forward a lot this trip and when travel about 3-4 time per year to Tallinn, thought that this is place where visit again and again.. and had nice memory from past.

Lounge at basement has nice fireplace, night time its like disco with dj, area of hotel are peaceful, but very near centre of old town and walk distance of everything

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Schlössle. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Never the less concerns you described comes as a surprise, as we constantly train our employees to provide same quality service in regards to every aspect of the hotel operations.

However I am glad to hear Anthony has been very helpful. He is indeed great member of our team.

At Hotel Schlössle, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Mara Blaubarde
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere a little bit different during our weekend in Tallinn, and when we saw the great reviews on Trip Advisor we thought we'd exceed our usual accommodation budget and give Hotel Schlossle a go. "A little bit different" it certainly is.. the hotel is located in 13th and 14th century buildings which have been decked out true to the historic period. When you walk in the front door you really do feel like you're somewhere special. Our superior room was large and included sitting chairs, an iPad and a desk, though the bed was a little bit hard to our liking (but things like that are all personal preference..). The L'occitane bathroom products were a nice touch. As mentioned by other reviewers the service was exceptional, you couldn't ask for more polite and helpful staff. It was nice to receive a welcome drink after arriving inside from the cold, and the breakfast was of a high standard.
My only gripes aren't really the fault of the hotel. Unfortunately the guests in the room above us were very noisy after returning at 1am and continuing to party in their room. If you're staying in a building from medieval times I guess you can't expect much in the way of sound insulation, but it did make for a sleepless night for me. Also the small doorways, again a hallmark of the period - if you're tall, beware. I very nearly concussed myself walking out of the room one morning, and I still have a very tender lump on my forehead!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was nice to hear how charming you found hotel to be. Thank you for this lovely note. Although I am saddened to hear your night sleep was interrupted due to noise above, we are very thankful for your patience and understanding. Maintaining building from medieval times can be charming and challenging at times indeed. We are very much looking forward to welcome you to Schlössle hotel once more.

Best regards,

Mara Blaubare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#8 of 85 in Tallinn
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Property: Hotel Schlossle
Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing