We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel which lived up to expectations”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Schlossle. We tend to research hotels before booking a trip like this and the hotel was everything we expected. Our room was upgraded to room 21 on the second floor-it was very comfortable and we could not fault it in any way although I don't know how the original category of room would have compared. This is exactly the smallish elegant, restored traditional type of hotel we look for. The service was impeccable and the breakfast buffet ( plus cooked main course) would be hard to beat. We did not sample the dinner menu which is served in the same stylish diningroom. We were intrigued by the two boards at the foot of the stairs leading to our room which has numerous engraved plaques giving the names and dates of visits by numerous politicians, dignitaries and rock stars who have stayed here in the last ten years or so. If it is good enough for the likes of Bryan Adams, Whitesnake and Joe Cocker-it's good enough for me!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunvegan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

To read your review has been a true joy. Thank you for taking the time to tell such nice compliments not just to our team overall but also to every guest visiting us in near future. Everyone loved your comment in regards to Rock stars staying at the hotel, although you and every other guest has always been and always will be royalty to be treated to best of our knowledge. We love to do what we do which is to give lifetime memories to each and everyone of our guests. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be part of your great travel adventures. We are very glad you truly enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back on day!

Sincerely Yours,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at this fine hotel in Tallinn. We had booked a junior suite, but were upgraded to a regular suite (room #30) when we arrived. Our room was very nice. The linens and towels were excellent and the accessories in the bathroom were very good (Gilchrist & Soames soap and shampoo was a nice touch). The bed was comfortable and our room was very clean. The staff is excellent and breakfast was wonderful. Hotel Schlossle is a fine establishment and we enjoyed our stay there.

The reasons that I did not give this 5 stars was personal, so it might not effect your decision in booking this hotel are as follows ...
1. The walk up the stairs after a day of walking around Tallinn was something I could have done without. It was 57 steps up and down the stairs whenever we left our room or returned to it.
2. Our room was basically the attic and I hit my head several times on the sloping ceiling (maybe because I'm tall and perhaps clumsy).
3. It was hot in our room. The AC had not been activated and yet it was almost 90 degrees fahrenheit while we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ase1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello and thank you for positive feedback. We are happy, that you loved the hotel and our rooms. Our hotel is under protection of heritage and that is the reason why there is not allowed to built an elevator. But our 24h porters are ready to help with the luggage etc.
This year in Tallinn summer temperature arrived much earlier, breaking heat records all over the country. Luckily our air con renovation works will be ready by the end of this month, so in every room we will have upgraded version and lots of cool air.
Should you plan a new trip to Tallinn, then feel free to contact us. Would be more than happy to accommodate you again in our lovely hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you want a boutique, stylish 5 star hotel you won't go far wrong with the Schlossle. It has a unique feel and amazing character, given the age of the building. Breakfast was also wonderful, as were the staff.

Room Tip: Room 10 overlooks the front on the first floor, and is a lovely suit split over two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello,
Thank you for a positive feedback and maximum score. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay with us and you also brought out our lovely staff.
If you plan a trip to Tallinn, then let us know and we will be more than happy to help you.
Till next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We are very happy and satisfied with our stay at Schlossle hotel! We planned for the stay and dinner/party from Sweden and was only able to communicate through e-mail. However, the staff got all the details spot on and even if we had high expectations the service exceeded our expectations. They had arranged a splended private event for us and our friends (18 pers) in the vaults. This made our party perfect!
We appricate all of the service from Schlössle side and recommend everyone to stay at Schlössle.

Thank you Schlössle!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herman343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello
Thank you so much for good feedback and maximum score. We appreciate a lot and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy that that we managed to exceeded your expectations and special event was a hit.
Our staff is thankful and wish you all the best for the future. If you plan another trip to Tallinn, then let us know. We would be more than happy to accommodate you here again. Welcome back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We enjoyed a very comfortable 3-night stay in a deluxe room here in April 2012. The hotel has a lovely warm and homely feel to it and the location and breakfast were very good. While our room displayed some unique historic features, some would have found it very small by 5 star international standards.

While we originally booked with the hotel directly, we subsequently noticed an identical rate more than 10% cheaper on a third-party booking site. Rather than match this cheaper rate the hotel politely advised us to cancel our existing booking and rebook on the third-party site. This we did, thereby availing of the cheaper rate! A somewhat cumbersome solution I thought...!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you first of all for such kind note and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience while staying at Schlössle. I am saddened to hear that reservation wasn't handled as it should have been for you in first place. Please rest assured I will look into it in details why you have been advised to book through third party other then with same rate directly. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations or any other questions you might have. In regards to the size of room. Some of our rooms indeed are not as big as we would love them to be due to the size of this historical building to begin with, however if you do have any future preferences I will do my best to accommodate you in the rooms suitable to your taste and likes. We hope to see you back one day but till then sending you many greetings from the entire team. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely yours,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in April. Beautiful hotel, lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Location is great. Staff are very accomodating, nothing is too much trouble. I would say one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in and would definitely love to return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JAM011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,

What a great note. Thank you for the numerous compliments and most of all thank you for choosing Schlössle hotel as your home away from home. We are very much looking forward to see you back, but till then have a great spring season and many other travels as great as this one to come.

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our second stay at Schlössle so we weren't as surprised about the service and, well, everything, as on the first stay. The pick-up from the airport was flawless even though we arrived a bit before the check-in time, our room was upgraded to junior suite at the reception for no fee and the luggage was carried to our room.

Now, the minor - very minor - nitpicking. In the evening, when I wanted a beer from the minibar, there was no bottle opener. I searched for one, my wife searched for it - it was not there. No problem, reach for the luggage and get my own multitool with a bottle opener. The thought never occurred to us but had we called the reception, I guess the reception would have been knocking on the door about three nanoseconds after putting down the receiver. By the way, on Saturday a bottle opener was brought to the room without asking.

The coffee-maker in the room didn't actually produce hot coffee or water, only warm. Then again, I don't think that can be blamed on the hotel. The coffee was good, by the way, but it had to be drunk before it went cold.

The sound insulation between the room and the corridor isn't that good. However, I doubt the hotel is very much frequented by stag or hen parties noisily arriving from pub crawls at all hours. It certainly didn't make us lose any sleep, just something we noticed.

Kitchen? Yes, from very good to excellent. Both dinner and breakfast are great.

Location? Top-notch. Close to the center of the old town, yet just off the noisiest, most frequented areas.

Reception? Beyond any description but I'll still make a feeble attempt. Imagine an absolutely courteous service that gives you an impression that they're in it not for just the money but are genuinely friendly. Then improve that a bit. (By the way, this also applies to the waiters in the restaurant.) E.g. when I asked whether they could print our boarding passes if I sent them via email and then did not immediately go and collect the boarding passes, they were brought to our room.

What else? Well, the iPad in the room was nice. The Wi-Fi is fast. Our return transport to the airport left on schedule.

Overall I think I could say I was very happy with the stay at the hotel. But I think that anybody reading this already got the general idea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We can't express enough how much we appreciate every single compliment sent our way! Kind feedback like yours is driving force to anyone at the hospitality industry. We are very glad you have truly enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out details we still could improve at. The entire hotel team is sending you warm greetings and looking forward to welcoming you back next time. Have a wonderful beginning of the spring and many nice travels ahead.

Sincerely yours,

Mara Blaubarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £130 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing