We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really great”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

wonderful location in old town but not busy street. Medieval stone walls look fake and cutesy in photos but are real. Our room had outside of circular stair, same circular stone wall visible in dining room. Front desk staff extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast (eggs benedict especially) very tasty.. Summer dinner in courtyard with music very plea ant. There five nights, loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theprofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Schlössle Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    68
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
283
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am perhaps giving the hotel credit for natural Estonian charm, courtesy, helpfulness and friendliness. We were greeted at the desk by two of the most helpful receptionists in the hotel industry. We ordered drinks in the grotto-styled bar and enjoyed a buffet breakfast with made-to-order hot dishes. The room was beautifully appointed and quiet. The location in the Old Town could not have been better. We loved Tallinn and this hotel was a big reason for it! We were here with a family including teens, but this would be a wonderful destination for couples, families (although there is nothing specifically child-centered) and for groups of friends looking for a great place to meet.

Room Tip: Our family had two rooms overlooking the cobblestone street in front of the hotel. We were aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pineGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

What a great review! Thank you fr taking the time to share you wonderful memories whit travelers around the world. We could not feel more special knowing our hard work and efforts have been appreciated to the last detail. Thank you for staying with us and for recommending Hotel Schlössle to your friends and family! Have a great holiday season and hope to see you back already soon!

Sincerely yours,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is in the old town and sprawls to several nicely renovated really old buildings around courtyard. Be prepared to use stairs when moving around. We stayed in a junior suite (nr. 2) with plenty of space. Our bedroom was quiet and air-conditioned. The bathroom was exceptionally spacious. The breakfast was excellent and the restaurant very cosy. I did not notice any room for improvement, oh well maybe it was a bit pricey ...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to read your lovely review. Thank you for the numerous compliments as we could not be more pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back sooner then later and thank you once more for taking time to share this experience with us.

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a pretty boutique hotel in the old town and almost in the city square. Within a short walk there are shops, cafes and street entertainers. We stayed in this unique hotel for 3 days and we had a memorable stay. The room was extremely clean and very well presented. It overlooked the courtyard where we enjoyed our breakfasts. The breakfasts were extremely good with a wide choice. We were served by a very polite and pleasant young lady. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Those in the reception area stood whenever they see guests. What a polite guesture, unique to Tallinn or to this hotel. Either way we noticed the polite manners of these reception staff. I have no hesitation in recommending this fantastic hotel to all who visit Tallinn. Professor David Thambiratnam, Brisbane, Australia.

Room Tip: Choose a room overloking the beautiful courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Professor Thambiratnam,

What a great honer it was to read your comment. It has been our pleasure to welcome you to Schlössle hotel and thank you for choosing Hotel Schlössle as your home away from home. Our service indeed is more personalized and attention to detail is at high importance to serve you and our other guests to best of our ability. You deserve to be pampered while on holiday and I could not be more pleased to read that this is exactly what you have felt like. We hope to see you back soon and wish you wonderful summer ahead.

Sincerely yours,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As an international airline pilot, I get the privilege to stay in numerous 4-star hotels across the globe. And so I am well aware of what to look for in hotel standards since I stay in them every week of my working life. I was unfamiliar with Estonian hotels, and took a chance by choosing through Priceline.com and their star rating. My family stayed a total of 4 nights at the Schlossle Hotel, and we could have not been more pleased! I have finally witnessed the difference between a 4 star and 5 star rating: Impeccable service and attention-to-detail coupled with stunning architectural restoration and decor; fabulous food (breakfast buffet with hot entree) included in the price; and a location in the heart of Old City Tallinn that could not be beat! The genuine hospitality and professional courtesy shown by hotel staff Jan, Stefan and Rem were unmatched, and I personally would like to take this opportunity to thank them for making my family's trip to Estonia a very memorable one. We came all the way from California, USA, for this first-time visit to Estonia, and we can certainly say this much: You cannot go wrong by choosing the Schlossle Hotel in Tallinn!

Room Tip: Room 18 had a rustic period vintage wood ceiling that made it very cozy. Room 11 was simply elegant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest,

What a fantastic way to start the day by reading your wonderful feedback. Could not be more proud of our team right now. Everyone of them could not praise highly enough. Thank you so much for such a great review and taking time to tell the world what a great stay you had. Stefan, Jan and Rem are sending you greetings and send personal thank you for mentioning them in particular. Comment card you left in room was read out loud in our weekly meeting, as positive comments like yours are especially motivating to our team assuring what a great work they do. We hope you have many wonderful travel experiences ahead and certainly look forward to welcome you back soon!

With best wishes,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Schlossle on many occasions. I have always been very happy with my room: large, impeccably clean, well appointed, spacious bath with quality toiletries and plush towels. Breakfast, likewise, is excellent. The buffet is well stocked with all typical items and there is also an a la carte menu to order from.

But, as seems to happen every time I go to Estonia in the summer, I am there during a heat way. The rooms have no ventilation at all. The only option is to open the window which allows all of the street noise to enter. The choices; open the window and hear street noise or close the window and sweat.

I sincerely hope that this otherwise very high quality hotel will one day add an effective cooling system to their rooms. As a final minor criticism, the hotel staff could smile a little more. Being Estonian myself, I know how stoic Estonians can be. But, a smile goes a long way in making a stay more pleasant. In conclusion, I will continue to stay at the Hotel Schlossle whenever I visit Tallinn. Maybe I'll just visit at times other than the summer.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a courtyard side room in teh summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelin-Star-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice review. You taking time to tell us about your experience is highly appreciated.
To get back to your comment on hot summer months when visiting Estonia, have to say you must have visited us either in June or earlier. For the past months we have been working hard to change things around and now proudly can say every single room at the hotel is equipped with fully functioning air conditioning system. We cant wait to welcome you back in hottest summer months, so you could enjoy your stay even better. Thank you once more for your loyalty and great compliments received.

Have a great summer ahead and all our best from the entire team.

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was one of the places that some gentlemen told us about and said to check it out. We went to have a cappucino in their lounge and check out the ambience! Wow, what a place!! The wait staff was super.... the lounge wasn't open for business but still got us cappucino's and even brought us a small tray of delectible treats to have with!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, General Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for stopping by at the Suite Lounge and for leaving such nice comment on tripadvisor.com. Hotel Lounge is really unique place creating wonderful atmosphere that's hard to match. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward to see you back any time.

Have a great day and wonderful summer ahead.

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#8 of 85 in Tallinn
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Property: Hotel Schlossle
Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing