We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Schlossle Hotel is a jewel of Tallinn, Estonia”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #14 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
“The Schlossle Hotel is a jewel of Tallinn, Estonia”
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Beautiful Tallinn, Estonia is fortunate to have a jewel - The Schlossle Hotel. Beautifully historic, superior dining (wonderful chef!) and a truly great staff. What a lovely and charming experience from the moment you enter.

Kay and Dave Phillips (US Ambassador, retired)

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerkayroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    66
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
73
281
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lissabon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Wonderful welcoming staff and a beautiful atmosphere - when I come to Estonia I love this place also because of the great location!Just luxurious homely feeling in the Old Town!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We stayed at the Schlossle from May 14 to May 17, 2009. The hotel is located in an old historic building in the middle of the old town which is a perfect starting point to sightseeing and shopping. The staff is incredible, rooms are large and clean and Tallin's best restaurant (Stenhus) is located in the basement. I can understand why they have an extensive list of celebrities who have stayed at the hotel: As one of a very few places I have stayed, the staff remembered our room number and recognised us - making us feel "at home". I will highly recommend the hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2008

It was a fantastic, wonderful two nights stay in Schlössle Hotel! The perfect service, Rooms very elegant ... and great to sit on the log fire in the lobby with friends and drink something. The breakfast very delicous! We enjoy the intimate atmosphere and say many special thanks to the General Manager and his team!

We will come back!


Rainer, Heike and Julia Kibbel and friends!
from Kiel Germany

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heinrich89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

For a get-away with wife and parents to celebrate a birthday we selected the Schlössle hotel. Two reasons for us to chose this hotel: we wanted to be in the middle of the old town and we wanted to avoid the chain hotel standardization of service and atmosphere.
Let me first say that the atmosphere is brilliant! We stayed in the building in the courtyard which was from the 15th century - no straight corners and angles and seeing my wife on the very steep and narrow staircase to the 1st floor in high heels was an amazing site. The room was not large, had a good bed a smallish bathroom with little space for toileteries and the standard little desk. There was a TV with DVD-player on offer, but we did not use it. The Ethernet cable for the Internet connection was v-e-r-y short and we did not get it to work either. In the basement there was a sauna that could be reserved.

Breakfast service was very good and the choice good, but not great. all the normal stuff you would expect plus hot dishes cooked on order.

For a weekend get-away this hotel was great: to be in the middle of the old town, romantic rooms, big log fire in the lobby, breakfast in the cellar vaults. Staff speaks good English and was very service friendly in arranging what was needed.

But I would not go there for business as there were no fitness facilities and the hotel room was pretty small. This also not a hotel for the disabled with lots of stairs up and down.

Also I did not like the "welcoming letter from management", which turned out to be a promotion letter for the in-house restaurant...

Last thing - it is expensive....

  • Liked — Location, romantic setting, service
  • Disliked — Expensively priced, heavy promotion of restaurants and other places in same Group
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Abundance_of_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

The rooms were beautiful with crisp linen bedding. Location was fabulous, and easy to walk from to anything. We felt incredibly comfortable with the concierge and their ability to direct us or arrange a car etc. The food was fabulous for in site dining, and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. Overall worth every penny.

  • Liked — The location of the hotel
  • Disliked — internet wasn't visible - but we also didn't ask!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Traveller071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel - the first was 7 years ago, when it stood out as the best hotel in town. The 14th century charm of the building and the list of names of celebrities who stayed here create a certain mystique. The reality is not quite so attractive. Our "suite" was an L-shaped attic with only one functioning window and a few bolted down triangular ones, perennially dark. The bathtub was chipped, and there was a head-sized construction hole in one of the walls, unfinished electric work.

The breakfast was not as lush as it was 7 years ago, and the staff was strangely inept. They forgot to send a car that I ordered to the airport, forgot to make a wake-up call, tried to send us to a wrong harbor for the ferry, etc. At 3 am the garbage bins were wheeled out of their cobblestone courtyard, waking up guests and providing a topic for breakfast conversation the next morning. After 2 nights of this I went to the GM, and they stopped. They also gave us a free ride to the ferry.

This hotel has been overtaken by others in the city. Next time in Tallinn we will stay in a place with some real luxury, not in htis rapidly fading relic.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#8 of 83 in Tallinn
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Property: Hotel Schlossle
Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing