We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly mixed feelings about this hotel”
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Slightly mixed feelings about this hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel in the middle of a real heat wave in mid-July. To my complete surprise and disappointment, the hotel has no air conditioning. Needless to say, but this did result in us minimizing the amount of time spent in our otherwise very nice, spacious, and romantic room, as it was very hot there. I must say that I would have expected that a five-star hotel has air conditioning in place, but obviously installing it into such an old building with very thick, medieval walls is not easy. Fortunately, the hotel had brought a fairly efficient fan into our room that at least enabled us to sleep for a few hours until the room became very hot again early in the morning.

The hotel has a superior location in the always-charming Old Town of Tallinn. You are really close to many of Tallinn's excellent restaurants, lounge bars, cafes, shops and shopping centers, and a number of other tourist attractions. The hotel staff was very friendly and always willing to help when needed. Also, I wish to emphasize that the overall interior design of the hotel is very, very nice - you feel like stepping into a romantic, exciting, and charming medieval castle with modern infrastructure and services (well, with the exception of that air conditioning...). The hotel building seems to be well maintained and its facilities (including our room as the most concrete example) are very clean.

We did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel, but we did have the breakfast in the morning on the day of our departure. The overall taste and quality of the breakfast was excellent and everything was served nicely with one very disappointing exception - some of the breakfast ingredients were notably absent at the buffet table when we went there and that was not even close to the end of the breakfast time. The staff did not do anything to replace those empty plates/trays at the buffet table. Not something I would have expected in a five-star hotel.

In spite of some disappointments discussed above, I still dare to say that we both liked this hotel and will go there again, but certainly not during summer time simply because of the lack of air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoSHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    68
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
77
286
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Well, love discovering gems not so well-known to others but in fairness I ought to share. We just returned from trip in the Baltic area and stayed two nights in this hotel. Maybe it was the particular(ly nice) room; maybe it was the warmth of the people, maybe it was the wonderful breakfast, who knows -- but my husband and I agreed that (though we have stayed in some top hotels all over, Paris, Rome, Greenbrier, Negresco in Nice, etc) this was perhaps our favorite hotel experience of all. Everything thought of -- even a little candle with matches in the bathroom just in case. The waiter in the restaurant held up the glasses to the light to check them out before using. Everyone was as helpful and friendly as they could be, and hotel offered us to provide their own car to take us to the bus station (yes, we took a bus from there to St. Petersburg -- a bit of an adventure). To summarize--we were charmed--upscale without any of the upscale snootiness which makes us often less than completely comfy at some upscale hotels. If and when we get to return to Estonia, we will make a beeline without a second thought. Simply the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesdroits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Tallinn is often hot in summer (30 degrees is not unusual) but this hotel is not airconditioned. Our room was very warm, and we had to keep the window open at night. This meant that we were disturbed by street noise all night (the Old Town is full of pubs and we heard lots of singing, shouting etc) and we slept badly. The mattress was old and very worn out. The armchair and footstool were also in poor condition. The bathroom was tiny. And we had a "deluxe" room. The wifi signal in the room was poor, too, though better downstairs.

So we did not consider this a five-star hotel by any means and very poor value for money.

The positives are the hotel location, the friendly staff, and the good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandenburg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

It was not our first stay in Tallinn, but it was a stay to remember! The hotel really gave us a chance to experience the ambience of the city from inside. It´s a very authentic old buillding with all the little details beautifully restored and represented. We were absotutely charmed by the elegance and cosyness of our room and it was very comfortable. It was so nice to come back to our cosy and welcoming room after a stroll through Old Tallinn streets. It gave us such an amasing home-like feeling. The staff was very well trained, they really did a great job providing us with all we needed inside and outside the hotel.
Schlössle was definitely a perfect choice, we definitely recommend it and would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyF74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2010

The hotel is located in the heart of the old town but is tucked away from the main shopping areas. All shopping areas are within a 10 minute walk and the building itself is quite small and inconspicuous.
We were welcomed by friendly staff who checked us in very efficiently and carried our bags up to our rooms.
The rooms were very spacious and tastefully furnished. The staff member who attended us showed each of us how various switches worked, explained that there was free Wifi in the hotel (and gave us the password) and gave a brief summary of the services offered by the hotel - shoe cleaning, laundry, room service etc.
The lobby contained a wealth of information about the town, including a very useful town map.
Upon studying the menu for the restaurant (looked good, if a little old fashioned) we decided to opt for a lighter option in town and asked for local recommendations. Several places were suggested within a short walk from the hotel.
Altogether a very relaxing stay, my smoking colleague was particularly pleased she was able to smoke in the 'cigar lounge'!
A lot of stairs to the bedrooms, I'm not sure if there was a lift as I didn't see one in the few days I stayed there.
All in all highly recommended and I would love to go back on a leisure trip rather than just a business one.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixpitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalajoki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We have stayed in Schlössle many times and we always come back. Hotel is beautiful and service is great. They have an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rautio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Booked this hotel for a 4 night stay based partly on other reviews and we weren't disappointed. A Beautiful small hotel right in the middle of the historic old town with warm comfortable rooms and first class service. Tallinn is a very picturesque town - altough very cold in February! - and this was an ideal spot to return to for some warmth and a warm drink.
Would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Property: Hotel Schlossle
Address: Puehavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RE-OPENING ON 1ST OF JUNE 2016 The Schlössle Hotel can be found on Holy Spirit Street, with its picturesque cobblestones, numerous historic storage buildings and merchant houses dating back to the 13th century. The Schlössle Hotel, is steeped in history and over the centuries has seen numerous owners, among them members of Tallinn's most distinguished patrician families. Located between the old harbour and the Old Town Square, it offers a prime location to explore Tallinn and a city today classified as a UNESCO World heritage site. The luxury five star Schlössle hotel reflects its unique history with lots of original features in its elegantly appointed bedrooms, public areas, all combined with the latest technology and comfort. In the hotels gourmet restaurant you can discover cuisine reflecting the best of Nordic culinary traditions, and if you are just looking for a casual drink or a private event the Suite lounge in the historical cellars offers the perfect cosy atmosphere. During the summer months the hotels opens its romantic external courtyard terrace, with live music every evening. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing