We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel - could not fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Petersbourg Hotel
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - could not fault it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Super hotel, super service, super location! The hotel staff could not be faulted and the breakfast was plentiful and varied. Even the hot food was made to order and delicious. The hotel has 2 very different restaurants. We did not try the formal Russian restaurant but the atmosphere, staff and food at the more rustic Estonian restaurant was excellent. We notice that many reviews complain of the absence of tea making facilities in the room which is standard in Europe. However, I asked before we arrived and, true to their word, there was a kettle, cups and tea bags in the room when we arrived!
Best advice we were given before our visit was to "go when snow is on the ground or, at least, when there is a nip in the air". We had both the snow and the nip in the air but these only added the enjoyment of a delightful city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    192
    34
    5
    7
See reviews for
119
435
57
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Great time and a great stay at this hotel. Everyone saying it is the perfect location is correct.
Tallinn suits the snow too and though cold it was perfect! It has to be one of the jewels of Europe. Thought the stags and hens rumours might ruin it but really nothing much in evidence on that score. The only criticism of the Hotel is the pillows. Flat as a pancake and not good for neck sufferers. PLEASE CHANGE THEM! Staff are good and dressing up in national costume seems to be aTallinn pastime! It's all good fun. In 4 days, soaked up everything from opera to a submarine. It is PACKED with restaurants and cafes. Must be hell in summer! Go now before the temperature goes up!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LesBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Overall it's a very nice hotel. We occupied junior suite as there were no empty standard rooms for a very early check-in.
Among minuses - no tea/coffee facilities in the room, uncomfortable pillows (there is additional in wardrobe), a bit cold in bathroom. 10min walking distance from Tram Station (Balti Jaam) so if you have a heavy luggage it's better to catch a taxi.
Among pluses - in the heart of the Old City, a lot of restaurants in 3-5min walking distance, big size of the room, very polite staff (speaking english, estonian, russian), prompt reaction for all questions, nice interior. 10 minutes from shopping mall with product super market. There is storage room for luggage. Very, very quiet inside and no noise from the street.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunikitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Very comfortable room with everything we needed (apart from a kettle which would have been a bonus!). Service was excellent - all very friendly and heplful. Breakfast was a real treat - small, quite restaurant and good selection of food. Pity sauna was only open in the morning, but still a treat. We ate in both restaurants - two very different experiences and both equally good. Location of hotel was perfect for exploring the snowy streets and seeing all the 'top sites'. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowstorms84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We spent 4 nights at St Petersbourg Hotel last month and loved it!

Firstly the location is brilliant, just a 2 minute walk from the central square and about 5 minutes up to Toompea for those fabulous views across Tallinn.

Our superior room was huge and the bathroom spotless although perhaps could do with a slight bit of updating. The usual satellite TV channels, only one or two in English though but not a problem if you are out and about. Free Wi-fi, as you will find in many bars etc across Tallinn which was great for us.

We didn't eat in either of the hotels restaurants but we did take breakfast which was of a wide buffet variety plus an option of cooked eggs, blinis etc if you wanted. The breakfast room was beautiful in old Russian style and the staff were dressed in traditional dress which I loved! All the staff were courteous, pleasant and very, very helpful.

If you get a chance make sure you use the hotel sauna which is a converted area in the roof. It was free every day up until 11 and you book for your sole use, is very well equipped with loungers, showers, changing areas, TV, minibar and some fab views over the city. A very nice touch!!

Our whole package with this hotel for four nights was £288, this included two transfers to/from the hotel and an extra 20 Euro for keeping our room until 6pm as we had an evening flight - excellent value for money and probably one of the best deals we've ever had in all the hotels we've stayed at worldwide. Highly recommended!

One tip for you, if you cannot get to a bank for the best exchange rate, go to one of the exchange bureaux and haggle for a good rate! We did this twice!

Enjoy Tallin and St Petersbourg, it's a wonderful place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel in Tallinn's historic Old Town. Only one slight bummer: ordered a complimentary sauna but my request was forgotten and went up to find the sauna cold and locked the next morning. Oh well. Otherwise very comfortable and clean. Nice to have blinis for breakfast too in addition to the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16yomarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenskog Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights and it was a very nice hotel. We had a deluxe romm , which was very big and with a big, comfortable bed, and the hotel is situated in the heart of the old town. The staff was friendly and helpful and we enjoied our stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Property: St. Petersbourg Hotel
Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing