We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location, abundant breakfast, quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Petersbourg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Petersbourg Hotel
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“excellent location, abundant breakfast, quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stylish and nicely renovated smallish hotel (3 floors - no elevator) in the very centre of Tallinn historical downtown. Few minutes away you'll find the town hall square and many good restaurants and bars, nevertheless, the rooms are quiet. Well-kept and clean rooms though they are not very large. Abundant and excellent breakfast. The staff is friendly but sometimes maybe a bit too informal and chatting with each other.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and comments you have found the time to leave for us. We are very glad to hear that the location of the hotel you have found very convenient while staying in Tallinn. It sure is one of the best spots if not the best to explore this beautiful city.
It comes as a surprise that our staff has left you impression of being too informal, as we only hear positive feedback of the guest experience provided overall. However, I am glad you have brought this to our attention and please rest assured that we will follow up with your comment in detail. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel St. Petersboug in future. Have a wonderful Summer season!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    191
    32
    5
    7
See reviews for
116
426
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krasnogorsk, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Apart from perfect central location the hotel has got a very friendly and helpful staff. They took our car to and from a parking so we didn't have to drive through the Old Town narrow streets. Breakfasts are rich and tasty. Rooms are well soundproofed.
We were surprised to find curtains shut and lights on when we came to our room at night. Every night.
I'd suggest the hotel had new bath towels. Those we had in the room were slightly frayed. Also plastic table covers in the breakfast room don't agree with rustic room style. But the latter doesn't affect the food quality:-)
Anyway, we enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Can't get a better location. Big comfortable rooms. Good breakfast. Only downside is no elevator (might be a problem to some customers). All in all a positive experience!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABZPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

It was nice to read your short but very concrete feedback. We highly appreciate your recommendation to stay at St.Petersbourg hotel while visiting Tallinn. Unfortunately, due to the fact that property is historical in every aspect, we do not have the elevator on site for this 3 story building. However our staff is more then glad to assist you with any carrying you would possible need to do. For future reference, we kindly ask you to advise us before arrival about your personal preferences, to assign you one of our beautiful rooms on first floor accommodating your every need. We look forward to see you back soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were upgraded from double deluxe to a junior suite upon check-in. Outstanding customer service. They bend over backwards to accommodate their guests. Terrific location in the center of the Old City. Amazing breakfasts that include assorted smoked fish, meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals, as well as your choice of hot breakfast entrees (eggs/bacon, omelets, pancakes, hot cereals. Two restaurants/ Complimentary sauna available until 11AM. Excellent value for the money. On weekends the exterior rooms facing the street can get a little noisy from the club across the street but that is the only complaint. Otherwise, can't imagine a better hotel in the center of Old CIty, Tallinn.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheldon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback on tripadvisor.com. It has been our honor to read how much you have appreciated every detail while staying with us. Thank you for pointing out what a lovely breakfast experience you had. It means a lot to all of us to know what our guests have acknowledged the most. St.Petersbourg hotel is definitely one of the most beautiful properties in old town and we are glad we could serve you at your holiday time in town. Hope to welcome you back already soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is a true delight, the staff is very friendly, and the rooms quite excellent. The breakfast is outstanding, with the option to have items made to order, as well as an expansive buffet. The restaurant is also superb, and we also enjoyed the sidewalk cafe.
The location in Tallinn couldn't be better - an easy walk into the upper part of the old town, and just up the street from the main town square.
The staff was very helpful with tips for touring, as well with making the stay quite pleasant.
The sauna was quite nice as well.
We were very glad to have chosen St. Petersbourg.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, but the staff are very keen to help with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We couldn’t be happier knowing you are more then satisfied with your choice staying at St.Petersbourg hotel. We highly appreciate your positive input congratulating hotel of our friendly and helpful staff, among beautiful surroundings on site. We would be more then honored to welcome you back any time. Have a wonderful upcoming week.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

What a find this hotel is a little gem, the hotels history can be traced back to the time of building it for the old Tzars of Russia it is in a super location, right in the centre of a lovely old town, our room was fab, and the food was excellent our maid was called Olga she couldn't do enough for you. Tallin is a very old town, with lots of places to see the oldest part has fascinating high walls that protected the city many years ago still stand proud but are now incorporated into the newer buildings none the less intimidating if you can try and think back what it must have been like around the 13 century in the cold and snow - one tip I would suggest take a good pair of walking shoes those cobbles are murder on the feet - great weekend had by the family

Room Tip: There is no lift rooms cover a range of 3 floors suggest a ground floor if you problems with stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seniortraveller067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at St.Petersbourg hotel. We are very pleased to hear you had wonderful time with us. Olga was very happy to hear you have mentioned her particularly. We hope to accommodate you in your future travels once again. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel for many other travelers coming to Tallinn. Please except our warm greetings from all of us. Have a wonderful beginning of summer!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just finished a trip to Finland, Russia and Estonia and the Hotel St. Petersbourg stands out as a wonderful comfortable home away from home. The room is huge and well appointed. Free water is delivered daily we used the sauna one night which was reasonably priced and a great experience. An added plus - this was by far the most complete and delicious breakfast of the trip. Eggs made to order plus standard Scandinavian Baltic and English fare in a delightful restaurant attached to the hotel.

After adjusting to high prices in general on this trip we found this hotel to be a genuine value.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnelson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

It is so great to hear that from all those wonderful places you have seen you prefer Hotel St.Petersbourg the most. It is great honor to hear such feedback. We try our best to succeed every guest expectation and make them feel that our hotel is their home away form home. I am very glad we have brought this feeling for you in each step of the way.

We hope to see you soon for another great gateway in this beautiful town.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Property: St. Petersbourg Hotel
Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing