We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in Tallinn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Petersbourg Hotel
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    192
    33
    5
    7
See reviews for
119
435
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Staying right in the Old Town of Tallinn is very convenient for families. Although you should note that even for a family of four, you will likely need two rooms. The rooms are spacious, but there might not be enough beds. Also, there is no elevator. Our kids liked the grand old staircase, but some families may find this troubling.

The staff were excellent. They almost seemed disappointed that there wasn't something extra that they could do to make our experience nicer, but everything was very nice.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Me2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great comment. Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your recent stay In Hotel St.Petersbourg. Indeed hotels staircase is something we are very proud to have as it is so original and unique, however thank you for noticing that families that wouldn’t enjoy as much walking up the stairs should pre book rooms on first floor to make their stay even more enjoyable. Many greetings to you from our staff! They were truly happy to hear how much their service has been appreciated. Have a wonderful day and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay in tallin, this hotel is excellent, on arrival the management upgraded our 2 rooms at no extra cost,so a big thank you to them,the hotel is very,very comfortable and very quiet.Tallin the city is very beautiful & full of olde world charm,a stay in this HOTEL is a must,enjoy :O)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310 :O)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redroseWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such kind words as we try hard to deliver service to our guest’s highest expectations. To hear your great feedback is all we need to know we are appreciated for what we do. Our staff couldn’t be happier reading your congratulations note. We all are very much looking forward to see you again!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
218 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was our last stop on a 3 week tour of the baltics, and I think we saved the best till last. Situated right in the centre of the old town, we were able to explore the entire city easily.

The hotel is very comfortable and plush, with a real luxury feel to it. The lack of a lift somehow added to its old-world charm, but is something to be noted by people who have a problem with stairs.

The room was large, airy, clean and beautifully cared for. The only thing lacking was a kettle!

The staff were friendly and very helpful.

We took a taxi to the airport, it was only E.10. Buses and trains and trams are all a little walk away as there is no public transport in town.

Having read the Trip Advisor reports we planned to eat in their Estonian restaurant, which did seem very popular and doing a good trade, but we opted instead for their Russian one. The food and service were good, but it was a little pricey.

If I return to Tallinn I would definitely stay there again, and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great way to end your trip through Baltic’s. We couldn’t be more please to hear you saved the best for the last. There is indeed something very charming about this beautiful city in north Baltic’s. Although I am saddened to hear lack of kettle in the room comes up just now. I wish you would have informed front desk right away, as we do have such facilities available and ready for guests to use, however it is only and upon request. We will make sure to place it in your room upon your upcoming visit if you may visit Tallinn again.
Thank you once again for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcome you back any time. Have a great day!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We wanted to spend a long week end in an European capital and our choice went to Estonia and its wonderful capital city Tallinn, a country not really known by everyone which is though worth a visit. By going through the different reviews on Tripadvisor we booked our 4 days stay in Tallinn here and we could only have the pleasant confirmation of what had been said so far. Apart for the fact that the Hotel is perfectly located the staff is polite and always ready to help giving advices. Our room was really spacious, which was perfect for our two years old daughter. We simply fell in love with Tallinn and, should we come back one day, our choice would surely go back again to this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments you took the time to leave for us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay very much and would like to thank you for choosing Hotels St.Petersbourg as your home away from home. Tallinn indeed has much to offer with many sites to explore and many memories to take back. We are all looking forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very pleasant hotel. Comfortable and spacious room, friendly and helpful staff, great location. Only one minus: the bathroom is really small (but in good condition).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very glad you found hotel very comfortable, spacious and with friendly staff. They’ll sure be happy to hear you highlighting especially friendliness of them. Due to the fact that Hotel St.Petersboug is located in one of the most historical buildings in town but is still functioning as first hotel ever opened in Tallinn, unfortunately some of our rooms are indeed having smaller bathrooms then others. However for your next visit I would recommend to contact hotel in advance to make sure you will receive exactly the room you are looking for. You will be always welcome back.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Had the great pleasure of staying in this wonderful hotel in late July 2012! Easily the best location in the old town and a tremendously helpful and friendly staff, coupled with an excellent (and large) room was a great surprise!

Location – 10!: The location of this hotel cannot be beat, simple as that! It is just one block to the main square, and literally at the point where the roads start to escalate up to the Toompea area that overlooks the rest of old town. It’s essentially right at the junction of where you want to be to get to all the sites quickly and easily. As a bonus, it’s a quick 10 minute walk to the Solaris Center, a shopping mall that houses the best place in the city to eat (in my opinion)… Lido! Oh, and it's also right next to Kompressor, which has probably the best quality and selection of pancakes you will find anywhere in Europe!

Room – 9.5: This room would easily warrant a 10 if it only had air conditioning. Yes I know, this is northern Europe, and probably 98% of the time, not even a hot sleeper like me would need AC. Ahhh, but of course, I was there for the 2 hottest days of 2012… topping out at around 33 both days! Luckily, the room did not get as hot as I expected and the great staff furnished me with a fan that made things just fine.

The size of the room was quite large, especially by European standards. Nice and comfortable bed, large desk area, good size bathroom… all decorated and maintained immaculately! Really the only thing I find any issue at all with is the shower only had a half door, so basically, there was no way to avoid getting the floor wet. Not sure why they designed it like this but it really didn’t make much sense if you ask me as there was plenty of room for a full door or curtain.

Breakfast – 9.5: Excellent! Very good selection of cold dishes… meats, cheeses, fish, cereals, breads, pastries. BUT, they also had a 4-5 item menu of hot items that you could order from the traditionally dressed waitresses and were cooked to order! I usually ended up getting scrambled eggs and bacon. Very good stuff. Would have received a 10 but sadly, no espresso drinks.

Staff – 10!: Simply outstanding staff here! The best, friendliest and most helpful of any hotel I have stayed at in Europe! Stefan was especially helpful… a fellow photographer, he was able to provide me with some good shooting locations that were not mentioned in the guidebooks. But all of the staff was excellent, including the girls in the breakfast room.

Internet – 9: Had some issues here, especially getting logged in on my phone. Once connected the speed was fine, just a bit more hassle than I like with multiple logins required and such.
Cleanliness – 10: Spotless and immaculate! This place was spotless and a lot of attention to details was obvious and appreciated!

Intangibles – 10: This place just had a really nice “feel” to it… not quite sure how to explain it. Certainly, a lot of this had to do with the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff there… you know there’s a definite line between being willing and able to help, and going out of your way to help, and the staff here definitely were classified as the latter! This place just had a really good vibe… from the lobby, to the restaurants, to the rooms… everything was just amazing!

Value – 9.50: Despite how much I loved this hotel, I cannot give it a 10 for value because at nearly $150/night, it was the most expensive hotel I stayed on during this trip. I don’t think that’s excessive though considering what you get and the excellent location and staff. Seemed to be mostly the same price as similar hotels in the same area, so I would definitely stay here again should I return to this beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASP-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel St.Petersbourg very much. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially the one that is so detailed and well thought through.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Our hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation in every way and we are very glad our service has been to your true satisfaction.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
1,621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
1,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Property: St. Petersbourg Hotel
Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing