We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Petersbourg Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have stayed in this hotel two or three times, and really, really enjoy it. The location is smack-in-the-middle of Old Town, but the rooms are quiet. This time we booked a "Deluxe" room and it certainly was worth the relatively small additional fee. Very spacious room with stylish decoration, so much so that you can actually spend some time in the room enjoying a bottle of wine or whatever - something that I very seldom have the patience to do. Usually the first thing is to get away from the hotel to a bar or restaurant etc. The personnell is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. We complemented the buffet offering with an omelette and pancakes which were great. Can warmly recommend. The only drawback is the lack of air conditioning in the room, but that is not an issue except during summer.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tapio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great feedback in regards to your recent stay at the St.Petersbourg hotel. And most of all thank you for the loyalty and on going commitment towards hotel to have this opportunity to serve you at our very best. We hope to welcome you back soon for an anther great stay in our wonderful property surrounded by helpful staff ready to accommodate your every need.


Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Brian G
We were 3 couples who stayed at the St Petersbourg Hotel for 4 nights booked through Booking .com at a very reasonable price. On arrival we were all upgraded to Junior suites which were extremely spacious and comfortable. The location of the hotel was superb just 50m from the town square and ideally situated for exploring the old town. We found the the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly throughout the hotel and the service provided of a very high standard. We were particularly impressed with the service at breakfast where the waitress after our first morning remembered all our likes and dislikes and always had our table prepared for us. A most enjoyable few days

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianguyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Could not be happier to read your comment! Such feedback is so motivation to entire staff confirming that service provided has been appreciated at all times. Especially breakfast staff was very pleased how nice your time at their restaurant was. We are all looking forward to your upcoming visit to Tallinn and we hope that we still would remember your likes and dislikes to start your wonderful day with!


Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

As per the title - location is superb. Very close to old town square and Toompea. Only a 15 minute taxi ride from the airport.
This is a fine hotel with excellent staff (perhaps with one exception - see later). The greetings from the reception staff were courteous and welcoming and the standard of cleanliness second to none. We were not (as other lucky reviewers were) upgraded to a junior suite but instead we opted for a "deluxe" room. The room was nice though the size of the bed was disappointing (would expect a kingsize). The maid service - turn-down- around 5.30 each day with free water and a chocolate was a nice touch. The TV could perhaps have been bigger but in a city as beautiful as Tallinn, this is a minor point.
The breakfast (set in an Estonian styled restaurant) was simple but very nice and full marks to the serving staff who were excellent and welcoming throughout (and very smart intheir traditional dress).
Sadly, two niggles - 1. The Kettle.I had read a previous review on Tripadvisor in which a guest commented on the lack of the kettle and there was a response form hotel management that if he had asked at reception, one could have been provided. Well, we did ask at reception - and no kettles were available.
Secondly, we stayed in room 109 on the ground floor (entry level). From about 3pm until gone 10pm there was a succession of banging and noise which seemed to come from beneath our room and sounded like the kitchen. I raised this with he young man on reception on the morning of the 17th Sept (after our first night) and to be frank, he made me feel like I had made this up and there was a long silence when he stared at me as if to say "well, what do you expect me to do about it?". He claimed the room was not above the kitchen. It clearly is - as a look throught he window on the side of the hotel proves. I was disappointed by the lack of knowledge of the hotel by a staff member and I felt I was being a nuisance by mentioning it.
Overall however, Tallinn is a great city with a lot to do and this hotel provides an ideal base for exploring it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 109!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerardR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such detailed feedback. I have brought every comment of yours to every manager’s attention as such situation was big surprise to all of us. So far we haven’t experienced guest concerns in regards to staying in room 109. On second note, we are extremely sorry there was big misunderstanding about providing tea and coffee making facilities. As you mentioned before, we do have option to provide our guests with kettle in room, however since employee you spoke to is very new to our company, and unfortunately he wasn’t aware of situation completely to fulfill your request. We have addressed this concern to person in charge and such situation won’t happen in future. Although we would like to apologize once again you had to face this unfortunate situation.

However we are very glad you truly enjoyed your stay overall, especially the location of the hotel which indeed is very suburb. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here at St. Petersbourg Hotel for 4 nights and were very happy with our choice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and had a lot of choices so would suit most people.The rooms were quite spacious and ours overlooked the front road and square.The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of all sights within the old part of town.Recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel St.Petersbourg. We are very glad to hear service and product was at your highest expectations. We hope to see you soon! It was real pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you once again!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed for two nights at the end of August and I loved this hotel.

Staff: The hotel stuff was incredibly helpful and friendly, I was amazed how friendly the staff was and a large number of the hotel staff spoke English so it was very easy to communicate with them.
Location: This hotel is perfectly located - close to the main square and perfectly situated for exploring old town Tallinn.
Breakfast: was very good and filling!

If I was ever in Tallinn again I would definitely stay at the St Petersbourg Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40BY40_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

What a great comments! Thank you very much for your kind input of your recent stay at the hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back any time!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is a great place to stay. In the heart of the old town is the ideal location. Just a minute or so from the town square and easy to get anywhere touristy. The staff tried their best to help and spoke English well. There was a breakfask buffet with different types of food and drink. They even offered to pack us up a breakfast (which was a sandwich, yoghurt, apple and drink) when we set off early for a day trip to Helsinki. We asked for a double bed which ended up being 2 singled pushed together which was a bit odd but it appears that is their double as the headboard and bedside tables fitted in with that room.

The room we had was huge and very clean. We chose this hotel because some of the reviews for other hotels said they were noisy but this hotel we found quiet, especially considering its proximity to town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great feedback. I am sure many future travelers coming to Tallinn will appreciate your comments very much. Thank you for highly recommending St.Petersbourg hotel to all your family and friends. We very much look forward to welcoming you back any time your future travels would bring you back to this beautiful city.

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay in Tallin, and if you are looking for a clean, centrally located hotel - I can highly recommend the St. Petersbourg. The staff are extremely efficient and courteous - nothing is too much trouble! The breakfast is amazing... full and varied buffet, and cooked to order eggs/sausage/bacon etc. All served by a very friendly smiley waitress. (A lovely start to the day) The reception staff can't do enough to help (offering advice, recommendations, taxi service etc) The rooms are spotless and they offer a turn-down service in the evening, including bottled water & chocolates! The location is perfect - 2 minutes from the main square and just a brief stroll up Toompea Hill for amazing views of this wonderful city.

Room Tip: I booked this hotel following reviews on the tripadvisor site and many previous travellers had been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolBloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

There couldn’t be better way to start our day then reading your great comment. We are so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel to the fullest and we certainly look forward to welcome you back any time. Thank you for taking the time to shear your experience with us. Staff was very happy to hear their service has been appreciated to the last detail. Have a wonderful day!

Best Regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#12 of 86 in Tallinn
565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £99 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing