We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barons
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
L'Ermitage Hotel(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Telegraaf(Tallinn)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swissotel Tallinn(Tallinn)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel CRU(Tallinn)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hestia Hotel Europa(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
113
181
69
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
181
69
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbank vaultrevolving doorold townfantastic locationwould stay here againhotel is locatedmeatballsfacing the streethistorical buildingcobbled streetsdecent breakfastthe main squarecold meatstown hall squarestayed two nightshotel roomdouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2007

We had booked a double room for 6-8.12.07 via bookings.com. We have been in Tallinn few times before but this time we wanted to stay in a better hotel in old town and that´s why we chose Barons. Unfortunately 2 days before we were suppose to arrive we got a call from hotel staff telling us that there had been accident and that they had to cancel our reservation and that they could offer us a room in the company's other hotel Hotel Euroopa. It is a brand new four star business hotel outside old town, totally different what we were looking for but we had to accept it because all the hotels were really crowded that weekend. They explained that there had been a water pipe accident and they weren't able to provide water for all the rooms. Of course it might be true but they also might had an "overbooking accident", who knows... By contacting people on such a short notice they dont really leave other options than taking the room they offer in the companys other hotels.

Stayed: December 2007
5  Thank ristoreipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
358
Reviewed 29 January 2006

Stayed at Baron's Hotel January 28-29. First the good points: The hotel is located right in the Old City in Tallinn. Great location for strolling around the shops, restaurants, and night spots in the Old City. The hotel was recently renovated and is in very good condition. The rooms were clean and the breakfast, which was included in the price, was very good. Was able to book for $86 per night (including all taxes and breakfast for two) through the select-a-room(-) Web site. Now the disappointing points: the taxi is not able to go to the front door of the hotel except between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 a.m. This is because of a rule in Tallinn's Old City that restricts traffic from 10 a.m. to 6 a.m. This is to preserve the environment in the Old City--which is nice when strolling the cobblestone streets. If you have a lot of luggage then it may be advisable to stay elsewhere. If you don't have a lot of luggage or are otherwise able to manage for a block then it's fine. For me it was okay to bring the luggage a block. The hotel staff is very weak. The employees are very young and I didn's see a strong management presence. Interestingly, I gave the front desk clerk the voucher that I had printed from the Web and he didn't ask me for ID or even a credit card. I could have drained the minibar and left. I asked to buy stamps and while they had stamps the guy at the front desk could not make change for a 100 Estonian Kroon note (about US$8). The room was very small and while recently renovated and in very good condition, it was rather dark. All in all a decent experience and not a bad deal for $86; improved management and the place could be great. I also stayed at the Merchant's Hotel in Tallinn, also in the Old City, and found that hotel to be superior.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrKorjus, Manager Kaarel Korjus at Hotel Barons, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2007

Thank you for your comments. Since your last stay our hotel has gone trough some major changes particulary in the managment and in the service of the hotel. Hopefully we will see you here in our hotel again so you could enjoy the new service quality of our establishment. Among other things we offer now transfer services to and from our hotel and also a luggage service if the client arrives by taxi. Thank you again for your feedback this helps us a lot in making our hotel better every time you visit us.
With best regards,
Hotel manager
Kaarel Korjus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2005

We were a party of 7 and visited Tallinn for the 1st time. When we arrived at Barons we were advised that they didn't have rooms for us in the main old hotel which was very disappoiting however they moved us to 4 new apartments round the corner which despite the high stairs were wonderful and ideal for us.
They gave us a round of free drinks to appologise but as it turned out absolutely no appology was needed.
We had our own kitchens living rooms and one even its own sauna.
Breakfast was in the main restaurant which was nice but the food could have been warmer and the fruit fresher but on the whole it was good.
Ideal location for the old town which is really what Tallinn seems to be about........it will be a shame if Tallinn is spoilt by so many english stag and hen parties in the summer particularly but I guess there is an air of enevitability about that(look at prague,dublin etc) The locals are quite fearful about this as the English reputation has already arrived but it really is a lovely town particularly at Christmas and Barons,after a shaky start, was ideal for our trip and the staff were good craic.
As anywhere watch your belongings as I had my mobile phone taken fron an indian restaurant in the main square.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sparkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2005

Pros: Great location in the old town. Beautiful lobby. Excellent breakfast. Courteous staff. Elevators. Free computer use and internet access. Some rooms have great views (see picture).

Cons: Small rooms. No air conditioning (or it didn't work during the hot spell while we were there). No taxi access to hotel. Taxi drop off/pick up is about a block from the hotel. No bellhop assistance. Poor housekeeping.

Comments: I stayed at the Barons for 3 nights. There were 4 of us (women) and we had 2 rooms next to each other. The decision to stay there was based on good online reviews. It seemed like the perfect unique hotel with all our preferred amenities. I was quite disappointed in the service provided but the history and beauty of the building was not understated.

· The taxi dropped us off about a block away and we had to struggle with our luggage up the narrow street to the hotel.
· At the hotel we asked if there we could have someone assist us with our luggage to our rooms. They said there was no such service at the hotel. When we left we also couldn’t obtain assistance to the taxi stand. Four young male employees just stood around and watched us struggle with our luggage. That in itself is enough reason never to stay at the Barons again.
· Our rooms were small but nice. They would be great for one person but were crowded with 2.
· Since one of us has asthma and other allergies, we requested a room designated for people with allergies. Surprisingly, this room was so full of dust that we had to clean before we settled in. It looked like the floor had not been swept for a very long time and the “fireplace” hadn’t been dusted in a while.
· We had no problems the first day. The second day only the towels were changed. The beds were not made and both rooms were out of toilet paper and soap. When the reception desk was informed. They did nothing about the beds but sent up toilet paper and soap. They said they would let management know but no apologies were given and management never contacted me.

Conclusion: Nice hotel but has inconsistent housekeeping and poor customer service. I have stayed in other hotels in Tallinn that I would recommend before the Barons.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Leena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2005

We had a girl’s weekend away and stayed at the Barons Hotel, it is a classic Hotel, the location is fantastic, it is situated in the heart of the Old Town, just a stones throw from the Town Square and the lively pubs/bars. Our room although small, had a high ceiling and comfortable beds. The underfloor heating in the bathroom gave the small room a luxurious feel, and the shower was spacious and powerful. The only downside for us was the "extra bed" - we booked a triple room which turned out to be a twin room with a camp bed, the camp bed was not made for big people and had an unpleasant (although extremely hilarious) habit of collapsing! However I would highly recommend the hotel and definitely would stay here again.

11  Thank Bertie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews