We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, comfortable and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barons Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming, comfortable and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights - couple of 61/67 in a Junior Suite. The room was terrific - 5th floor of a former bank building. Spacious and with 2 windows which opened (fantastic in over-heated European airconditioning). The staff were helpful and really lovely. Breakfasts were fantastic and the room tariff includes dinner if you want it - basic but very acceptable. The hotel is right in the centre of the old town, one street from the square and just around the corner from a recommended place Olde Hansa - a bit touristy but very nice medieval-themed restaurant. OK food, pepper schnapps, mead, herb beer. All very welcome on a very cold day. Within walking distance of everywhere. We had no problem with noise but it was a Monday and Tuesday - not recommended for Tallinn when lots of things were closed but a beautiful place. Recommend Stockholm to Tallinn overnight ferry.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms probably better if nearby nightclubs are noisy at night. Our Junior Suite was on 5t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    145
    52
    18
    11
See reviews for
43
152
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel is situated very central in the picturesque old town of Tallinn. The building is a restored bank from Tallinn's golden age before the first world war. Many Art Deco details are preserved. Our room was quite large and of good hotel standard. We stayed the night between Saturday and Sunday, and unfortunately heavy sub-sonic noise from three nearby discos/nightclubs came right through the walls. Reception staff was wery professional and friendly, and they handled the parking of our car with care and precision. The location is really good, right in the pedestrian part of the old town, your city stroll starts and ends right there.

Room Tip: Avoid Friday and Saturday if you are sensitive to night noise. But check with reception first, as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Stockevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aalter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is situated on the corner of 2 streets. One of them is full of nightclubs. The bass music starts at 11:00 pm and goes on all night. You can't sleep at all. During the weekend some of the corridors of the hotel are packed with drunken youngsters sitting on the floor (singing and shouting). The horror! Unless you go partying yourself all night long!

My room was shabby (1 person). Two pairs of windows don't close sufficiently. A lot of drought during the night. The central heating is a small electric fire hanging on the wall behind the curtains. The bathroom ventilation makes a lot of noise.

I didn't feel save in this hotel at night. There are also 2 locks (why?) on the door and the fire prevention notes are frightening.

The breakfast was excellent and the staff was helpfull.

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the nightclub site of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willem15Aalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We visited Tallinn in June 2011 and loved every minute of it. The Old Town is so full of character and there always seemed to be something going on (although this may have been exaggerated as Tallinn was the 2011 European Capital of Culture!) We had grand plans for our 5 days which included, amongst other things, a trip to Finland but in the event we spent the majority of the time exploring the Old Town on foot, Tallinn cards in hand, punctuated with multiple drinks and nibbles stops along the way.

Hotel Barons certainly made such lazy exploration extremely easy as it is situated in the very heart of the Old Town a mere 40 - 50 yards from the Town Hall. The former bank is a grand looking building inside and outside and the old style lift is a wonderful focal point to the lobby area.

The dinners were included in the price which was a nice little extra. We agreed to give it a shot on the first night although our expectations were not high given that we had hardly paid a premium for the inclusion of food. As it happened, the food was more than adequate - laid out buffet style on the 2nd floor overloking the street and we utilised it most evenings.

The staff were very friendly and attentive; the additional extra of coffee and muffins in the afternoon was a nice touch and the rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious enough for two.

My only complaint was the softness of the beds as my back tends not to agree with anything less than a stiff plank of wood covered in a sheet. However, I tend to put up with whatever I am given so I don't know if the hotel would have been able to offer an alternative or provide a solution. I would also suggest that noise is a potential issue (although this may be true of any hotel in Old Town) but as we were generally out adding to the volume levels each evening I cannot add this as a personal complaint.

To sum up - go to Tallinn and do so before it becomes horrendously overrun with UK stag and hen parties.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel has great location - just one minute from Raekoja Plats, the heart of Old Town of Tallinn. The price includes the breakfast and supper and the food in hotel restaurant is tasty and quite variable. The hotel has no its own parking but rents some places on the neighbour street, just 5 minutes on foor and something about 20 euro per day.

The only problem for me appeared that the room was too dark. It was not comfort to be in the room because the window was not big enough and the lamps made weak light. Maybe for person who prefer muted light it's OK.

As for the noise mentioned in some reviews here it doesn't bring any trouble when living on the 4'th floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gromozzzeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed there last week when the temperature dropped to -24c. The hotel and staff where very warm and welcoming. We upgraded to a standard room and where more than happy, especially with the underfloor heating in the bathroon.The hotel is within a few steps of the main square where there are plenty of pubs, clubs, wine bars and restaurants to suite all tastes. The food in the hotel was fine. As it was my partners birthday the day we arrived, a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room and we where offered breakfast in bed the next morning. The Barons have their own airport taxi which made transfer smoother too. All in all it was a perfect stay and we will definately be staying there again this summer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaK2553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Fantastic location right in the heart of the old town, staff so courteous, has it's own taxi which was great as they did the transfers for us. Rate inc, afternoon tea and dinner buffet, which meant our holiday was done on a budget yet in a four star hotel. Lovely, lovely lovely

Room Tip: as other trip advisor comments ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid any noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Boutique Hotel

Property: Barons Boutique Hotel
Address: Suur-Karja 2, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing