We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but has inconveniences.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barons Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 24 July 2005

Pros: Great location in the old town. Beautiful lobby. Excellent breakfast. Courteous staff. Elevators. Free computer use and internet access. Some rooms have great views (see picture).

Cons: Small rooms. No air conditioning (or it didn't work during the hot spell while we were there). No taxi access to hotel. Taxi drop off/pick up is about a block from the hotel. No bellhop assistance. Poor housekeeping.

Comments: I stayed at the Barons for 3 nights. There were 4 of us (women) and we had 2 rooms next to each other. The decision to stay there was based on good online reviews. It seemed like the perfect unique hotel with all our preferred amenities. I was quite disappointed in the service provided but the history and beauty of the building was not understated.

· The taxi dropped us off about a block away and we had to struggle with our luggage up the narrow street to the hotel.
· At the hotel we asked if there we could have someone assist us with our luggage to our rooms. They said there was no such service at the hotel. When we left we also couldn’t obtain assistance to the taxi stand. Four young male employees just stood around and watched us struggle with our luggage. That in itself is enough reason never to stay at the Barons again.
· Our rooms were small but nice. They would be great for one person but were crowded with 2.
· Since one of us has asthma and other allergies, we requested a room designated for people with allergies. Surprisingly, this room was so full of dust that we had to clean before we settled in. It looked like the floor had not been swept for a very long time and the “fireplace” hadn’t been dusted in a while.
· We had no problems the first day. The second day only the towels were changed. The beds were not made and both rooms were out of toilet paper and soap. When the reception desk was informed. They did nothing about the beds but sent up toilet paper and soap. They said they would let management know but no apologies were given and management never contacted me.

Conclusion: Nice hotel but has inconsistent housekeeping and poor customer service. I have stayed in other hotels in Tallinn that I would recommend before the Barons.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Leena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2005

We had a girl’s weekend away and stayed at the Barons Hotel, it is a classic Hotel, the location is fantastic, it is situated in the heart of the Old Town, just a stones throw from the Town Square and the lively pubs/bars. Our room although small, had a high ceiling and comfortable beds. The underfloor heating in the bathroom gave the small room a luxurious feel, and the shower was spacious and powerful. The only downside for us was the "extra bed" - we booked a triple room which turned out to be a twin room with a camp bed, the camp bed was not made for big people and had an unpleasant (although extremely hilarious) habit of collapsing! However I would highly recommend the hotel and definitely would stay here again.

11  Thank Bertie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: la chambre d'angle, une suite junior est calme et a 2 fenêtres, mais la salle de bains est minus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 884lilianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank 46erling46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Krs 2-3 parhaimmat, vältä brittipubin puolta
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mirva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Boutique Hotel

Address: Suur-Karja 2, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £64 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing