We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small detail spoiled perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My City Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My friend and I recently spent a four night stay at My City.The location could not be better, being only yards from the Town Square and other local attractions. The hotel is beautiful, it is spotlessly clean, has a good choice of breakfast and the art work on the walls adds to the ambiance of the building. However, we were left disappointed and frustrated by one small detail- a lack of pillows.

Each bed had one very soft pillow and although the brochure in the room clearly stated that if more pillows were required we only needed to ask at reception, when we did this we received two very different responses on two consecutive days. Firstly, I requested them at 10pm from a young man who was in reception and was informed that he would bring them to our room 'shortly.' We stayed awake until 11:30pm before realising he would not be answering our request. The following morning I spoke to him again and he informed me he had taken them to the wrong room! Later that day my friend again went to reception and requested them again, this time she was informed by a young lady that they, 'did not have any.' !!!!!!!!!

We were shocked by this especially as the brochure stated there was a choice of pillows available including anti allergy and wool. As we had not had a good nights sleep since we arrived, and had spent each day exploring the local area on foot, we weren't fussy and would have been grateful for any kind of pillow but sadly we never did receive them.

As I said, it would be hard to beat this hotel but is seems incredible that a 4 star hotel is unable to provide something as basic as pillows. As well as being frustrated by this situation, we were disappointed by the staff's responses.

I appreciate that this may seem a trivial detail but the lack of sleep resulted in our stay being good rather than perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattylancastrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

The decoration of this hotel is in a classic style. The location is good - 10-15 minutes walk to Sokos Hotel Viru where the bus stop to ferry terminal is & 5 minutes walk to the old town square. The staff is helpful. There are several restaurants nearby. It's a good base in Tallinn if you are there for the first time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazysoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It was a great location. Clean, quiet, and good breakfast. We really liked our stay at My City Hotel. Was very nice to walk through old town and get back to the hotel to go to the bathroom or to take a nap. Was a very relaxing weekend. The staff were very helpful. Just a side note that we did not know...One warning is that the taxi's are not all the same. Some of them are private (but have TAXI on the top of car). cost us 30 euro for a trip to the airport (normally less than 9 euros!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CNMPAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel as we were celebrating my birthday with a group of friends. We chose the hotel based on previous reviews and because of it's location. We had a superior room and thought it was a very good size and nicely decorated. The only downside was that the room was facing the street and a large nightclub so it was a bit noisy during the night. In fact I was using earplugs on one of the nights as I found it difficult to sleep. For that reason I thought the room was a bit pricy, they could try to improve the soundproof.
The breakfast was okay, nothing fancy.
The best thing was that the old town was within walking distance as well as my 'birthdayparty venue' Hell Hunt pub.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintsi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel has a good location in the old town, rooms are nice and pretty large (if you choose the upgrade =superior), the Wi-Fi is free and really well working, the breakfast offers pretty wide selection and the service is kind and helpful. The restaurant My Cafe is also worth of trying, but if have to pay normal prices there, it is a little bit pricy.

If you are able to find a well priced offer (47 euros) for this hotel, it is absolutely a very good choice. A 10 euros upgrade is also worth of trying. When paying a normal price that is over 100 euros per night, you have other good choices also in Tallinn and with that price the rating would be 4.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Protravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great location, helpful, friendly staff! The breakfast has a good selection. Great location, easy walk to everything in the old town, great restaurants nearby. Everything was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was modern and pleasant with good lighting. It was well priced and a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobTravelSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Comfortable hotel in a great location on the edge of the Old Town, five minutes walk from The Town Hall Square. The friendly helpful staff quickly checked us in to our standard double room which was a reasonable size, very clean and comfortable with a decent size bathroom. The shower was strong and hot and there were plenty of toiletries and towels. Tea and coffee making facilities are not automatically provided for standard rooms, however the staff provided them on request at no extra charge.

The hotel has a small but comfortable bar area on the lower floor and drinks were reasonably priced.

Breakfast is included in all room rates and was very good and filling, a wide selection of cooked food, cold meats and cheeses, porridge, cereal, pastries, breads, fruit and yoghurt. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is opposite a club/casino, so I would advise very light sleepers to ask for a room at the back of the hotel, although the windows were well soundproofed and the noise was not too loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you need total quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
918 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My City Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My City Hotel Tallinn

Address: Vana-Posti 11, Tallinn 10146, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn City)
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#9 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £73 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My City Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My City Hotel is a charming and welcoming little hotel located in Tallinn's medieval Old Town. Hotel's interior is light and provides best pieces of Italian modern art - among other well known artists gigantic paintings of Antonio Pedretti in our lobby area. My City Hotel is situated right in the heart of city - just few steps from the Old Town Square and most tourist attractions. Hotels convenient location is perfect for those who want to explore Tallinn by foot and who prefer to enjoy good shopping, gourmet and entertainment close to hotel. You are also very welcome to visit our Mix Restaurant for delicious dinner or lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your My City Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina City Tallinn
Domina City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing