We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, a good quality hotel & AMAZING restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, a good quality hotel & AMAZING restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Nice, clean, modern hotel with helpful staff. A very good quality for a good price. A few minutes walk from the Old Town, two minutes walk from the tram stop.

But if there is something I will never forget is the hotel restaurant. I was really impressed with their restaurant Wiegand and I will be dreaming of their food. Roasted lamb tenderloin with butter fried potatoes, honey-herb glazed vegetables and red wine-plum sauce, pork tenderloin with pepper-caramel sauce, baked potato gratin and grilled veggie or oven-roasted chicken breast with brussels sprouts-bacon stew, served with creamy wild mushroom sauce? You can't choose wrong! Well done Maestro Chef!

Room Tip: I would avoid ground floor as people could see in from the pavement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petrita99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Petrita99,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying in Domina Inn Ilmarine!
Im very glad to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel, including the staff and the location. I will forward your pleasant comments to our Chef De Cuisine as well.

Hoping to see you back in here!
With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    473
    147
    35
    22
See reviews for
133
435
71
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hotel is located near the harbours and old town. Quiet, big, nice, ... Good service and quite good rooms. I expected something more "old". Breakfast fair, but it includes relaxing music (new age).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jator-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I really enjoyed my winter city break in Tallin and my stay in this hotel, the hotel is very nice, perfectly located directly opposite the Old Town and where the city trams stop every 15 minutes that take you around the city.

The hotel is also a very interesting building as it was converted from a factory to a hotel, this being interesting information for a tourist about the area. The bar and restaurant was very nice and cosy in the evening, the service was excellent and the staff were very frendly and helpful. Although you are spoilt for choice in terms of places to eat and drink in the Old Town there is just so much to choose from, I would deffinetly recommend eating in the hotel restaurant at least once during your stay as my meal was fantastic, taste, texture and the presentation of the dishes.

Breakfast was sometimes very busy, I needed to join a long line for toast and a cup of coffee, the buffet was sometimes very crowded. So I would recommend getting up slightly earlier to avoid the crowds of people on breakfast. Especially Sunday where everyone stays in bed late and gets out of bed the same time between 9.00 AM - 10.00 AM. Apart from that I could not complain about the quality of food and selection on the buffet, it was all fresh and neatly prepared, enough choice for healthy eaters, good selection of fresh salads.

Cleanliness was excellent. My room was nice and warm going to bed, which is good from when I returned from the cold outside.

Overall I think i made the right choice of where to stay and would deffinetly return in the future.

Thank you Domina Inn,

Christopher Hampton

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Christopher,

Thank you very much for your comments!
Im really glad to hear that you liked your stay in Domina Inn Ilmarine! So good to know that you liked the restaurant and the breakfast.

Hoping to see you back in here in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Just got back from a 5 day break in Tallinn staying at the Domina Inn Ilmarine. Hotel is perfectly located for the Old Town and tram transport. Caught the No 90 bus from the airport (2 Euros) which is just outside arrivals, and the nearest stop for the hotel is No 7, Linnahall, then as you get off bus, set off to the left and hotel is about 5 minute walk. There is also a supermarket located near the hotel, as you come out of the reception doors, turn left, walk round the hotel onto the main road, turn right and supermarket across road.

Hotel, reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, as were the rest of the staff in the restaurant, bar and room cleaning staff. Our room was on the ground floor, and was nice and quiet. Would have preferred a bath rather than a shower (to ease aching legs after walking!), but shower was lovely and hot. Took my own kettle as room did not have tea/coffee facilities, which is a shame for the standard of the rest of the hotel. The room was very warm, which was good when you came in from freezing weather, but some times made sleeping difficult. Our windown did open, but some of my friends' rooms windows did not. Took advantage of the Euro 15 set 3 course meal on the first night, which was very good. However, the menu did not change for this for the rest of the time we were there. Having said that, a main course and starter was about the same price. Breakfast was very good, and was replenished until the end of the sitting.

Tallinn itself was lovely and we found plenty of places to eat and drink at reasonable prices. Other items to buy (Xmas market goods) were quite expensive.

Would definitely recommend the Domina Inn Ilmarine if you are planning a trip to Tallinn.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was very quiet (107).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElspethYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear ElspethYorkshire,

Thank you very much for your feedback!
It´s pleasant to know that you were satisfied with our staff and the breakfast. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip in Tallinn.

Looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

Best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I just spent a wonderful weekend with friends at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was excellent ! Hotel is in a great location.Just a short walk from the old town. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and took time out to show us the sauna, jacuzzi and facilities. So thank you to you, Marlilyn. All in all a great weekend was had by all and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justsuz2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear justsuz2201,

Thank you for staying in Domina Inn Ilmarine and thank you so much for your positive comments!
Im really glad to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel, including the rooms, the location and the staff.
Hoping that we can welcome you back in here!

Wishing you all the best,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Overall good hotel with some 4 star amenities - good location ,rooms ,free parking- but miserable ( definitely 2-3 star ) breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPoloEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear MarcoPoloEurope,

Thank you for your feedback, it mean´s a lot to us! Really good to know that you liked the room and the location.
Im really sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the breakfast. I will forward your comments to our restaurant director to improve the breakfast.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!
Wishing you all the best,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel was great. Friendly staff good breakfast comfortable rooms and ideally located. the rooms were cleaned each day and where very warm wich was good as it was freezing outside. the added bonus was the showers they were like a power shower and quite big.

Room Tip: we was on the ground level in a twin room. plenty of room good size bathroom and quiet even though t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dido29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear dido29,

Thank you very much for you comments!
It´s pleasant to know that you were satisfied with the room and the breakfast.
Hopefully we can welcome you back here!

With kind regards,

Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing