We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tallinn in winter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Tallinn in winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed just outside the Old Town (8 mins walk) but very convenient for Trams 1 & 2. Local Transport is free for over 65s so you can can get on & off buses all day. Prices relatively cheap for food so can enjoy meals out. Best to avoid wines as they can be expensive. Local beers are good. Tallin is very quiet with few tourists in winter with day temperature around -12C during day so wrap up warm. Plenty of snow gives it a totally different feel to a summer visit. Handy stopover on way to Sweden, Helsinki or St Petersburg or bus to Vilnius, Riga or Poland.

Room Tip: Just outside the Old Town but really handy for trams 1 &2. Food very reasonable £12 for a 3 cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear FerringFairy,

Thank you for your review!
Im very happy that you liked your stay in Tallinn and for staying in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in near future!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    475
    148
    35
    22
See reviews for
133
438
71
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We booked 4 nights at this hotel and could not believe the bargain we got! £130 for 4 nights bed and breakfast for 2 people - you would pay that in the UK for 2 nights, if you were lucky! Anyway, we arrived and the found the hotel - just 5 minutes walk to the old town. The room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was lovely with a great range to choose from. We had a meal at the hotel restaurant one evening which was absolutely gorgeous. Only one complaint - hotel bar shuts at 10.30!!! Overall a fantastic choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilldawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear gilldawes,

Thank you for your comments!
Im really glad to hear that you find our hotel location good as well the room spacious and clean. Also good to know that the restaurant services satisfied your needs!

Looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The hotel was very easy to find as the airport bus (only 2 euros) stopped about 100 metres from the hotel. Despite the volume of snow, it was an easy walk to the hotel.

Checking in was very efficient and friendly. I was given a room on the ground floor and my only slight complaint was that the room could have been slightly warmer. The weather was well below freezing with heavy snow falls during the four days I was in Tallinn. However the room was in no way cold! The room was very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was buffet style. The hot food consisted of eggs, meatballs (these were delicious) and a meat "pie" and there was a good selection of cereals, meats and cheeses as well as fruit, pastries, fruit juices and coffee/tea. Whilst it was not an extensive selection it was good.

The hotel was ideally situated near to the Old Town. Even with the snow it took about 10 minutes to walk there and if you intend doing a trip to Helsinki by ferry, the port was about 20-25 minutes away. Without the snow it would have taken less!!

The hotel was quite modern with a bar area and specials for lunch and dinner that were very reasonably priced but with the great restaurants nearby I did not try the lunches or dinners.

This was a comfortable hotel from which to see the sights of Tallinn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Bill054,

Thank you very much for your feedback!
Im really glad to hear you find our hotel with good location. Also pleasure to know that the check in was efficent and the room comfortable. As well that the restaurant satisfied your needs.

Looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just back from a 3 day break in Tallinn and stayed in Domina Ilmarine.I had read previous reviews and went on a lot of what i read.The Hotel itself is a stones throw from the old town,near to shopping centres but situated in a quiet area of Tallinn.We checked in, our room was small but adequate spotlessly clean bathroom was a good size, great shower and mini bar for extra charge.We never made it down for breakfast! but did have the bar food which was good and ate in the restaurant one night.The meal was really tasty and no complaints.
Any of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.At the moment there is painting going on but didnt bother us at all.
One of the lifts was out of order and when enquired about the jacuzzi it was too out of order was waiting to be repaired but sauna was given at a reduced price.
One thing i do think could be helped the entrance was quite icy whilst walking down the two ramps-hills due to the recent snowfalls.Some salting of same would be great as us foreigners are not as nimble at negotiating the snow /ice as the locals !
All in all though a lovely stay in a very nice Hotel and would love to return again.

Room Tip: Third floor very little noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear bettyboo68,

Thank you so much for your comments!
Im really glad to hear that you liked the location and the room! Also very happy to know that you find our staff friendly and helpful!
Im really sorry for the elevator and the jacuzzi, but they both should be repaired during this week, unfortunately both are very time consuming works.

Looking forward to seeing you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in January and found the Hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a clean quite modern looking place and the room was more than adequate for our stay. We actually booked an executive suite which had a settee, bath and a little more space than the standard room. Breakfast wasn't too good if you wanted anything cooked; the only cooked things on offer were scrambled eggs or scrambled eggs with meatballs. On the up-side there was a good selection of cereals,cooked meats and fruit. Evening meal was quite good, we had the 15euro special which had a fair selection but could have been a tad hotter.
The bar shuts at around 10pm which is too early in my opinion if you are looking forward to a a drink when you get back to the hotel. The rooms have mini-bars which are comparable in price to most hotel rooms.
A taxi from the airport costs around 12 euro or there is a number 19 bus which stops about 100 metres from the hotel.
I believe the hotel has leisure facilities, if so we weren't ever advised about them and certainly didn't find them

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Restaraunt or you may be kept awake late if there's a function occu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mewalshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. Had a hiccup when we arrived on the Saturday night. We had booked a double room and were allocated a twin. They could not move us that night as the hotel was full. One staff member told us it was common for double rooms to be overbooked. An issue that needs addressing. They did however move us to a double room on the second night, and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine to apologise.
We ate in the restaurant which I would highly recommend for an evening meal. Excellent value, fine quality and fantastic service. The buffet for breakfast however was not up to the same standard.
Rooms are spacious, clean and have ample facilities. Bathroom was nice and modern.
Overall would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room otherwise you could be overlooking a very busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidaysRme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear HolidaysRme3,

Thank you very much for your feedback!
Im really sorry for any inconveniences it may have caused, because of the fully booked double rooms on the first night and happy to know, that you got the double room during the next day!
Really glad to hear that you liked the evening meal in the restaurant and will forward your positive comments! Good to know as well that the room satisfied your needs!

Looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The Domina Inn Illmarine is a good hotel with an easy access to the harbour and to downtown.

We liked the following aspects:

- just a few meters from the "northern" entrance of Tallinn's downtown
- good housekeeping
- interesting architecture as it is located in a former factory
- rooms are okay but should be refurbished

However critical were

- breakfast (room, time and variety)
- hotel was overcrowded by many groups

Would choose probably next time another hotel as Tallinn offers lots of very good accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlecosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Littlecosmos,

Thank you for the feedback, it means lot to us!
Im very happy to hear that the location satisfied your needs, as well the housekeeping and architecture!

Thank you for staying in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing