We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tallin”
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tallin”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just stayed for 3 nights, nice room on ground floor, clean, comfortable, plenty of storage, buffet breakfast good selection, would recommend. Reception staff friendly but not knowledgable. Close to airport, port and old town. Brilliant 3 day break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uk-Traveller300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Uk-Traveller300,

Thank you very much for the feedback!
Im really glad to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable, as well as the breakfast good and reception staff friendly.

Looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    524
    162
    38
    27
See reviews for
152
478
78
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We took the airport Hansa 90K bus from outside the airport terminal (follow the bus signs) and get off at Linehall bus stop number 7. The hotel is some 200-300 metres away, follow the bus up the road, hotel is on the right.
Lovely, modern double room, 2 twin beds, lovely large shower, really nice hotel. The breakfast is a hot/cold buffet affair, that is perfectly acceptable. The room and the hotel was very warm with A/C and underfloor heating. We really enjoyed our stay and if we return to Tallinn we would certainly stay at this hotel. The price we paid for 4 days was unbelievably low. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athertonlad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Athertonlad1,

Thank you for your comments and for staying in Domina Inn Ilmarine!
Im really glad to know that you were satisfied with the room and enjoyed your stay!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We spent 6 days in Tallinn and Helsinki and stayed here on our last night in Tallinn, after returning from Helsinki. I wished we had stayed here our whole time in Tallinn. The location is very close to the ferry harbor and just outside the walls of old town. It took us 10 minutes to get to the airport the next morning by taxi. The room was clean and modern and the building itself was quite interesting. It was also a bargain. I paid almost $20 more a night for another hotel farther away from the old town that wasn't nearly as nice. Our room was a bit small, but the bathroom was very nice.

There were a couple of things I might have insisted on had we been staying longer. I had specifically reserved a double bed, but we were given two twin beds. Also, one of those beds had clearly been used by a rather large person, so it was visibly caving in and broken. I had also requested a room with no carpet, but didn't get that either. For just one night, though, it was fine. The front desk staff was welcoming, however it did annoy me to find out once we got to our room that a) to access the minibar you need a key from the reception and b) there is no wireless, just ethernet, but you have to get the cable from the reception. It would have been nice to had these things mentioned when I was just standing there. I did notice that both women had "Trainee" on their name tags, so it was probably a slip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear SPinha,

Thank you for the positive comments!
Im very glad to hear that you liked your stay in Domina Inn Ilmarine hotel.
Im really sorry that you couldn´t have double bed, we are changing at the moment the carpet in corridors and partly full floor are out of service, so it might be a reason. Thank you as well for the comments about informal part of reception, so we can improve on that.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed here as part of a package deal and had no idea where it would be situated in relation to the old town. Its great. Its about 150yards from Fat Margarets Gate entry to the old city, and you can touch the sea if you walk 100yards in the other direction too. If you dont know where the Hotel is, even with the address its a little difficult to find because its entrance is side on to Pohja pst, the road on which it sits. Just below Fat Margarets Gate there is a bit of a tram bus hub and if you stand at that point and look towards 11 oclock, there is a junction with a big yellow painted Power service building in front of you, and you will be able to see the title of the Hotel up on the roof line of the side of the converted warehouse on the other side of that junction. I walked up and down Pohja pst, in snow and slush, getting covered by passing lorries and with aching arms from carrying my case because you couldnt wheel it!
So hopefully this will help future guests.
Staff are very helpful, friendly and speak English. I had one evening meal and it was very good value. Fairly basic buffet breakfast in a room that doesnt have any view sadly. Rooms are modern and very spacious. I would definitely stay there again.
The driveway up to the entrance is quite steep so anyone who s a bit doddery on their feet might need assistance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Gail T,

Thank you very much for staying in Domina Inn Ilmarine and for your positive feedback!
Im very glad to know that the location was suitable for you and you found our staff friendly. As well good to hear that you enjoyed food in our restaurant and were satisfied with the room.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

have just returned from a short week stay in Tallinn the hotel is ideally situated just outside the north side of the old town literally a 2 minute walk away. It is also in the right area to get to the port for a transfer to Helsinki. The hotel has been tastefully appointed from an old factory, the rooms are nice and clean and good room service . the breakfast buffet was well stocked and served between 7-10am. All in all a great choice for us and our friends on a good vacation. would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear meacey,

Thank you very much for the comments!
Im very happy to hear that your stay in Domina Inn Ilmarine was enjoyable as well as the location, the room and breakfast satisfied your needs.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

this hotel is in a great location. 5 mins walk from the old town and 10 mins from the port.

The rooms were clean although very hot. The a/c, although it had a temperature dial, worked at hot or hotter!

Staff are very friendly and helpful although one morning when we went on a trip before the restaurant opened and I couldn't get boiling water to prepare my baby's food as the staff had no access to a kettle?!

Breakfast was nice. Hot food was available, which you don't often find with continental breakfasts.

All in all this is a good hotel and the old town of Tallinn is beautiful

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Brumbug,

Thank you for the feedback!
Im very glad to know that you were satisfied with your stay in Domina Inn Ilmarine, including the location and the staff. Im very sorry for the hot water problem, because receptionist should have find solution for that. Besides this im happy to hear that you liked your stay in Tallinn!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Hotel is Located right next to the old Town and is a 10 min walk to the main square. Rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is below average, not much choice and not well stocked. Had a issue with the a JCB digging ripping up ice outside our room at 7.30am in the morning and this went on for a good 90 mins. Made a complaint to the receptionist about this and asked to move room as did not want to be kept awake if this happens every morning. She told me the hotel was book up solid which was highly unlikely as in was a sunday and the the hotel was empty all day and night. Also while talikng to her she decided to serve another customer and leave me stand there. Anyway did not get moved in the end.
Would not return to this hotel if visiting Tallin Again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear PatDub,

Thank you for the feedback! Really good to hear that you liked our location. The weather has changed recently and the ice has started to melt and for safety reasons we need to remove it, unfortunately it will cause noise. We are doing at the moment spring cleaning in the hotel and for that reason part of the hotel is under general repairs, it might be the reason why wasn`t opportunity to change the room – im really sorry for any inconveniences it may have caused!

Wishing you all the best,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
847 reviews
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 86 in Tallinn
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing