We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a superior room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Larne, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Get a superior room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We took one of the split level Superior rooms which is really like a small apartment.

Absolutely excellent - fantastic building, relaxing room, very clean, good breakfast.

Close to the old town of Tallinn too...

You name it - very, very happy with this hotel.

Plus it was pretty reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Split level room, free wireless internet
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    475
    148
    35
    22
See reviews for
133
438
71
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

I booked this hotel three times, and stayed there twice.

The first two times I had lovely stays. It's a great hotel, and the two level rooms in the original part are particularly nice. The restaurant is Italian (as is the group that owns the hotel) which provides a safe alternative to 'interesting' Estonian food.

The location is pretty ideal. It's next to the trams and close to the trains. It's also just a stone's though from the ferry terminals and just across the road from one of the gates into the old town. It's also the closest hotel to the Linda Line and Helicopter terminals.

On that basis there's not a lot not to recommend about it. If you don't want a swimming pool it's the best hotel you could get in Tallinn without paying an awful lot more.

Sadly however, the last time I went they had overbooked and sent me to another hotel, which I didn't think was nearly as nice and which was advertising rooms for a cheaper price. I decided that if it was going to be lucky dip then in future I'd book the cheapest option in the first place.

  • Liked — The split level room in the original part
  • Disliked — Overbooking!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

Just back from Tallinn and stayed at the Domina Inn. It is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the old town and great value for money. Breakfast wasn't too bad. Just 2 points from my stay here
1) Estonia people need to take a lesson in hospitality and 2) Avoid the Indian Maharaja restaurant in the Square at ALL COSTS. Food is ok but the service is VILE!!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlo_Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

This was excellent accommodation at a very good rate.

The hotel is of modern Scandinavian style set in an old factory with 2 storey apartment rooms. Aside from the upstairs bedroom, its compact but really good value at what was for us about £38/room per night.

The hotel is very central being 2 minutes from Fat Margaret Tower & the same from the Linda Lines Ferry Terminal where you can do a 1h30m ride to Helsinki. I'd take the extra time though to walk round to Nordic Jet Lines terminals which seem more used and less prone to last minute cancellations. We ended up going there in a hurry once our Linda Lines service was cancelled.

Breakfast in the hotel was standard buffet fare but reasonably good. For the cost, it was excellent.

The only down side I could observe was being close to the noisy road on the townside of the building. Make sure you get the harbour side if you get a choice and like a quiet night (there isn't a view from here).

I would certainly return to this hotel on another visit.

  • Liked — Loft Style, Value for Money, Central Location
  • Disliked — Noise from Road Side
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

Booked this otel for a 3 night stay mainly due to its proximity to the old town (only 500 metres). Arrived early and room was ready. I booked a superior room and it was generally very nice. It was spread over 2 floors with a lounge area. The only problem was that the double room requested was in fact 2 single beds. The most disappointing thing about the room was the bathroom size, the wardrobe in the bedroom was bigger. It is very close to the old town which is amazing, only a 2 minute walk to the gates. We came back after a long day sightseeing at 10pm one night only to find that the bar closes at 9pm during February because it's quiet. All room infoemation in room and website says it's open till midnight. This wasn't a major problem but was disappointing. All in all it more than served its purpose.

  • Liked — Proximity to Old Town
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2008

The hotel is clean and of a high standard. Rooms were good with a powerful shower and fully stocked mini bar. Staff were helpful and spoke perfect English. Breakfast was of a European style but you could get toast. The hotel was in a good location and was just a five minute walk into the old town. The roads outside of the hotel are a bit hazardous to cross though so be careful! We got a taxi to and from the hotel for the airport and it cost about 115EEK (about £6).

Tallin itself was lovely with great architecture and plenty of choice of bars and restaurants. However, there isn't loads to do in the daytime once you've looked round everywhere so so I wouldn't go for more than a long weekend. I recommend eating at the Texan restaurant nearerst to the hotel in the Old Town (near the Hell Hunt), the food was absolutely great there. Eating out is cheap but alcoholic drinks are about the same price as the UK really. Don't bother with the Irish bars as the staff were unfriendly in these and there was no atmosphere. Instead, go to The Bar With No Name or the Hell Hunt (Estonia's oldest pub).

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast choices
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mspzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

Please do not be misled by some recent reviews for this hotel, as in my opinion this was a great place to stay.

We had a 3 night stay 13th to 15th Feb and stayed in a Superior Suite, which has a mezzanine bedroom arrangement. The reception desk team were friendly and always smiled, the restaurant team were equally pleasant and very professional.

We had breakfast at the hotel and l thought the range and quality of choice was excellent, we had one meal in the evening and the service and food was great.

We bought our 3 night, B&B and one eveing meal package on eBay, presented our voucher at the reception - it couldn't have been easier. The hotel itself is a former communist factory, so the architecture inside is quite something.

It is located just 3 mins walk from Fat Margaret's Tower and I would take the bus from the airport (Bus Number 2) to Ferry Terminal C and then walk from there. It took us 10 mins max.

Tallinn is superb and we shall return to wander the lovely streets again - if you are going soon, keep an eye on the temps and the wind speed/direction - we were walking out in temps of upto
-12C and that hurts !

  • Liked — Location, Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheddarprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing