We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catastrophe - lousy reception - already another person in the room”
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
D
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Catastrophe - lousy reception - already another person in the room”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Imagine, you wait at the reception for 25 minutes to be checked in although you are the only one.

Imagine, you go to your room and another naked man is laying on the bed and shouting at you.

Imagine, you finally get a room and when you enter the bathroom in socks, your socks stick to some strange stains at the floor....

Help, it hardly gets worse.... And my business partner decided to stop this hotel, too. He had some simular dirty stains on a unchanged bedsheet.....

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Miele65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Miele65,

Thank You very much for Your feedback, it is very important to us!

We are truly sorry for all the inconvenieces You have mentioned. Unfortunately there has been a error in our system regarding the occupied room, usually there has not been this kind of mistakes.
Regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, we are very sorry that we did not received this infomation when You were still staying in the hotel. We would have immediately sent housekeeping or offered You a new room.

Once again our sincere apologies and if You have any futher suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    524
    163
    38
    27
See reviews for
152
479
79
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rishon le zion israel
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was when I came to this hotel for my birthday and they refused to upgrade me despite the fact that they had a lot of free rooms. They wanted to charge me 3 euro for using a kettle on a daily basis! it is outragious for a 4 star hotel. The clerk in the reception was no help and could not call her superiors. Avoid this hotel by all means. The standard rooms are small and stuffy and not inviting. The tv set is small and old and the soaps and from good quality. I asked to heat something in the restaurant and said they dont have a microwave! stay away from this hotel they just want to take your money without any minimal services. The hotel is a part of a close neighbourhood

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlomit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear shlomit6,

Thank You for Your feedback!

We are sorry to hear that the complimentary chocolate and the bottle of sparkling wine were not satisfactory as a birthday gift from the hotel. You had booked a Classic room which does not include some of the amenities we have in other room types. Coffee & tea facilities, free minibar, bathrobes & slippers and other extras are available in Business and Executive rooms which guests can change to for a supplement upon check in or during the stay. As our receptionist offered You the possibility to upgrade, it is unfortunate You chose not to use it.
We are currently in the process of changing TV sets in all our rooms. We do not have a microwave oven in the restaurant and we take pride in the fact that we do not serve microwave-heated meals. Our clients appreciate our hotel for being good value for money and we are sorry that our product did not meet Your expectations.

We hope You enjoyed Your trip to Tallinn.

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a very enjoyable break in Tallinn. We found the hotel clean, friendly and very well located just outside the city walls. We upgraded to an executive room which was a good size. An ideal base for exploring this beautiful city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LandJEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear LandJEssex,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine Hotel!

Thank You very much for Your feedback! We are really glad to hear that You found the hotel clean, staff friendly and location good.

Looking forward to welcome You back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Have had mixed experiences in the Baltic States. Found Lithuania and Latvia pretty damn unfriendly if I am honest. However arrived at the hotel and was welcomed by a very friendly and helpful lady at the desk. She even gave a recommendation of where to eat Estonian food. Hotel room was spacious and up to a very high standard. Heated flooring in the bathroom was a nice touch. Very close to the old town I couldn't recommend this hotel enough. Lovely people and surroundings. Please keep up the great customer service - believe it makes all the difference and can actually change someone's impression of the city overall!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glenparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear glenparish,

Thank you for choosing PK Ilmarine hotel and for your feedback!

We are very happy to know that you liked your stay and found our customer service great.

We will look forward to welcome you back!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvika, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Realy nice hotel close to the old city. You could walk about anywere. I went with my mom on a long suprice weekend. The staff was nice, and talked really good english. The rooms were big. Bathrooms modern and clean. We vere very happy about our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Emma B,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are really glad to know that you found our staff great and you were satisfied with your stay!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the real centre of the old town. Hotel is modern and staff speak excellent English. Room are spacious and have mini bar but small portable type tv. Mini bar is ok, it has the essentials. I think €3.90 for a bottle of water is expensive. Wi-if in room is free but in my opinion not very good as the signal kept breaking. Bathroom very nice and clean, and modern. breakfast was good, plenty of choice and good quality. All in all I would stay here again as it very good value for money, quiet (I slept well), and well located. Good for both business and tourism.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilExport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear PhilExport,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are really glad that You found our location and staff good. And happy to hear that you were satisfied with the room and the breakfast.

Looking forward to welcome You back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed at the PK Ilmarine twice now and it has been great both times. Clean and comfy rooms, great complimentary breakfast and close to Fat Margarets! A variety of breakfast foods from fried to continental. An array of juices, coffee and tea, and its a buffet! Would stay here again, and I recommend it to couples, families and lone travellers who want to be close to the port and old town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllardTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear EllardTravel,

Thank You for choosing PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are glad to hear that You found our rooms clean and comfy, breakfast great and location good.

Looking forward to welcome You back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing