We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From reception, via the clean rooms with very comfortable beds to the dinning room. And, this is where we were disappointed - the dining room was like the rooms clean and tidy, the food was excellent, but getting to the food was very difficult when a large umber of guests were trying to get breakfast. it was sited at the furthest end of the dining room away from the kitchen. They ran out of food, plates dishes, cutlery on more than one occasion. Would we go again - YES. It has location, location, location!

Room Tip: We traveled with eight couples, scattered around the hotel, and we all had good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Ilmarine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Gordon H,

Thank You for staying at PK Ilmarine hotel!

It's nice to know that You were satisfied with Your room and our hotel's location.

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences in the breakfats room, but we will certaily take Your feedback in to consideration to improve the service.

Looking forward to welcome You back in the future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned from a three night stay with my daughter. Very nice hotel, very clean, nice room. I did upgrade to a business room because it was my daughter's birthday, not sure, to be honest, if it was strictly necessary - the extras seemed to be flat screen tv (very few English channels), tea and coffee facilities which we did use and free mini bar which had a couple of soft drinks and water in it. They are on the courtyard side of the hotel which was very quiet, the other side being on a fairly busy road. Beds comfortable, nice crisp bedding and clean modern bathroom. My only slight disappointment was that I had informed them at the time of booking and on further occasion that it was my daughter's birthday - I had thought there might be some sort of gesture - even a card or something - this in no way spoilt our stay.

The hotel location is just perfect for the old town as it is only five minutes from one of the town entrances. I would not actually recommend anyone to book a hotel in the town, I think it could be very noisy in the evenings (several stag parties on our flight) and stay away from eating and drinking in the square - we only once stopped there and paid e7.50 for two glasses of tepid, flat coke - didn't even see the bottle it came in !).

I would recommend the Weigand restaurant for dinner at the hotel - we thought prices very reasonable for the standard of food but that may be because we live in London ?

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good value base for a stay in Tallinn

Room Tip: Rooms on courtyard side are quiet - might have to be the Business or Executive Room ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ros6849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Ilmarine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear ros6849,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are truly sorry for the information loss regarding Your daughter's birthday.

However we are really happy to hear that You found our hotel nice and the location great. Glad to know that You would recommend the restaurant Wiegand.

You are always more than welcome back here!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed three nights at this hotel recently. Arrived earlier than the 2pm check in so left our cases in the left luggage room and went off for a stroll around the harbour. Found a lovely cafe and had a drink and snack before heading off back at 2pm to check in. The receptionist wasn't too friendly but the porter was lovely and chatted and offered advice on where to go. Our room was on the first floor just round the corner from the lift but we didn't hear any noise.
Very deep, large bath with shower, toilet, washbasin and bidet. Hairdryer tube was broken which we reported but was not mended by the time we left. TV had quite a lot of channels including some English. Our room was over the corridor and when we opened the large window could be a bit noisy with people wheeling cases but we had the a/c on and kept the window shut. Room was bit stuffy and I should imagine in the height of summer quite hot. Two small twin beds which were quite comfy and the bedding all clean.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and always being refilled. There must have been something for all tastes.
The hotel was very convenient for entry into the old town, Fat Margaret tower, just across the road from tram stops and a short walk to the train station. There was a large supermarket about five minutes walk towards the train station. The new town was a short walk away too.
If I visited Tallinn again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The area is upcoming with nice housing/apartments, bars and restaurants nearby.
We paid £154 for three nights stay and our flight, so a bargain.
The weather was brilliant when we were there and three days was adequate to visit the sights and walk around and explore the lower and upper town. We also visited the palace and gardens at Kadriog, getting a tram there and back.
Found out when we got home that Prince Harry was in town at the same time, but we missed him, unfortunately.
We mainly ate around the Town Hall Square area and experienced some local delicacies. Lovely to be able to walk around at midnight and it was not completely dark and we always felt safe. Went on the little train ride around the lower town which was a bit of fun but very bumpy, good for a laugh though. Whilst we were there it was museum night, all the museums and churches were open until late and with free entry, they were all very busy even at 11.30pm, it was quite bizarre!
Recommend a visit as a city break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindyloo-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Ilmarine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear lindyloo-2007,

Thank You for taking time to review our hotel!

It's pleasure to hear that You found our hotel nice, conveniently located and the breakfast excellent. We apologize for all the inconveniences and hopefully You will visit us again in the future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at the PK Ilmarine Hotel last week and would recommend this hotel. Check-in was friendly, easy and quick. Our room was modern and spotless and provided for a great night sleep. We also really appreciated the hotel's location - its is a short walk to both the Old Town and the stop for bus #2, which connects the city of Tallinn with the airport. Only downsides: The wireless internet connection was awfully slow, especially at night. And to our surprise, there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the TV was rather small and old. To receive tea/coffee making facilities and a decently sized flat screen TV, we would have had to upgrade from our standard room, which seemed odd for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerstinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Ilmarine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear KerstinNYC,

Thank You for staying at PK Ilmarine hotel!

It is really nice to hear that You would recommend our hotel and were satisfied with Your room. We are sorry that we were not able to meet all of Your expectations.

We do not have tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms, but on request it can be ordered also to classic rooms and we are also working on the speed of the wireless connection.

Looking forward to welcome You back!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Imagine, you wait at the reception for 25 minutes to be checked in although you are the only one.

Imagine, you go to your room and another naked man is laying on the bed and shouting at you.

Imagine, you finally get a room and when you enter the bathroom in socks, your socks stick to some strange stains at the floor....

Help, it hardly gets worse.... And my business partner decided to stop this hotel, too. He had some simular dirty stains on a unchanged bedsheet.....

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Miele65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Ilmarine, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Miele65,

Thank You very much for Your feedback, it is very important to us!

We are truly sorry for all the inconvenieces You have mentioned. Unfortunately there has been a error in our system regarding the occupied room, usually there has not been this kind of mistakes.
Regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, we are very sorry that we did not received this infomation when You were still staying in the hotel. We would have immediately sent housekeeping or offered You a new room.

Once again our sincere apologies and if You have any futher suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was when I came to this hotel for my birthday and they refused to upgrade me despite the fact that they had a lot of free rooms. They wanted to charge me 3 euro for using a kettle on a daily basis! it is outragious for a 4 star hotel. The clerk in the reception was no help and could not call her superiors. Avoid this hotel by all means. The standard rooms are small and stuffy and not inviting. The tv set is small and old and the soaps and from good quality. I asked to heat something in the restaurant and said they dont have a microwave! stay away from this hotel they just want to take your money without any minimal services. The hotel is a part of a close neighbourhood

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shlomit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Ilmarine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear shlomit6,

Thank You for Your feedback!

We are sorry to hear that the complimentary chocolate and the bottle of sparkling wine were not satisfactory as a birthday gift from the hotel. You had booked a Classic room which does not include some of the amenities we have in other room types. Coffee & tea facilities, free minibar, bathrobes & slippers and other extras are available in Business and Executive rooms which guests can change to for a supplement upon check in or during the stay. As our receptionist offered You the possibility to upgrade, it is unfortunate You chose not to use it.
We are currently in the process of changing TV sets in all our rooms. We do not have a microwave oven in the restaurant and we take pride in the fact that we do not serve microwave-heated meals. Our clients appreciate our hotel for being good value for money and we are sorry that our product did not meet Your expectations.

We hope You enjoyed Your trip to Tallinn.

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a very enjoyable break in Tallinn. We found the hotel clean, friendly and very well located just outside the city walls. We upgraded to an executive room which was a good size. An ideal base for exploring this beautiful city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LandJEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at Hestia Hotel Ilmarine, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear LandJEssex,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine Hotel!

Thank You very much for Your feedback! We are really glad to hear that You found the hotel clean, staff friendly and location good.

Looking forward to welcome You back in future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
946 reviews
1 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hestia Hotel Ilmarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hestia Hotel Ilmarine

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly PK Ilmarine Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £46 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hestia Hotel Ilmarine 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. Hestia Hotel Ilmarine is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, Hestia Hotel Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hestia Hotel Ilmarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing