We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Superior rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2008

First of all remember that Tallinn has 2 Domina Inns. One is central and this one Illmarine is just outside the old town. As an earlier reviewer mentioned the location is not a problem - just a short walk across to the old town entrance. The hotel is fine - good choice at breakfast,everywhere clean,helpful reception - we dined in one evening and although lacking somewhat in atmosphere the food and wine were more than ok. It's definately worth booking into a superior room(suite) for the little extra they charge. In the old town, we thought the Hell Hunt bar was excellent - frequented by locals - always a good sign. We had a good meal in the tiny restaurant 2 doors away 'Wirulane'. Also enjoyed an Italian evening at Spahetteria Buongiorno in Muurivahe St. in the old town. If you want a different lunchtime experience try the wine bar below the Gloria hotel - exceptional ! We stayed for 3 nights - maybe 2 would have been enough.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireMovingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2008

Just back from a trip to Baltics. We stayed 3 nights at Domina Ilmarine and couldn't find any major faults (although there always are some small problems, which were solved and couldn't ruin our holiday).

First of all, book Superior rooms (which are actually two-level suites overlooking the seaside or - if you're not that lucky - the neighbouring buildings, which are very nice, almost Amsterdam-style). They're absolutely worth the price, First level is a living room with a small kitchenette, two tables, a sofa, few chairs and a TV. There's also a (guest?) WC which is same as the main one (on 2nd level). Upstairs (watch your step! and book standard room if you're...emm....not that young) is the bedroom and bathroom, Bathrobes included! ;)

Do not be afraid of location, as some say it's not good, No problems at all! Exit the hotel, turn left, cross the street - you'll surely see the towers of Old City ahead of you. Just cross the street, as I've just said, and you'll the see one of the Old City's gates. It's 300 meters away from the Domina Ilmarine, If you won't cross the street and continue to go straight ahead, you'll see the so-called "Linnahalle" (old and ugly soviet-era concert hall - a mixture of concrete and some strange Yukatan-style pyramides) on your left and - after it - the seaport. Take any tram heading left, and you'll reach the main Old City entrance with the giant Sokos Hotel Viru and adjoining shopping Viru center.

Breakfast was adequate, although fresh juices would be a good addition. Try their pastry, it's very nice (rhye bread reminded me of Scottish breakfasts).

Staff was polite and helpful, except one young man. They speak English and Russian.

(Check out the lobby decoration - a bright orange walls, pictures, high ceilings - this is exactly what I wanted my own house to look like :)).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I stayed here for a few days last year and enjoyed it very much. Everything was clean and stylish. The breakfast could however been a bit better/bigger, but its still good. Frontdesk service was good and the staff were friendly.
The only bad thing about this hotel is the location, its however not a disaster, and taxis are cheap. Its about a 5-10minute walk away from Old Town, it is however the end of Old Town where nothing happens...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jpr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We stayed at the Domina for two days in early August. Arriving by ferry from Helsinki, it’s a bit of a hike if you walk depending on the traffic and the stuff you have with you (we had an older person and a toddler). When we returned to the ferry to leave, we took a cab (it also was raining and we needed to go to the farthest terminal). Near the north entrance of old town, and also quite close to the sea, the hotel is nice and quiet. The staff were polite and spoke excellent English. The beds are comfortable, and the other furniture in the room (desk and chairs) are serviceable, though worn and simple. The TV is small and there are few channels. If you can get close to your window, you might catch a random WiFi signal. Otherwise, you’ll need to head to the lobby. There is a small difference in price between the cheapest room and the next step up. I highly recommend you spend the extra $20 or so and upgrade. Half of our group stayed in truly a closet sized room that didn’t have a desk, coffee maker or tub, and very little space even for luggage. Our room had two chairs, the desk, a coffee maker, and a tub (it was not the split level room--make sure you specify if you want that). We also had a toddler, so we could unfold one of the chairs into a bed (a crib would have been preferred, but if your child is big enough, you can make do). The extra space is nice and worth it. The breakfast is good—lots of Finnish influence (pasties, sausages, rye bread), and good pastries, cereals, deli meats and cheeses. The scrambled eggs, as they are in most European hotels, are bizarre. If you’re in Tallinn for the old town, it’s a great choice. This is a simple, no frills hotel that’s clean and functional. If you’re more interested in the modern part of town—it’s pretty far and there are other choices that can work for you. It’s also not the place to stay if you typically enjoy more of a luxury hotel—if you’re looking for that, you’ll just need to spend more.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Liz-Mikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We took one of the split level Superior rooms which is really like a small apartment.

Absolutely excellent - fantastic building, relaxing room, very clean, good breakfast.

Close to the old town of Tallinn too...

You name it - very, very happy with this hotel.

Plus it was pretty reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

I booked this hotel three times, and stayed there twice.

The first two times I had lovely stays. It's a great hotel, and the two level rooms in the original part are particularly nice. The restaurant is Italian (as is the group that owns the hotel) which provides a safe alternative to 'interesting' Estonian food.

The location is pretty ideal. It's next to the trams and close to the trains. It's also just a stone's though from the ferry terminals and just across the road from one of the gates into the old town. It's also the closest hotel to the Linda Line and Helicopter terminals.

On that basis there's not a lot not to recommend about it. If you don't want a swimming pool it's the best hotel you could get in Tallinn without paying an awful lot more.

Sadly however, the last time I went they had overbooked and sent me to another hotel, which I didn't think was nearly as nice and which was advertising rooms for a cheaper price. I decided that if it was going to be lucky dip then in future I'd book the cheapest option in the first place.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Just back from Tallinn and stayed at the Domina Inn. It is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the old town and great value for money. Breakfast wasn't too bad. Just 2 points from my stay here
1) Estonia people need to take a lesson in hospitality and 2) Avoid the Indian Maharaja restaurant in the Square at ALL COSTS. Food is ok but the service is VILE!!

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Darlo_Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
946 reviews
1 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hestia Hotel Ilmarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hestia Hotel Ilmarine

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly PK Ilmarine Hotel)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £46 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hestia Hotel Ilmarine 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. Hestia Hotel Ilmarine is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, Hestia Hotel Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hestia Hotel Ilmarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing