We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel near harbour, center and Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tallink Express Hotel
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel near harbour, center and Old Town”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This hotel is very good for travellers who want cheap but clean and comfy accommodation in short walk of Old Town and city centre (about 10 min walk). There is a free car park and free wireless internet. There is smoking and non-smoking floors. Remember to ask non-smoking room if you don't smoke or hate tobacco smell as I do :) Breakfast is included in room price. Breakfast had scrambled eggs, sausages, bread, porridge, apple and orange juice, coffee, tea, mysli and cornflakes. I missed fresh fruits but otherwise breakfast is very good for the price of the room. The room was basic and in good condition. Room had TV, table and good beds. Pillow was quite low though so you may need ask for extra pillow. Shower worked well and room was very clean. If you like shopping, the location is great as there is a bus station about 100 m walk of hotel where you can have a free bus ride to the biggest shopping centre in town. Also the sightseeing bus leaves next to hotel. The service was okay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OonaMiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    217
    145
    33
    10
See reviews for
104
176
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ranson, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Make no mistake, this is a budget hotel. They advertise themselves as a budget hotel and they deliver budget-quality accommodation, there is no deception.

The rooms are tiny and basically offer a place to sleep, if you want luxury there are other inns around old Tallinn that you might want to consider. Sharing a room with another person along with all of our luggage for 12 days of international travel was tricky, we had to move some of the furniture around so that we could open all our luggage and still get around the room. Like most hotels in this area the rooms are on central heating, luckily the windows tilt open in such a way that you can cool off your room without becoming cold.

The primary thing that I worry about is cleanliness, the bathrooms and bedsheets were very clean (bonus) and the heated towel bar was very nice, but I noticed that the mattresses under the sheets were a bit stained. The beds themselves seemed a little worn out, a support bar under one of the beds had fallen loose and there were nails sticking out of the bar, luckily we noticed it and were able to avoid injury.

Breakfast was very basic but we had dinner included with our stay. Our guide selected the menu which consisted of pork with a cream asparagus sauce and I have to say that it was probably the best meal we ate on our entire trip! That seemed to be the consensus of my fellow tour group members.

There was a lot of snow still on the ground during our stay and it also snowed a few inches on our tour day of old Tallinn. If you're going in the winter--be prepared! Bring a warm coat and hats/mittens etc as well as the right shoes. We also had ice grippers to put on our shoes which came in handy. But the hotel was very convenient, a quick walk away from old Tallinn.

I plan to visit Tallinn again on my own someday, most likely I'll be staying at this hotel again. You can't beat the price and the location. There was free wifi throughout the hotel as well as a free computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Original_Little_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Travelled with my folks for short holiday. Arrived at Tallinn very early and couldn't get the room before 2PM as this was their official policy and even upgrading to junior suite with extra cost did not helped the case.
Suite was less than average, minibar but no key available, old 24" tube tv. Air conditioning wasn't working properly and the temperature was around +26 Celsius degrees and when you turned it to cold, it went too cold.
Most of the personnel (young people) were very impolite and didn't even smile except lady in the breakfast reception.
Breakfast was very very average - basic eggs and bacon plus some other sortiment.
Secured car park and location are great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I booked a trip to Tallin through the Silja line. This hotel is included and cost me Euro55 per night. I would use the words of MOTEL, as I don't think this hotel is qualified as the term of HOTEL.

The room is very simple (with a bed, desk and bathroom). However, the ventilation of the bath room sucks. When i open the door of the bathroom, you can smell the stinky and disgusting smell from the previous guest. How terrible you can imagine.

The room sound proof is terrible. You can hear outside and next door voice at anytime. And the fire alarm is going crazy. The fire alarm just buzzering at 6am and everyone from the room running out. After a few minutes, it was confirmed that a nasty boy just pressing the fire alarm. Which was a false call! How can this happen and to risk the guest life?

The location is not centrally located to the old town. Everything is within walking distance but off course not during the WINTER time. If I have to come back to Tallin, this motel definitely is not my choice. Don't risk your life with just the fire alarm goes false call at anytime.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

An ideal hotel for price / quality ratio! Tallink Express Hotel is located in central Tallinn, just across the road from the city. Several minutes and you're walking in Old Town, enjoying its unique beauty - very convenient for sightseeing. The rooms are very large and spacious. New furniture and clean, the rooms are very nice design. Cleaning is very good, linen changed frequently. Staff friendly, always willing to help, answer questions, advise attractions. The hotel has a system of card keys to rooms and lifts. In the lobby there is a free computer, free WiFi, a city map. On the ground floor cafe with a very special buffet Soups - five, seven kinds of soups, without loss for very funny money. Delicious soups - meat, fish, vegetables, mushrooms, soup, milk and even sweet soups! I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineksis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I went to Tallin in October, and I stayed at the Tallink Express Holtel. The hotel has not got the best location, it´s a bit outside of the Old Town, but you can go there int two minutes. Much cheaper than a hotel in the city center. The hotel wasn´t faboulous, but it´s okay if you stay just for some days. The breakfast was really good, and the rooms were clean and simple.The service was excellent! i recommend this for all travellers who want a cheap and good hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2010

So comfortable, clean and safe... so nice in every way..... that's 5 times i have stayed and more visits planned :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMarsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 86 in Tallinn
966 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#41 of 86 in Tallinn
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#38 of 86 in Tallinn
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Express Hotel

Property: Tallink Express Hotel
Address: Sadama 9, Tallinn 10111, Estonia (Formerly Reval Inn Tallinn)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallink Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink Express Hotel is comfortably located in the city center just a 5 minute walk from the Old Town. If you are looking for a modern place to stay, but don't want to pay hundreds of euros, than our hotel is just the place for you. Our hotel was freshly renovated in 2014 and is a great sample of youthful Scandinavian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Tallink Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tallink Express
Tallink Express Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing