We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service but cheap and close to the Old Town/Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tallink Express Hotel
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Herlev, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor service but cheap and close to the Old Town/Harbour”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel is cheap and has a good location - just next to a harbour (but be aware it is not next to Tallink ferry terminal) and within a few minutes walk from the Old Town. The hotel features two elevators activated using a room card, though the waiting time is really long. Breakfast area is large enough, but the choice is very limited. The room size was OK, though beds were really small and worn out. It was also necessary to keep the windows wide open almost all the time because of a strange smell.

My overal impression on the rooms and the service is not positive - the staff is not very friendly nor helpful and you can still feel some remains of the old Soviet style attitude towards customers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    209
    136
    31
    10
See reviews for
95
167
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The hotel was not chosen by me but I found it interesting to try to stay in a two star property. You clearly can see the difference to a three star one here. Nonetheless, I guess the hotel is good value for money. You can only expect hostel like service when you pay less than 20 euros per person. The location is very convenient in the harbour, within walking distance to the old town and the city center in general. My room was located just above the entrance, so I could hear the loud school groups coming in for the after a pub crawl in the early hours of the morning. About the room, the side of my bed had been ripped open with a knife, apparently, so I thought some of the previous occupants of the room had been into partying of some sort, too. The room was rather worn out in other parts, too. However, the tv was functioning as was the bathroom The breakfast was a busy event. People ate a lot, I myself did not find the breakfast to my liking (cordial for juice, cheapest kind of cheese and bread, cereals and porridge), but when you pay next to nothing, you cannot expect a lot. The clientele seemed to be a mix of senior travelers and school groups.

Room Tip: high floor, no street view (window towards the inner courtyard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayded one night with children and wife. Good location, parking available, very reasonable price, nice rooms and breakfast.

Room Tip: Booking via Ebookers was cheaper than thru Tallink ,although Tallink silver card discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victory_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

A decent 2 star hotel to stay with a very good location. It is 5-6 minutes walk from the old town, is located very close to a ferry terminal. Also different modes of public transport are easily available from outside the hotel. The hotel also easily arranges taxis on a 5 mins notice at no extra charge. Rooms are pretty big and clean, the bathroom is also very clean and smells nice. the biggest advantage perhaps is that there is no curfew hour in the hotel. The hotel gives everybody a locking card which opens all the main entrance gates even during the night. the hotel has a lift facility. It offers a very lavish buffet breakfast. But there is only 1 desktop for the guests but it does have wifi facilities. Also be very aware of the irregularly working vending machine in the lobby which does not always gives you your stuff even after you insert coins! The only problem which occurred to me is the constant tight-lippedness of people in the reception which I am afraid is not exactly a right thing to do when one is in hospitalilty industry!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice but be wary of the vending machine in the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mithuraaj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We are a middle aged couple visiting Baltics by car late September 2011. Tallink Express is a basic mass tourist economy hotel designed to process mostly Finnish and Russian travel groups. All the hotel basics are there, the room is not bad for a 2-star and the location is fair if you like the port area; you can have free car parking and so on.

However, we did not feel very comfortable. The late evening check-in was normal, although my credit card was charged twice as something did not work at the cash register. At our arrival (11:30 p.m). the coffee shop was closed, no room service, no mini bar so I bought a couple of beers in the reception. The hotel rule is to open the beer cans, fill two plastic cups and let you walk back into your room with a couple of open plastic beer cups in hand through the whole hotel. I felt a bit funny doing that. In the morning, the breakfast hall crowd filled all tables, all lounge spaces and some where even breakfasting outside. There were no coffee cups or any breakfast tools around, so first time in my life I enjoyed my breakfast coffee from a cereal bowl and my juice from another cereal bowl. The check-out was very crowded, and we were glad to leave the hotel.

Nothing was really bad, but if you want to know Tallinn, do not favor mass tourist crowds, and can find a place where to park your car, I would prefer another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jouni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We also combined our Stockholm-Tallinn cruise with this hotel and we stayed 2 nights. I say that for a 2 star hotel it's quite good, it's clean, quite big and nice bathrooms, good breakfast buffet and the hotel is actually perfectly situated, just between the ferry terminal and the old town in Tallinn. If you're on a tight budget, I definitely recommend this hotel since it's good value for your money, we ended up paying 152€ for 2 double rooms, 2 nights with breakfast included, that's 38€ per night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAD035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Ok hotel. Nothing great. Clean room, but the soap was stinky in the washroom and there was not enough towels. Nearby the boat terminal and that is great !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringring222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#42 of 83 in Tallinn
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#39 of 83 in Tallinn
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#18 of 83 in Tallinn
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 83 in Tallinn
939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.0 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Express Hotel

Property: Tallink Express Hotel
Address: Sadama 9, Tallinn 10111, Estonia (Formerly Reval Inn Tallinn)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallink Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink Express Hotel is comfortably located in the city center just a 5 minute walk from the Old Town. If you are looking for a modern place to stay, but don't want to pay hundreds of euros, than our hotel is just the place for you. Our hotel was freshly renovated in 2014 and is a great sample of youthful Scandinavian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tallink Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tallink Express
Tallink Express Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing