We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good option in Tallinn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tallink Express Hotel
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very good option in Tallinn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Tallink Express revealed a budget, well-located and handy accomodation for my two nights in Estonia's capital. It is not inside Old Town but almost and is very convenient for those who are taking the ferry to Helsinki. Considering it is a budget hotel, breakfast was a nice suprise with lots of options.
I would point out as minor problems its paper-thin walls and cleanliness could be improved.
But, considering the price you pay for it, it is certainly a good option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaenderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Jaenderc,

Thank you for your accomodation and good words about Tallink Express Hotel.
We certanly try to improve the level of cleanliness in the rooms.
And if there are any neighbors who don't appreciate a good night's sleep, please inform the reception - our security will interrupt the party.

Greetings from Tallinn,
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    201
    131
    30
    10
See reviews for
91
162
55
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed in this place already 2 times. Easy and calm hotel located in port closer to Old city (5 min of walk). Both times i stayed in room for 2 persons in different parts of hotel and both times it was pretty spacious, furnitured in ikea style (like in all hotel), a bit dusty but ok for short staying, especially they are doing cleaning every day.During time of staying i were not worried noise from out in the night and slept well all the time. Just i didn't like in second staying in the room have no airconditioner and heating is dosen't worked, and all the time in my room was stuffily and cool in the same time, even opened window is dosen't help. Also in rooms of this hotel (if you need) you don't find kettle and minibar, for me- i don't care about this stuff.
Bathroom is very spacious and clean, have a shower gel with shampoo.
Personal of hotel helpful and cultural, they help to us in all the things what we was need from them.
Breakfast is easy, nothing special but we always had a problems with free places in restaurant because it was full of people and for 4 nights of staying we could get a breakfast only one time, another time we had not time to wait free places and we are satyed without it.
So if you need easy and economy placement in center of Tallin, welcome to Tallink Express hotel, i can reccomend it for all kind of visitors.
P.s. I remebered they have a little playing room for children on reception with computer for adults inside =)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Natalia105,

Thank you for the feedback.
It's hard to describe Tallink Express Hotel any better, than you have done in your conclusion!
Welcome back!
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Interesting experience. Arrived at night. TWICE got a key from someone's room which was occupied. First time people were making love at the time, so very awkward, second time the guest run out and was about to hit me :) Third time then got a room. Room very average like a run down Formule One hotel rooms. Breakfast though was very good. Parking was free, but I would not leave a very expensive car out there :) Don't remember about the internet speed as I was traumatized with entering someone's room twice haha No, would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreakWentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear FreakWentTraveler,

thank you for your honest review. I am sorry for the mess with the keycards, this kind of mistakes are unforgivable. We have ran over the procedures of group check-in's with new administrators, to avoid misunderstandigs, like yours, in the future.
Please accept my apologies and visit us again so you can see our renovated rooms and test the exelent internet connection available.
Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Banus, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We spent here one night after ferry trip from Finalnd. Hotel is very, very good. Rooms were comfortable, bath looked nice and guy from the staff was very nice and helpful and everything was clean. I can say that we had only one problem with magnetic key-card to get access to the lift. It was a bit annoying but stuff guy repleced that one for the new one and it worked finaly. Anyways we were happy because of this hotel after a long driving in Finland and after ferry. It was good place to rest.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafael-israel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear EspanolRebel,

Thank You for the kind words, written above.
We try to do our best, so the next time you'll be visiting Tallinn, you know were to stay!

Best Regards,
Siim Ojaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padova
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I spent one night there in August 2012.

Pros:
- very cheap
- really close to Tallinn old town (you get there in 10 minutes by foot)

Cons:
- you get nothing more than what you pay
- the rooms, though clean, could certainly be better
- breakfast is poor
- part of the staff (the bartender) was really lazy and impolite
- I had bad luck with sleeping. Some axxxxles got drunk and spent a good couple of hours (till 3AM actually) making noise just under my window..... I hope it's ot always like that.

I think it's good for a budget stay in Tallinn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTLPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear FTL Padova,
Thank you for your feedback about Tallink Express Hotel.
We are glad to see that you are satisfied with hotel price and location and recommend it to other travellers.
We are aware that some of the rooms need repairments and I promise that we are working on it.
Breakfast we serve meet three star requirements, nevertheless new and reasonable succestions are always welcome.
We are really sorry for the bad experience you had with our staff member. I do hope, that ongoing trainings have improved our team service and quality.
Please also accept our apologies for not having a great sleep. Small gatherings and noise under the hotel window might occur time to time.
Next time please let us know if something is disturbing you ASAP, so we can react to your problem right away and guarantee you a pleasant stay.

Best of greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM, Tallink Express Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed for a night to shop and dine in Tallinn. We didn't expect much, but this hotel managed to disappoint me anyway. The service at the reception was lousy and tired, don't expect a smile. I didn't feel welcome. The room was very worn out - I wouldn't have minded the stains on the carpet, that's OK for a cheap hotel - but my sheets were full of paper, probably from a napkin left in the washing machine. I wasn't very happy to find pieces of paper all over my black jeans, let alone sleep under the filthy blanket. Sleeping wasn't very easy anyway thanks to the broken bed, I had a broken spring right under my upper back so I spent the night trying to find a comfortable position. The walls there are like paper, dont go if you wish to sleep. We were woken up by two cleaning ladies who were screaming and fighting with each other in Russian right outside our door. Not very professional!! The breakfast was average. I did expect worse, though. The selection wasn't very wide but we were satisfied. The hotel is situated quite far from every place we needed to go to (harbor, centre), so we needed to take a taxi every time we wanted to leave the hotel. A taxi ride to the old town costs about 5 euros, so the location of the hotel wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewitsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Chewitsi,
Thank you for your review. I can promise, that all the info given in your feedback will be forwarded to the people responsible and used to improve our hotel and service, so next time you visit us, a much more positive experience will take place.
If possible, please contact me directly, so we could verify which bed needs to be taken care of.

Best Regards,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
e-mail: siim.ojaver(at)tallink.ee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I've stayed here for 5 nights in May. The hotel has a great location, near the Old Town (only 4 minutes walking) and Viking terminal, what is really important for travelers to Helsinki.
The room was quite big and tidy. The breakfast was the same every day but it didn't disturb me because there was a choice between eggs, sausages, cheese, milk and flakes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saurapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear saurapl,

Thank you for your positive review about Tallink Express Hotel.
It is always appreciative to hear that Express Hotels concept has fulfilled its purpose.
Greetings from Tallinn,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink Express Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#38 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
0.8 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Express Hotel

Property: Tallink Express Hotel
Address: Sadama 9, Tallinn 10111, Estonia (Formerly Reval Inn Tallinn)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallink Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink Express Hotel is comfortably located in the city center just a 5 minute walk from the Old Town. If you are looking for a modern place to stay, but don't want to pay hundreds of euros, than our hotel is just the place for you. Our hotel was freshly renovated in 2014 and is a great sample of youthful Scandinavian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tallink Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tallink Express
Tallink Express Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing