We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tallink Express Hotel
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 8 August 2006

The Reval Express Hotel is the more resonable of the Reval Chain in Tallinn. The rooms are en-suite ,they will give you a two twin bed put together room instead of the Double bed advertised.
There is a small clothing storage area in which you could hang your clothes , they don't really have closets in these express hotels. The bathrooms were very clean so was the room.There was construction going on during the time I was staying there (July 2006) so be careful withthat if you're a light sleeper as they worked until 22:00HR. The first floor has the restarant serving basic meals that you would get at a coffee shop. The complimentary breakfast was great had a wide variety to choose from.The staff helpful on the most part, you do get a card key to operate everything from room key to electricity to getting into the elevator.The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the Old Town of Tallinn. You could walk to the harbor to watch the sun go down as it stays light until 23:00hr in july.
All in all not a bad place to stay at good rates

8  Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2006

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the "old town", a very short walk. The rate was also very good for Tallinn.
A modern hotel with a restaurant, nice, very clean rooms with modern bathrooms (showers only) no bath tubs. Breakfast is included in the rate and a very good variety of items were offered. I would not necessarily recommend the restaurant for other meals; however.The staff was very friendly and helpful.
I should mention, that at this time, there is construction going on right beside the hotel. No jackhammers, but hammering and sawing. If you are a good sleeper or are not on that side of the hotel with the construction, you would probably not be disturbed. It starts around 8:00 A.M. and finishes around 5:00 in the afternoon (1700 hrs) You don't want to sleep late anyway with all the things to see in the old town.
I would not hesitate to stay here again nor to recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oceanwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
13
Reviewed 5 July 2006

We chose this hotel as it seemed to be the cheapest. I've no complaints about it at all, but I have some info. which might be useful.
The hotel is functional & efficient more than anything else: the rooms have solid beds, a good shower, are cleaned every day etc. The service isn't friendly, but that just seems to be part of the Estonian experience.
The rooms are opened with cards, which have to be kept in a slot inside the door otherwise there's no power or lighting. The TV has 99 channels; 3 to 5 on mine were porn with the picture blocked, but the sound on, which was a bit disconcerting...
As well as the free IT access points, there's a free internet-linked computer in the lobby, although you might have to queue. There's a free all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast in the morning.
Along with the price, the USP for the hotel is location. It's on Sadama, the dock road, so it's a 5-minute walk to check the times for the Helsinki ferries. Also, the number 2 bus circles between here & the airport, so you can avoid rip-off taxis. It's a 5-minute walk across the main road to the town centre. St Olaf's church domiinates the view.
For those with more refined tastes, I have to point out that being outside of 'Ye Olde' town centre, the surroundings are not all pretty. The hotel is next door to a building site for example. Like some of the town, the harbour nearby is part derelict, although the view out to sea is great. There are tacky malls nearby selling ersatz nazi memorabilia (to Norwegians & Finns according to the vendor), but they sell normal things too.
All in all, recommended for convenience & for those on a budget.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2005

I don't know if I am just easily pleased or not but I have never written a bad review of a hotel that I have stayed in and the Reval Express is no exception.
My room was spacious,the shower room the same and I found the staff very helpful.
The bar prices are very reasonable,the breakfast though- nothing to write home about-is acceptable and the facilities(including free internet access) are o.k.
The location is excellant-about a ten minute walk to the Old Town and a two minute walk to the port-handy if you ,like me,fancied a day trip to Helsinki.
For what I paid I was very satisfied and would have said that a 3star rating would have been more accurate than it's alloted 2 star rating

Stayed: May 2005
24  Thank stennydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kmazurov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Veera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vnos826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jekaterinamarits, Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
1.7 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#14 of 86 in Tallinn
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 86 in Tallinn
1,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink City Hotel
Tallink City Hotel
#35 of 86 in Tallinn
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.3 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#36 of 86 in Tallinn
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#26 of 86 in Tallinn
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Express Hotel

Address: Sadama 9, Tallinn 10111, Estonia (Formerly Reval Inn Tallinn)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £32 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallink Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink Express Hotel is comfortably located in the city center just a 5 minute walk from the Old Town. If you are looking for a modern place to stay, but don't want to pay hundreds of euros, than our hotel is just the place for you. Our hotel was freshly renovated in 2014 and is a great sample of youthful Scandinavian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tallink Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tallink Express
Tallink Express Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing