We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not enough time to enjoy it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not enough time to enjoy it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The ferry was late back from Helsinki so we didn't get to the hotel until 7 in the evening. We'd got a good deal with Octopus and the hotel had upgraded us to a Spa room which was nice. This had a huge spa bath and was very clean. Free pc and internet in the room which was handy. The room was at the back so we didn't suffer any noise from what is a busy road in front of the hotel. Location wasn't too bad and once the buses were mastered it was easy getting into town. Breakfast was a bit strange - not brilliant quality but OK for the price - eaten in the basement Brazilian restaurant! Reception were fine - the night porter unlocked the dining room so my daughter could get a book from the library.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank RichByName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    319
    128
    28
    10
See reviews for
116
350
61
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Molokai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
288 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Interesting rooms, good service, nice facilities at the Kreutzwald. And the staff was very nice. That’s the good part. On the other side, it is a little hike to the Old Town area of Tallinn—probably 10 minutes along a pretty busy roadway. And the hotel is on a very busy, noisy street so make sure that you stay in a room that does not face the front. Even so, you’ll hear the cars and trucks rattling by all night. And my biggest frustration: The Internet is INCREDIBLY and FRUSTRATINGLY slow. The hotel provides computers—they are a little faster than Wifi, but they feature Estonian keyboards which I couldn’t overcome—so that is an imperfect solution (and yes, I know how to switch languages on keyboard inputs). Sixty-five minutes to download a 30-minute audio podcast. Come on. That is just absurd. This is 2011 and your country is part of the E.U. Breakfast: So-so. This part of the world isn’t known for great breakfasts. Kreutzwald doesn’t deviate from the median. So on balance, a mixed review.

And can I just say to hotel operators: All of your guests will have Blackberries, iPods, laptops and other devices. It would be SO nice if you had some easy-to-reach outlets so that we could plug in. They don’t exist at Kreutzwald.

Overall, I’m not sure whether I would recommend this hotel because I haven’t seen the inside of the competition. The Kreutzwald isn’t great but certainly isn’t horrible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This was a nice hotel with friendly and attentive staff. The location is good - not great. It is less than 10 minutes to the old city, which is nice when the weather is good. It felt a bit tedious in pouring rain. Two things I did not like were related to the windows. Because it was raining, the noise from the street was even louder than usual. The windows were not soundproofed, and I think that if you are a claiming to be a 4 star hotel and are located on a busy streets, the windows one the streets side at least should be sturdy and soundproof. The other thing was the window coverings. They were the roll-down bamboo type and simply not adequate for blocking out light - which is especially important in Tallinn in the summer. The bright light through the windows made it very hard to sleep. Other than that, we liked the hotel. The computer in the room was a nice touch, although it was some Russian-made thing that did not work well. The jacuzzi was great. The breakfast in the morning was very extensive and delicious. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at Kreutzwald hotel last week. For the price this was excellent value. Hotel is in a good location about 10mins walk from the border of old town. We stayed together with my girlfriend in a standard room for a long weekend. The room was spacious and with really soft pillows which made the sleep very good. As it was a romantic getaway for us we treated ourself with a massage after arriving from the airport- at the beginning I was expecting a big spa, to my suprise it was nice, small and cosy and best of all the massages we got were done by real proffessionals. I would recommend this hotel if you do not mind taking a small walk to the hotel and wish to relax outside the busy old town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaije1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had a triple room. We were pleasantly surprised when on arrival we had been given a zen room with jacuzzi bath and it was nice and spacious! Beds comfy and air conditioning was good as it was hot weather! There were a few downsides however. We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel and as it is situated on a busy main road with trolley buses, normal buses and cars, we found ourselves getting little to no sleep on the first night. We asked to swap to a room at the rear of the hotel the next morning but were told the hotel was full- didn't look full to us so therefore had to sleep with tissue in our ears for the other few nights! Also, breakfast was disappointing but that is simply taste - nothing like you would find in britain but I'm sure other Europeans would enjoy!
We were in Tallinn to support a family member in the athletics being held there and found that we could get a bus from outside the hotel. Public transport is good and there is bus stops just outside the hotel! This hotel is in a great location - about 10 mins walk from old town so it's great for exploring!
Overall, would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Tallinn and is great value for money - just request a room at the rear of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steph179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Took my boyfriend here as a surprise 21st present and stayed 2 nights in the luxurious amazing Zen room. Room was nice, clean and spacious with TV and computer present. The jacuzzi in the bathroom was simply sublime. Staff were very friendly and helpful, called down to the reception one night to request bath robes and within 60 seconds a member of staff was at our door holding 2 fresh bathrobes for us. What amazing service! Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Went for a wonderfully relaxing massage in the spa inside the hotel and it was fairly priced and they even gave us 10% discount. Hotel was about 5 mins walk away from the old town which was also brilliant. I hghly recommend this hotel and would advise anyone staying to book a zen room or suite as the jacuzzi baths are out of this world and very romantic :)
Also, check out the museum of of occupations near by for a glimpse of what life used to be like for the Estonians. And make sure to eat in the old hansaa in the old town, for a feast fit for a king!

Room Tip: Book a Zen room for a touch of sheer luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uniquehotels, Member of the Board Unique Hotels Group at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thanks so much for your review! It is very refreshing to get positive reviews like this, and it helps the team feel motivated that their service really is appreciated.

Please contact me direct if you plan to return ,

Again thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkeakoski
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayd in this hotel one night whit two kids. We did select this hotell and the ZEN suite because following reasons. There was jacuzzy, air-conditioning, computer and internet.
So, first ther was no hot water in first day (only late in evening). They did know that
in advance but DIDINT inform us about that. So no baht for children. Air-conditioning didint work. We spend really hot and sweaty night there. Internet didint work either.
Like this wasent enough, midle of night we notice that under the bed and radiator there was huge amount water in the flor. So, we ring to reseption and they bring some towels to dry the flor.
I wondt call this room a suite. My view is that suite is somethin biger, better and luxury. This room was only little bit biger than standard room normally and did have jacyzzy (really noisy).
My last point is that hotel did know that there is four people our group but still there was only two towels for us. There was no extra bed ready even i did ask for it when i did the resevation and I did get comfirmation about that.
We did get 30 euros discount from to room price but it wasent even half the price. So I´m not happy. I think that after everything it wold be fair to not pay at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marika-from-Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Marika,

thanks for you review , i was frankly shocked at your comments and i have investigated this morning. I am sorry there are some major misundertandings here which would make your review misleading to other potential clients. I always take reviews seriously and react, but as this is our worst review in history I wish to be clear and factual re this.

The reason the extra bed was not in the room plus extra towels was because you checked in just after 12 noon , and we allowed you into the room early due to the fact you had children (check in is 2PM) the extra bed and towels followed shortly afterwards, I see no fault in this, only flexibility from our side.

The city turned off the water for annual cleaning , the signs where on the lift /reception and very visable, I am sorry for the inconvienience but it affected the whole city and if future we will place more signage around the hotel if this happens again

The water in your room was from the Jacuzzi bath you used in the evening and the water spilled into the room , this have never happened before and under normal use it does not happen. The Jacuzzi is brand new and noise levels are the same as all Jacuzzi baths.

The AC units are new the problem we have found is guests open the windows also resulting in the the problem the AC will not be able to combat temps of around 35 degrees we have been having. thanks for your comment we now are putting a notification re this in the keycards so guests leave the windows closed if they want to use the AC.

Thanks for your comments re the suite , it is our newly renovated suite , pictures are available on the website and we have had only great comments about it. You paid 115 euros inc bfast for 4 people , representing a 50% discount.

The wifi is seamless and free and does not break down , maybe you had a problem with the computer ? did reception come and fix this ? Usually a restart fixes the problem but i need futher comments from you re this.

I have tried to contact you but no response so far. Please reply so we can discuss further and resolve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Property: Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, "Kalevipoeg".The hotel recently completed a throughout renovation, which has retained the buildings' historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambience.After the renovation the hotel now has a total of 73 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 49 standard rooms, 17 ZEN rooms, and 7 ZEN suites.You can enjoy our Unigue Breakfast at the remarkable Nipernaadi Restaurant, which is also open for all day fine dining, casual meals and drinks.You can indulge yourself at our newly opened ZEN SPA with private saunas, party room with Jacuzzi and experience a variety of different vitalizing and rejuvenating massages and body treatments.Or relax in the Kreutzwald Library Lounge with a delightful pot of tea and a good book from the library.And in the summer you can enjoy the atmosphere of the Summer Terrace - an exiting oasis in middle of the city.Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing